We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanliness leaves alot to be desired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #56 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cleanliness leaves alot to be desired”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The Good:
*Not too far from the city centre & if you don't like to walk, public transport is easy to get to.
*Very close to Artis Zoo & the Botanic Gardens.
*Safes in each room for your valuables.
*Mini fridges in each room... very handy seeing breakfast can set you back E17.50!! There's a superstore round down the road.
*The restaurant was expensive but the food was very good.
*Our room was near the bar but sleeping was fine.

The Bad
*The bathroom was not what we call private. A frosted door (with gap down the side) & windows!! let you watch your room mate sat on the toilet. If you share a room with someone you either need to be good friends or stare fixedly at the TV. I know the Dutch are slightly more uninhibited than us Brits but really.
*Single beds are single beds. Double beds are single beds pushed together. I guess that makes the rooms more flexible. I just worry about people falling between the two.
*Thermostats are set on high. This'll probably be less of a problem as summers get colder & wetter.
*Breakfast is expensive. Best to get ingredients from the local superstore.

The Ugly
*Cleanliness is not next to godliness in this place. Hair was found in the shower. The throw on the end of the bed had seen better days. The used coffee cup was removed but the one with the dirty spoon in never moved. Oh & my room mate wished he hadn't looked under the bed. It hadn't been hoovered in a looooong time.
*And I'll mention the windows into the bathroom again. Did they run out of bricks?

In closing, this hotel is ok. It looks very swish on entering into the main reception. However, the hotel is let down greatly by the cleanliness which seems to be a second thought. And the continental breakfast is extremely overpriced.

Oh & be warned. City tax will be included in your final bill. We have no idea what this is but it works out as an extra E4.00 a night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kredman_cetologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    825
    196
    34
    18
See reviews for
195
1,009
63
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I have just returned from a 3 nights stay with friends for my 25 wedding anniversary. Although slightly further out than I would have wanted, for the money it was such good value - it was a lovely place, really helpful and friendly staff - couldn't fault anyone, but the maitre de of the restaurant was especially so. Comfortable and spotless rooms, with very a comfy bed! and the breakfast was excellent. Really if you had to choose between this hotel, slightly further out (approx 12 minutes on the No. 9 tram) or someone less nice but nearer the centre - then I would choose this hotel everytime.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mondsee, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The Eden Manor hotel is a great place to stay for business or holiday travelers. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated for a very reasonable price. The hotel has tram line 9 right in front of the door so it´s easy to get to most popular places in Amsterdam within a few minutes by tram. Much better than some of the hotels closer to the city centre!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomHK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife spent 4 nights in this hotel and attested that it was a worthwhile stay. Though not in the deep heart of Amsterdam it was 3 tram stops from Rembrandt aquare.
The room was clean. The service was impeccable and the breakfast was delicious.
The surrounding was soothingly quiet.
The only drawback was the lack of airconditining in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-gad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Everything in this hotel is modern and in good shape (if slightly in bad taste, as you can suspect when you see how the corridors are decorated), however while staying here for 4 nights, we have had 4 nights of terrible sleep, because of creaking noises from the room above. I guess we were unfortunate enough to have as upstairs neighbours people who for some reason *really* liked to walk up and down their room at night, however the problem lies of course with the superficial refurbishment of the (otherwise very beautiful) old building that houses the hotel.

The staff were very nice and polite, and asked the people upstairs several times to keep the walking to a minimum during the night - a bit of a funny request, since everyone should be allowed to do what they want in their room, but nonetheless one we expected them to understand, given that this was nobody's fault but the building's. They didn't, unfortunately, which meant we were awoken every single night by terrible creaking noises from all the walking above.

Hard to give an overall average here, I guess 3 stars would be reasonable given all of the above. I guess I would only stay in this hotel again if I were guaranteed a room at the top floor!

Room Tip: Rooms on any other floor but the top-most one will suffer from terrible floor creaking noises from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I would recommend this hotel to couples and families. The rooms are a good size, bathrooms are very clean and beds are very comfy. The Tram picks up very close to the hotel and takes you to all the sites. Food was very good in the hotel too.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dudley
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

stayed at this hotel for a long weekend ,never been to amsterdam before, but will be going back to this hotel ,is was fantastic . the room we had was large on the ground floor ,2 tvs even though nothing much on them, large bathroom with hair dryer and bathroom products , 2 single beds pushed togeather ,but really comfy , mini bar with 1 free bottle of water. staff are really friendly and helpful . trams very close by . we didnt have breakfast there as always went out. very modern and good looking place.you do have to give your credit card number in when you check in ,just incase you order room service ,and remember you have to pay a visitors tax when checking out . really good price ,but do look around as you may get it cheaper . well worth stopping there .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank molly101Dudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Arena
#74 of 369 in Amsterdam
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 369 in Amsterdam
849 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 369 in Amsterdam
5,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing