We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location not optimal, but still very much worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #57 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location not optimal, but still very much worth it.”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Not in center of things, but right next to tram stop. Rooms a little odd in design, but still quite nice. Didn't have breakfast there. Wifi not fastest, but still free.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroFuego73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    789
    188
    34
    16
See reviews for
181
968
59
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We spent two night in this hotel in Oct 2011. The service was second to none, the Concierge couldn't do enough for us - right down to selecting a bike for us to go to his recommended Thai take-away restaurant, not to mention the famous flock of flying green parrotts overhead that had escaped and multiplied!
The room was immaculate and spacious and our windows overlooked the main street giving us a bird's eye view on life in Amsterdam. The bathroom with walk in shower, WC and sink was equipped with a decent hair dryer and plenty of shower products.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and go there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Just checked out this morning (have already booked back in for next Tuesday), Have stayed in three different Eden's now and this is the best. Room for Amsterdam was large (and yes the modern glass door to the large bathroom is something to get used to although it is frosted). Food in restaurant was very good just not cheap, but in this city you get what you pay for, if money is a problem there is supermarket down the road and there are some nice bars e.g Cafe Kiujper which serves Dutch and Belgium beers on tap. Pata Negra II a most authentic tapas bar is 50 meters away as well .. .All in all nice rooms, friendly helpful staff and good location, Station is a 2 min walk, tram 9 stops outside and 7 and 3 trams round the corner

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank king_Shoreham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I was pleasantly surprised when I checked in to this brand new hotel located in a former local counceil building which also had served Amsterdam as a hospital for many years. Fabulous and very colourful public areas, top quality rooms with comfortable beds, free internet, spotless bathrooms etc etc. A perfect place to stay just outside the most touristy part of Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjurontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I just want to say: WOW! I have personally worked in the service and travel business (including hotels) for many years, and Eden Manor was a very pleasant surprise! AMAZING rooms, huge, with terrace (on mine), very quiet, very fresh and new, luxurious, extremely comfy, amazing staff, all the amenities you will need!

It will take you only around 10 min. with tram to central station, and walking would only be 30-40 min max. The hotel is next to a huge wonderful park, a coffeeshop, supermarkets, cheap shops and cheap massage places. It is a quiet friendly area, and perfect to "come back home" to, after a busy day in the heart/center.
Also very close to the awesome Artis Zoo and Botanical garden!

The bar/restaurant is very modern, very good staff, and every person I met in the hotel was super friendly, nice and helpful. And lets talk about the value: It is PERFECT! You will not get anything close to this good for the price, under normal circumstances. I have stayed in many 5-star hotels which does not compare close to this.
Hotel is only around 6 months old, so obviously, everything is super new too.

STAY STAY STAY!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuccessMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

stayed here recently room was spacious and bathroom lovely everything nice and clean we were not pleased to have to single beds pushed together with 2 seperate duvets also
downside to room 2 tea bags 2 coffee sachets and only cream asked for some replacements
on way out
when we got back later on they had left us 1 more t bag and i more sachet coffee
we bought milk from delicatessan opposite
the only toiletries supplied were shower gel on wall and hand wash on wall
didnt get towels changed second day
hotel wanted 17 euros continental breakfast and extra 5 for full breakfast
we ate at a small restaurant 2 blocks down glass chardonnay 3 euros meals reasonable prices
our opinion of this hotel is that it is a 3 star with 4 star prices
tram no 9 outside hotel very good service

Room Tip: request a double bed though dont know wether you will get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wackyjackyNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The Good:
*Not too far from the city centre & if you don't like to walk, public transport is easy to get to.
*Very close to Artis Zoo & the Botanic Gardens.
*Safes in each room for your valuables.
*Mini fridges in each room... very handy seeing breakfast can set you back E17.50!! There's a superstore round down the road.
*The restaurant was expensive but the food was very good.
*Our room was near the bar but sleeping was fine.

The Bad
*The bathroom was not what we call private. A frosted door (with gap down the side) & windows!! let you watch your room mate sat on the toilet. If you share a room with someone you either need to be good friends or stare fixedly at the TV. I know the Dutch are slightly more uninhibited than us Brits but really.
*Single beds are single beds. Double beds are single beds pushed together. I guess that makes the rooms more flexible. I just worry about people falling between the two.
*Thermostats are set on high. This'll probably be less of a problem as summers get colder & wetter.
*Breakfast is expensive. Best to get ingredients from the local superstore.

The Ugly
*Cleanliness is not next to godliness in this place. Hair was found in the shower. The throw on the end of the bed had seen better days. The used coffee cup was removed but the one with the dirty spoon in never moved. Oh & my room mate wished he hadn't looked under the bed. It hadn't been hoovered in a looooong time.
*And I'll mention the windows into the bathroom again. Did they run out of bricks?

In closing, this hotel is ok. It looks very swish on entering into the main reception. However, the hotel is let down greatly by the cleanliness which seems to be a second thought. And the continental breakfast is extremely overpriced.

Oh & be warned. City tax will be included in your final bill. We have no idea what this is but it works out as an extra E4.00 a night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kredman_cetologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing