We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #58 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Out of the way location but beautiful hotel. Warning if you came to amsterdam to smoke pot- it is not tolerated in this hotel !
Good value for money, large rooms and impressive lobby. Check in was a bit of a hassle, staff seemed more interested in talking to each other than sorting my room out

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelgirl8823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

The hotel itself was pretty impressive. Went as a couple for a birthday weekend/ smoke/ getaway but didn't fancy cosying up in a hostel. Booked lastminute for a very reasonable price. As the reviews say we were allocated a funky looking room with a great vibe. On the outside the hotel is impressive and oosterpark across the road is a pretty walk during the day. There is a coffeeshop right next to the hotel as well (albeit not the greatest selection of products). The tram stops right outside the hotel and is only a 10 minute tram to the centre- but when baked you might prefer to be more central- enabling yourself to come and go a bit more. The staff were friendly and helpful and (like everybody else in amsterdam) spoke immaculate english. The hotel do not accommodate for smoking of any kind so dont expect to chill out in a room of any kind- but this is fairly well displayed (+ coffeeshop is across the road). Some fantastic bakeries up and down the road and a lovely bar down by the first canal u hit walking away from the centre. The beds are mega comfy, but ours were twins pushed together so no snuggling :(. Bad to say for a holiday but the tv channels were fantastic too ;). the room was comfy, modern and a wet room for a shower was amazing. Fret not about privacy in the bathroom (as long as you are two well acquainted individuals) overall a really nice hotel and really well run imo. if only it was 25 min (walk) closer it would have been PERFECT (but probably not as cheap)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiggly89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Wonderful, professional and helpful welcome to the hotel. The room was contemporary in design, clean, spacious and ever so comfortable. Very easy to get to from Muiderpoort station on arrival, and the number 9 tram right outside takes you straight to Dam square in 10 minutes.
This hotel was great value for money too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trell70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Booked this hotel by chance through lastminute.com, and I was not disappointed. The hotel is one train stop from Amsterdam central - Muiderpoort (2min walk from station). I was sceptical about this but in the end glad to be out of the hectic centre. There is also a tram stop which run every 10mins or so.

The hotel itself has obviously been recently renovated and lived up to expectations. It's very clean and and well equipped for your needs. The bathroom especially was superb.

Staff were all very friendly, helpful and interested. As you'd expect they all speak perfect English.

I will definitely be returning to this place!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank TripMember07012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

From the minute I walked through the big front doors of the Manor Hotel, I knew I was going to enjoy my stay. After being awake for almost 48 hours and a long flight, I was so happy and relieved there was a room ready for me a few hours before 'check-in'. The room smelled fresh and clean and the bed was comfortable and perfect. Despite the cool weather, I never felt the need to adjust the temperature. I loved the modern decor, the ballet photo mural, and clean, ingeniously designed shower/bathroom! Everything was spotless. This hotel provides every little convenience for the comfort of their guests and I felt extremely relaxed and cared-for. My room faced the street but I never heard a thing: the tram is electric and there are few cars in general.

As a single woman traveling alone, I felt very safe, even late at night. The tram is efficient and fun to ride. If the weather had been a bit warmer, I might have rented one of the hotel's bikes. Everything in Amsterdam is easily accessible and the city is very walk-able, but the tram ride to Centraal Station takes about 10-15 minutes, with stops. The surrounding neighborhood is nice as well, and not so busy with tourists. It felt a lot more like the 'real' Amsterdam with regular people, shops, restaurants, etc. not so entirely devoted to crazy tourists! The hotel staff was extremely welcoming, friendly, professional and very helpful in providing suggestions, directions, and my late-night glass of red wine!

I travel frequently for work and stay in 4-star hotels 6-10 nights per month, but I would say this is one of the nicest hotel experiences I've had. I look forward to another stay at the Manor Hotel.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the street view, but you may prefer something else. Talk to the staff and share your pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mantragirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Although a little away from the city centre, we had absolutely no problems travelling since trams were very convenient. Our room was so small, it seemed a bit of a rip-off for the price we paid. The friendly staff at the counter more than made up for the disappointment of the minute room, however. They were so helpful when we asked about transport, places to visit, etc. BTW the shuttle service to and from the airport to Amsterdam hotels is a bit wierd, they refused to pick us up from the Manor Hotel and we had to walk (with our luggage) to another hotel close by to be picked up - it made no sense! Also, be warned that the restaurant is pretty expensive and the portion sizes are quite small, so you end up hungry in addition to feeling ripped-off. The hotel decor is loud and a bit strange, but it grows on you and you end up sort of liking the big red crosses all over.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room. My feeling is that most rooms are pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

recently refurbished in a beautiful old building; top floor rooms have tiny windows and little light, but nice large size. good outlets and wifi, tea kettle in rooms. but poor lighting in bathroom and no space for vanity items. nice breakfast in restaurant but blaring techno music makes food hard to digest. no fitness center but you can buy a pass for 15 euro for a nearby fitness center that is very nice, including access to fitness classes. location is out of way from center of town and not a great neighborhood, lots of graffiti etc. street side rooms can be very noisy

Room Tip: avoid street side rooms; second floor rooms may have larger windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slwjosh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#72 of 372 in Amsterdam
994 reviews
Hotel Arena
#74 of 372 in Amsterdam
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 372 in Amsterdam
883 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,186 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £102 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing