We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Almost excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Room was clean with a large and comfortable bed. Hotel is situated near Ousterpark but with a tram stop outside the hotel it is only a 15 minute ride into the centre. Did not use the restaurant as we felt the breakfast was a bit expensive at €17.50 so instead used a nearby café.
The reception staff were always friendly and on checking in the concierge was on hand with advice/tips for Amsterdam.
I have not rated the hotel as excellent as:-
1) on 2nd day of stay reported that one of the bedside reading lights was not working - still the same when we left 3 days later.
2) on one day the cups and spoons for the coffee/tea in the room were not cleaned.
3 )on the website http://www.hampshire-hotels.com/en/the-manor-hotel-amsterdam-hampshire-eden appears this statement
Loungebar
You can visit the Loungebar throughout the day for coffee or tea. In the evenings you can order wines and cocktails.
However on one evening when we order a cocktail we were told "We do not serve cocktails"!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiete.r
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustygary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking time in sharing your experince with us. It is only through guest comments such as yours that we can constantly improve our service & standards. The mentioned issues are being discussed with the responsible departments. I do hope this will not deter you from visiting us in the near future.
kind regards,

Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    766
    180
    34
    16
See reviews for
170
932
58
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We loved the hotel, where we stayed two days upon our trip to Amsterdam. Breakfast was of very good value and the room was looking really nice and clean. Only downside is that from the first evening untill checkout time, the hotel was completely without power. The evening is long when you can't see or do anything.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bithja I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in writing a review. Indeed we had a power issue in the beginning of January. I am very sorry the inconvience the power shut caused you. We hope this will not deter you from visiting the hotel again in the near future.

kind regards,

Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in Manor hotel for 3 nights. We had booked a two bed room which had the double bed requested earlier by email.
All communications by email prior to our visit were promptly and accurately answered.
The reception was very helpful and fast.
Our room while at first glance seemed a bit different than the ones in the website, on second thought was more than adequate. The high sealing and the hidden blue light on top was a nice touch. The bathroom was as described and given that the particular room was designed for wheelchair usage eveything was on the same level, not an issue. the "problem" was as many other reviewers have described the door! Too close to the bed and given its design privacy was an issue.... other than that the amenities were satisfactory even though i would have expected a bit more stuf for a four star hotel.
The bed was very soft which for us did not provide a comfortable/relaxing sleep, even though we were dead tired from walking all day.
We did not try the breaksfast in the hotel following advice from other reviewers, we ate at a small cafe across the streat, can't say we were completly satisfied perhaps we should have given a try to the hotel breaksfast which if booked in advance is 5 euros cheaper...
The location of the hotel was very near to the train station and to the tram line making the trip to city centre very easy.
We stayed at the back of the hotel so no noice issues.
Over all we were satisfied and we would reccomemend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParaschosL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your visit to our hotel and ofcourse for leaving this pleasant review. You remarks will be taken into consideration.
We hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,
Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Spent a week here in April. It is in the South East of the city, away from the hustle and bustle of central Amsterdam. There is a tram stop (number 9) right outside that runs frequently into the centre. There is a Hema and Albert Heijn (supermarkets) as well as nice places to eat within walking distance. We arrived via the Amterdam Muiderpoort station which is just around the corner. We were upgraded for free and the room was lovely and quirky at the same time. The carpets in the corridors are very cool! Hotel is near East park and the Artis (Zoo). We walked back from the centre one day it is not too far (3 km or so). There was a safe in the room, fridge and a lovely bath/shower. We did use the breakfast as we thought it was a little expensive. The bed was massive and very comfy - we had some lovely nights sleep. Rooms were left tidy and clean. On departure got a refund from some of city tax too which was a bonus. Recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter - some front ones have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Good to hear you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel is fully modern, well renovated from a former hospital. The rooms are quite big for Amsterdam, large and comfortable beds, nice modern decoration and lights. Nice bathroom with a shower, "italian type"
Breakfast is excellent too. The tram passes just in front of the hotel. Very warm welcome

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatBass2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Nice to read that you enjoyed your stay. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

On 21 st March 2014 I arrived at the Manor Hotel , Hampshire Eden , Amsterdam having booked in for my birthday on 22 nd. How pleasantly surprised I was with firstly the decor and secondly the receptionist who was most helpful and informed me we were being upgraded to a suite as a birthday treat. Our suite was immaculate and the facilities were first class. I have never stayed at a boutique hotel before and found it a very enjoyable stay. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the facilities were excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend any one to stay here , the only drawback was that it is approximately six stops on the tram from the Dam Square , don't be put off by this as the luxury and facilities more than make up.

Room Tip: Chose suite 37 ground floor with doors onto your patio. Ideal for smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musiclodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great spot. Eastside is up and coming, like Brooklyn in the 80's. Hotel is modern, comfy, VERY friendly and helpful. Park is a block away with a couple restaurants and a dynamite smoke shop in between. Angela who runs the desk, Sarah in the dining room are stand-outs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you very much for yur kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. kind regards Claire van Campen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing