We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both "cool" and extremely comfortable--highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #58 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We loved this hotel. We had a large ground-floor room with a private patio. The bed was large and comfortable; the bath had both a large tub with jets and spacious shower. Decor sort of mid-century modern, but cozy and comfortable. Lamps were well-placed. tall ceilings, wooden floor, huge windows with easy and effective curtains. Just a well thought- out place.

Room Tip: So far as I know, there is no pool, so question is not applicable, but form does not allow that resp...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,828)
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

Going away for the weekend, without our kids! That's what we intended to do this weekend. So I booked the Eden Amsterdam Manor hotel. We were not disappointed at all! Wow, what a wonderfull hotel. Something completely diffrent from the way we usually travel(low budget backpacking normally). We were impressed by the building and the decorations!
Our room was not big, in front of the building on the 2th level. But it was equipped so nicely! The beds were absolutely comfortable! I slept like a baby!!! So nicely!
The tv flatscreen was super too, but there were some disturbances in the connection. The managment knew this, it was an exsisting problem, and they were working to solve this.
We were impressed too by the bathroom! Everything so nice and clean. I got excited about the free Rituals dispensers with foam, soap and shampoo. My favorite brand, Rituals, could this get any better??


We had dinner in the restaurant, and it was very good too. The restaurant was decorated in Christmas styl, as it was nearly december. Food was delicious too. The next morning the breakfast was very good too. A buffet to choose from. Yummie!

If I have to mention any negative point, it was at the check-in. We were obligated to give our creditcard number as a insurance in case we would break something. I did not feel good about this. But maybe this is normal in our country. I really don't know as I never sleep in a hotel in Amsterdam or so.
The location is also somewhat out of the normal route. It's about half an hour walking to the Dam or the cannals.
For the rest, thumbs up, and keep improving!
I would love to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boschvertrekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Staff was outstanding, parking and internet worked out to be like 60 bucks a day! Room was super cool, very trendy. Pot cafe right next door, tram is close for a quick trip to the square.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HUSA4342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights as our winter break (we are a 30 y.o. couple). Of course, we chose this hotel because of the reviews on Tripadvisor.

The hotel administration, as well as their cleaning service, is completely uncoordinated and offers a bad service. The check-in day we were asked to wait some additional time (after 15h) to be able to get to our room. Even on the first day, the room was not clean. We experienced several issues, like no replacement of towels, dust everywhere... and even worse: One day they left our door open. I am not going to write all the misadventures and deficiencies that we had here, because it is not worth it. At the end, no apology from management was send to us.

Summary: bad hotel mainly due to its bad service, dirty rooms and overpriced (and simple) breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Helen0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Spent 3 nights at Eden Manor Hotel, fantastic decor, helpful staff, rooms spotless and excellent facilities, TV in room had several English channels including BBC1 and BBC2. Had breakfast only. A la carte breakfast menu is better value , but you need to ask for this, otherwise it is 17.50 euros. Tram service excellent into centre even over Xmas period. Can walk in to centre approx 30 minute walk.
Only comment would be is the bar maybe lacks character and not enough comfy seats.
Would recommend hotel.
Mature couple who stayed with son ( age 21) and would all stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel with my father and 4 year old son. The hotel looked very impressive and he reviews good so we were looking forward to our stay. They also sent a welcome email a few days before arrival which was a good service. On arrival check in staff were friendly and the porter give us the history of the hotel on the way to our room and was very pleasant.The room was bright and spacious however house keeping provided a very poor service. The floor was carpeted and not hoovered the entire duration of our stay and with a 4 year old it got quite messy and given he has asthma it was not good. We left towels in the shower for changing and found them hanging on the towel rail on return to the room that day, they were stained which was how we knew they were the same towels. None of the work tops were cleaned down and had ring stains from glasses and soap that dripped from the dispenser also stayed the duration and was not cleaned. While I apprecciate we stayed over Christmas and the hotel was not at full capacity and a better standard should have been provided. We also ordered breakfast from room service on Christmas morning as a treat and at 45 euros for two persons had high expectations and were very disappointed, the cooked breakfast was cold and the promise of danish pastries and bread with butter and preserves turned out to be some bread and 2 stale crossants minus butter or preserves, when we phoned reception to request them we were told it would be sent but nothing arrived. Definately not value for money and no reduction was offered on complaint. The tray was still in the room when we returned later that day so we sat it in the hallway and on retrun to the hotel that night after a show found it was still sitting there and a fly buzzing around it, very unimpressed. We drank in the bar twice during our stay and found we had to wait long periods of time for service as the barmen kept wandering off into the restuarant or down the hallway and you'd have to go looking for them and shout across to the restuarant which again was poor service. On check out we found a very rude and unhelpful receptionist who never once asked if everything was ok or if we enjoyed our stay and when we asked for somewhere to store our bags we were met with a glare that would turn milk sour. The hotel is a ten minute tram ride to the centre and trams run from outside the hotel failry frequently, you can purchase all day travel cards for 7 euro each which allows you to travel around and use the quiter location of the hotel as a good base. I have however stayed in Amsterdam many times and there are better hotels with much better service and standards so I was somewhat very disappointed and would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shalin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I stayed here for one night in November. The hotel looks newly renovated, the rooms are very nice, and our interactions with the staff were pleasant. The Eden Manor Hotel is situated a bit out of the way, but very close to a tram stop, which came in handy. Overall we were very satisfied. However, our room had two single beds rather than the double that we ordered, which was a letdown.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thinkpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Arena
#74 of 371 in Amsterdam
443 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 371 in Amsterdam
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#76 of 371 in Amsterdam
978 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £105 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing