We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new modern hotel - but better for Couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #57 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great new modern hotel - but better for Couples”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This place is newly renovated and very modern, clean and presentable. Easy to get to by tram number 9 and friendly staff upon arrival. The room was average size for a hotel, but clean and modern for Amsterdam standards. We were 2 friends on holiday and booked twin beds. The only thing about this hotel is twin beds are 2 single beds put together - that you can't really separate. All rooms are like this - twin beds together or doubles/king beds. Then the bathrooms are great, nice shower, but glass windows in to the bathroom and a frosted door. So probably a hotel best suited to Couples/partners instead of travel groups sharing rooms. Apart from that very good value, great pricing for the clean, modern hotel in a convenient spot (10 mins tram ride from city centre/central station)

Room Tip: Rooms on floor one or above will be less noisy and all rooms are suited more to couples, or friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    795
    190
    34
    16
See reviews for
183
975
61
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Nice mix of old building and modern decor (almost too modern- the X's all over the place were amusing, the shirtless guy w bike over our bed equally so).
Staff were helpful and polite, things were clean and we spent a happy week there taking the Tram 3 or 9 (directly in front of hotel) all over Amsterdam. Computer and printer in lobby to use, free wi fi on site, handy fridge and hot water pot in room. Bicycles available for rent are nice too. 2nd floor room was a long walk from elevator but overall nice and quiet in the halls.
Breakfast not included, don't get the pricey buffet (unless you can eat 18 euros worth of food) but the a la carte is a good deal. Halal place and a Deli across the street are good & open pretty late. It's a bit away from city center- we enjoyed the quiet and it was only a few tram stops to Centraal or Dam.
We were a little annoyed that our queen bed was 2 twins pushed together- felt like a gulf between us at night! but overall this was a comfortable home base during our travels. would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pleelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Nice hotel, v new. Didn't like my first room as was ground floor beside bar. Was moved without issue. Rooms v nice and bed and pillows v good quality. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hol2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed here with a group on a Great Rail Holidays trip to Floriade and Keukenhof. Much of what has already been said by other contibutors I agree with. For anyone wanting a good quality hotel outside of the main centre of Amsterdam, this is ideal, and as long as you go with a very good friend or partner, then the viewing window into the wetroom should not be a great distraction. Although we had two dinners provided as part of the package, we also tried the a-la-carte menu on a free night. Very good quality food, beautifully presented, if on the pricy side, although a 3-course meal from the main menu is available for €32.50 which isn't too bad. Some have commented that the restaurant service is slow; I prefer to say relaxed. Turn right through the main door, and you will come to the Oosterpark on your left across the road junction. From here a number 3 tram goes direct to the Museumplein, which saves going into the centre and out again. A daily tram pass costs €7.50 (€12 for 2 days and €16 for 3), and this can be bought from the nearby shop with the Marlboro sign over the door. Turn left from the main entrance and under the railway bridge and you will find yourself in a shopping centre with bars and restaurants, including a wonderful cake shop on the right, about as far beyond the railway as the hotel is before it. Would like to go again, independently.

Room Tip: Didn't notice noise from traffic at the front, even though the road is quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at the Eden Manor for 5 nights in April. The rooms were excellent, lovely high ceilings and very modern. The staff were ++ friendly... when we wanted to change rooms after the first night, this was no problem, moved to a suite at not a great deal more than the cost of the original room. The receptionists and the concierge were extremely helpful always. Highly recommended - would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

this hotel was brilliant. the staff were so friendly and spoke perfect english. they kept our bags before we could check in so we could go out and check in when we wanted.
the room was spotlessly clean and perfectly maintained. it has a tv with bbc one and two. the bathroom was gorgeous although you can see into the bathroom from the room hallway (not good if staying with anyone except your partner) but this can be easily worked around but not exactly a great design feature.
we never ate or went into the dining room or bar and we never had and food there.
would definetly stay here again.
its really easy to get to from central station by taking tram 9. when you get off the hotel is just across the road slightly in front of you.
our room was overlooking a courtyard garden and it was amazingly quiet with no sounds throughout the night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliej82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 368 in Amsterdam
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Hotel Arena
#70 of 368 in Amsterdam
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing