We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Would stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #56 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location. Would stay there again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We just loved the ease of getting places from this beautiful hotel! Situated right next door to the Centraal Station and the hub for Amsterdam's great, efficient, clean tram system which will take you anywhere you want to go. Within walking distance of notorious "red light district", loads of restaurants, museums, canal views. It was a beautiful, large room with nice bathroom and plenty of room for our 4 suitcases! Free WiFi was a big plus, and the rooftop Sky Lounge was a HUGE hit with our group (18 traveling together)! Easy access from here to the river cruise docks as well. If we go back to Amsterdam again we'll elect to stay in the same place!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Many thanks for your nice compliments. Great to read that you have enjoyed our hotel and SkyLounge.

Hopefully we can welcome you back one day!

Warm regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,169
    2,365
    668
    184
    118
See reviews for
787
2,873
310
1,210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,493)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed in an executive room in early August 2014. The location is excellent, overlooking a canal and the city. Breakfast uninspiring. The executive lounge is actually very dark and on the ground floor behind the bar. It is open in the early evening for free snacks and alcoholic drinks, but empty the rest of the time with everything except candies in a jar being removed, and the coffee machine turned off. The iMac in the room was novel. We didn't use the Sky Lounge but the view was nice but not a reason to stay at this expensive hotel. Bed was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. Guest comments are very important for us as hotel as it gives us the opportunity to improve our service where possible.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will definitely take it into consideration.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel very soon should your travels bring you back to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We spent four nights here. The rooms are larger than some we've stayed in in Europe, but still a bit cramped when you have a lot of luggage. We were in a king deluxe. The city view is beautiful, and it is an easy walk to Centraal station. We used the tram system for sightseeing and felt safe. The front desk staff is wonderful. We are part of a group of four couples. Although there was a glitch in 3 of the reservations not being in the system, it was resolved as quickly as possible, and we were never worried that they would not have a room for us. Do bring a hard copy of your reservation. It made the resolution of the problem much easier. They offered us complimentary drinks while they worked things out. Guest services is a lifesaver for tourist questions. They are pleasant and knowledgable about where to go and how to get there. They can sell you tram tickets, canal tour (at a discount) and many other attraction tickets. We especially appreciated having them call a cab for us. The driver must come in and get you, so you are assured you are getting into a reputable cab. Apparently regulations on cabs have been lessoned, and there are some who do not operate responsibly and charge inflated prices. Since cab prices are already high, we were glad not to worry about choosing the right cab! Housekeeping services are a weakness. Each day something different seemed to not get done. This was true for all four rooms in our group, so it was not just the staff for our room. We thought the food was fine, but expensive as is typical in hotel restaurants.

Room Tip: City view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eripa124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Many thanks for sharing your experiences. Great to read that my colleagues of the Front Office solved the problem of the reservation very quickly and that the Guest Service department delivered a good service. I am happy that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel.

Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

This is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in!
2 minutes from Central Station, 5 minutes to the nearest coffee shop, what more do you want?!
We received an upgrade to an executive suite, which is always nice, and the room did not disappoint.
Lovely big living room, separate bedroom, lovely firm queen size bed, awesome bath and shower, with Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries and Grohe and Porcelanosa utilities!
In-room entertainment was great too, with an iMac TV in both rooems!
Very slick interface, the best I've used in any hotel (they're normally so clunky and slow with an horrifically bad picture), with the option to watch loads of TV, listen to loads of radio, play a DVD/CD and even use it as a proper computer - this was a great option as I was able to play my Spotify account and watch Netflix!
The staff were really friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and everywhere was extremely clean and tidy.
I just can't think of a bad word to say....
Final thought: book it, you won't be disappointed ;-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blackpantherevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Great to read, many thanks for your positive review! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

What sets this hotel apart in Amsterdam is the location so close to the train station - and the fact that it has views over the city from one side. Although you can go to the Sky Lounge to have drinks or food anytime even as an outside customer. (recommend that)
Otherwise it is just like any other Doubletree of a 3-4 star rating. If you want a more genuine Amsterdam experience go for a heritage hotel on a canal .

Room Tip: On the city side- not on side overlooking train tracks /harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meandstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Have travelled the world and stayed in poor and great hotels. This one is up there with the best. Fantastic location in a beautiful trendy city. The staff were some of the best I have experienced and the gem for us was the Skylounge bar it was amazing. Will be coming again and again that's for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you so much for writing this fantastic review! It makes me really happy to read that you would like stay again at our hotel. Hopefully we can welcome you very soon!

Warm regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Well first problem was the fridge door came off, and replaced by a new one but the door opened on the other side, second was the lounge room light not working so I moved the couch to see if it was connected it was but the floor was dirty not cleaned. third the nespresso machine no instuctions anywhere and wouldnt work also the bags to hard to open had to use sisorrs.
This hotel is only good for breakfast and dropping your scenic cruise bags off. Over rated as a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: no tips, good luck scenic cruise customers. not a good hotel to stay in. only good for dropping your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffnyinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,721 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing