We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location doesn't make up for the terrible service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #58 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 December 2013

As soon as we arrived we were told to wait (which I was fine with because these things happen) however, EVERY time we needed to talk to the concierge they were rude and uninterested, at one point we went down and the manager stood BEHIND us and it wasn't until we turned to him he asked us if he could help us- absolutely ridiculous.

The location of the hotel is great with a tram line running to central station right out the front of the hotel.

The room itself from first glance was really nice, modern looking. But upon closer inspection there was THICK mould around the fan in the bathroom (I'm talking half a cm with no exaggeration). The bathroom also stank and made our room smell disgusting during our whole stay- like stale sewage water. And when the room was serviced instead of giving us clean glasses they just turned the old ones upside down, there was still coke residue in the bottom.

I really would never stay here again, I can look past the dirty bathroom and glasses. But the service was that bad it made us feel awkward and as though we were an inconvienince to them by being there.
There plenty more hotels in Amsterdam in the same price range and I suggest you choose those instead.

(Note: it's not often I leave a negative review, but I felt as though I needed to in this case)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineVredenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

'm very sorry to hear that your expectation didn't match the reality.
Thanks a lot for writing this review. With your input we can improve ourselves.
Could you contact me to discuss a proper solution for the caused inconvenience?

Best regards,
Claire van Campen
c.vancampen@hampshire-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,833)
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Funtastic. Enjoyable. The staff is so friendly and helpful, The rooms are so nice, filled with creative design, functional and quite. A convenient location for daily shopping and taking the tram or the bus just in he front of the hotel to take me anywhere I needed in town and around.
A part of the XXX experience

Room Tip: Any room. There are also suites, I consider affordable.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moti1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you very much for your enthousiastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back. kind regards Claire van Campen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights end of November 2013. On first impression the hotel is very grand and striking to look at and we had a concierge collect our luggage from the taxi we arrived in. The receptionist Rachel was very nice and gave us all the details we needed for our stay. Downstairs was very clean and the bar was very tidy too the staff also very pleasent to talk too. Apart from this though the hotel does have it's down points. We went to our room (308) and the sign already by the door had fallen off and was on the floor. The room as we entered was quite large but looked as though it hadn't been hoovered properly in a while as when I sorted my suitcase I found an orange pill under the bed which could well still be there now as I didn't want to touch it. Also hung my coat on the beam that runs across the room and when I took it down it was thick white with dust. Also the shower hasn't got a lot of power on it and the pipe that runs from the bottom to the top of the shower sticks out so when you do wash you catch it which is annoying. The noise from the main road is very loud aswell. We were at the front of the hotel and the trams go past both ways about every 5 mins and you can here them very clearly up until after midnight when they stop running. Breakfast expensive, breakfast in the room costs 17.50 euros each and dinner isn't the cheapest either better to go out for more choice and a bit cheaper. The tram number 9 picks you up directly outside the hotel to centraal station which stops at most of the main areas through amsterdam and same tram on the way back with die men sniep on the top so this was very good as the hotel is a bit out the way. All in all very average I've stayed in worse and I've stayed in better. They just need to fine tune the finer details and keep on top of staff from laziness to keep standards up and they'll be up there. I've worked in hotels etc and I know that if a cleaner is left to his/hers devises they will cut corners and this is what has happened here. And if you fancy a quiet night in with the tele make sure you love bbc 1 or bbc2 as these are the only channels you have to watch the rest are dutch ones.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aled M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you very much in taking the time a writing a review. I'm very sorry to hear that your expectation didn't match the reality. The cleanliness of your room will be adresses to housekeeping so we can prevent this from happening in the future.
With your input we can improve ourselves. I hope I may welcome you again so you can experience that we will do anything to give you a pleasant stay.

Could you contact me to discuss a proper solution for the caused inconvenience?

Best regards,
Claire van Campen
c.vancampen@hampshire-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights on a business trip. The rooms are modern and clean. TV, WLAN all there. The Hotel was renovated only two years ago.

The place is a bit out, but public traffic is right in front of the door.

For €17.-- the breakfast could offer more variety.

Would stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time writing a review. We are indeed located away from the center, it takes 15 min bij public transportation to reach the center. We also offer an a la carte breakfast. We look froward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Claire van Campen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Ok it's not really in the center, but it's close enough.
It's an old building totally renovated.
We stayed for 2 nights on a business trip.
Rooms on 3rd floor . Facing main road. No significant noise from street.

Rooms are very nice , large enough well furnished and in excellent condition. Apart from a bizarre window/mirror into the bathroom , it was perfect.

Service from staff is very good.
Excellent breakfast , good coffee and fresh orange juice.
I would definitely return.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013
Google Translation

Dank u wel voor uw vriendelijke woorden, leuk om te horen dat u genoten heeft. We kijken ernaar uit u in de toekomst weer te mogen verwelkomen. vriendelijke groeten, Claire van Campen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights from 25 to 28 november 2013. Staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel very clean and modern, the room was a good size and had all that you need for a comfortable stay with the exception of the pillows which we found to be uncomfortable otherwise that is our only complaint. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food but we did think it rather expensive for breakfast so ate elsewhere. The hotel is far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle of the city but well placed for getting about and with a tram stop right outside we found it perfectly situated.

Room Tip: West side room was quiet
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeaniedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will look into the comment of the pillows. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards Claire van Campen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights from 20th - 21st November, 2013. This hotel was very clean and the staff were helpful. Our room was comfortable if a little too close to the bar. It should be borne in mind, if you are travelling by car, that parking is limited, expensive and needs to be pre-booked.

There are public transport links within a very short walk from the hotel which is very convenient. It took us only 2 or 3 minutes walk to reach the tram stop.

We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is away from the bar. It can get noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crottpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you very much in sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards, Claire van Campen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Arena
#75 of 371 in Amsterdam
451 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#74 of 371 in Amsterdam
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 371 in Amsterdam
868 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £105 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing