We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #54 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mondsee, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The Eden Manor hotel is a great place to stay for business or holiday travelers. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated for a very reasonable price. The hotel has tram line 9 right in front of the door so it´s easy to get to most popular places in Amsterdam within a few minutes by tram. Much better than some of the hotels closer to the city centre!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomHK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    805
    192
    34
    16
See reviews for
185
984
63
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife spent 4 nights in this hotel and attested that it was a worthwhile stay. Though not in the deep heart of Amsterdam it was 3 tram stops from Rembrandt aquare.
The room was clean. The service was impeccable and the breakfast was delicious.
The surrounding was soothingly quiet.
The only drawback was the lack of airconditining in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-gad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Everything in this hotel is modern and in good shape (if slightly in bad taste, as you can suspect when you see how the corridors are decorated), however while staying here for 4 nights, we have had 4 nights of terrible sleep, because of creaking noises from the room above. I guess we were unfortunate enough to have as upstairs neighbours people who for some reason *really* liked to walk up and down their room at night, however the problem lies of course with the superficial refurbishment of the (otherwise very beautiful) old building that houses the hotel.

The staff were very nice and polite, and asked the people upstairs several times to keep the walking to a minimum during the night - a bit of a funny request, since everyone should be allowed to do what they want in their room, but nonetheless one we expected them to understand, given that this was nobody's fault but the building's. They didn't, unfortunately, which meant we were awoken every single night by terrible creaking noises from all the walking above.

Hard to give an overall average here, I guess 3 stars would be reasonable given all of the above. I guess I would only stay in this hotel again if I were guaranteed a room at the top floor!

Room Tip: Rooms on any other floor but the top-most one will suffer from terrible floor creaking noises from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I would recommend this hotel to couples and families. The rooms are a good size, bathrooms are very clean and beds are very comfy. The Tram picks up very close to the hotel and takes you to all the sites. Food was very good in the hotel too.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dudley
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

stayed at this hotel for a long weekend ,never been to amsterdam before, but will be going back to this hotel ,is was fantastic . the room we had was large on the ground floor ,2 tvs even though nothing much on them, large bathroom with hair dryer and bathroom products , 2 single beds pushed togeather ,but really comfy , mini bar with 1 free bottle of water. staff are really friendly and helpful . trams very close by . we didnt have breakfast there as always went out. very modern and good looking place.you do have to give your credit card number in when you check in ,just incase you order room service ,and remember you have to pay a visitors tax when checking out . really good price ,but do look around as you may get it cheaper . well worth stopping there .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank molly101Dudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

As the hotel is only a few months old, I was a little nervous about booking it without seeing much in the way of reviews, but overall I'd recommend it. Like a number of reviewers, we were "upgraded" to a suite (#39 on the ground floor). Frankly, for a suite it was pretty small - more like a deluxe room than a suite. But still - being new it was beautifully furnished with a large LG flatscreen TV, excellent bathroom fittings, etc. The toiletries from Rituals were very nice.

On the downside, the heat in the room was unbearable. We stayed in August, and whilst the weather was warm, it wasn't that hot. But the room was uncomfortably stuffy. We considered sleeping with the patio door open (our room opened on to a private patio area), but instead opted to leave the air con on all night. But even so, it was unpleasantly hot for a comfortable night's sleep.

Another small gripe is that the wooden floors, although easy to clean and cool on the feet, meant that noise from upstairs rooms was an issue. You could hear people walking on the floor above at night. And finally, our tea/coffee facilities weren't replenished and glasses not washed - a bit shaby.

Having said all that, the location is perfect - 3km from the station on the #9 tram (or #22 bus, which crosses the nearby junction) and far enough away to discourage hen/stag parties. Or hire a bike from the hotel - $15 a day - to get a local's view of the place.

The staff were very courteous and helpful, and all the public areas (bar, restaurant) were immaculate.

Four "blobs" is probably a bit generous - 3.5 would probably be nearer the mark. But if they get the air-con situation sorted, I'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We were ungraded without having to ask - although some people may have issues with sleeping on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melodicmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We booked a "double superior" room and were put in a room where two singles were shoved together. When mentioned to a member of reception, we were told this was "normal for a superior room". Is it really? They said they'd transfer us to a double room two mornings later when one would become available.

The first room (apart from the bed issue), was nice. A reasonable size, with enough wardrobe space (even for me). Nicely styled throughout with a tiled wetroom-style bathroom. The second room (still with two twins pushed together, but with a double mattress cover, was bigger, with a couple extra chairs, but it was on the ground floor, so the (one) window only opened an inch or so, and because the A/C wasn't working, it was stifling in there! We mentioned lack of A/C to staff, who (with almost a shrug of the shoulder) said they'd take a look, but honestly didn't seem to care. Nobody looked at it and we stayed sweltering.

I was disappointed that we had to continually ask for coffee/dried milk as they weren't replenished every day. Also, shower gel. Whilst we were there, the room didn't see as much of a hoover or a mop. The bed sheets were changed once in the 5 days we stayed in the second room and the room wasn't tidied at all, in any way, shape or form.

The wifi was a pain as it kept logging out every 15/20 mins or so and every day needed a new faffy code. The breakfast buffet wasn't bad, but at 17.50euro, it was overpriced.

Positives:
Hotel is a short tram ride from all the activity. The trams are pretty regular and inexpensive.
One extremely friendly gentleman at reception. I'm embarrased to say I forgot his name, but he is a very tall (more salt than pepper haired) chap. His welcoming face and banter was quite refreshing!
There's a great kebab shop across the road!

It's such a shame that this new hotel has obviously had a lot spent on it and yet, still fails to work.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering_Trolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Arena
#67 of 367 in Amsterdam
400 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 367 in Amsterdam
830 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing