We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland, with lapses in customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Ranked #59 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a few problems with this hotel. It is large and somewhat impersonal, though the staff were friendly. But finding a dirty spoon with the tea set when we arrived was not a good start.

My wife's credit card was declined at reception which was very worrying. We had to ring the card issuer the following morning to ascertain the problem and the call through the hotel cost £25. It turned out that the receptionist had swiped the card multiple times with the wrong name on the screen and it had been blocked.

The first night (a Sunday) we had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it took an hour and half from start to finish as service was incredibly slow, and while the food was nice it was a bit sparse. We ate out after that - Amsterdam is not exactly short on restaurants. One morning I found a silverfish in the shower.

The weirdest thing about the room was that the shower/loo were in a corner cubicle, and there was clear glass in the wall so you could look through and see someone on the loo. There was a hideous picture above the bed, a giant photo of a woman's foot in a high-heeled shoe. Who thought that was a good idea? The blackout curtain was brilliant and the room was completely dark. Our room was at the front but we were not bothered by traffic noise.

The hotel is a little way from the centre but the tram service is brilliant and we never waited for more than a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations. We constantly work on improving our service and standards. We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future, then we can show you we can meet the expectations you may have for a 4 star hotel as the Manor Hotel Amsterdam.
For any quiestions or In case you need help from us regarding your credit card please e-mail c.vancampen-vermeer@hampshire-hotels.com. kind regards, Claire van Campen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

856 - 862 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

After having traveled on a direct flight from Portland, OR to Amsterdam we were looking forward to checking in and freshening up before heading out and about town. Unfortunately we arrived at 11 and our rooms weren't quite ready. We were pretty bummed but not wholly surprised, but they were happy to store our bags until we returned. The service from the front desk was cordial throughout the trip.

The exterior of the hotel is stunning, reminiscent of a Wes Anderson film. The interior is super modern, both in the lobby and in the rooms. The rooms were very clean and well-appointed, but the bed and pillows were a bit soft for our taste. It was a bit weird that their was a window in the bathroom, but it was off to the side so if someone peeked in they'd really have to be trying. Each room has a giant floor to ceiling photo poster behind the bed, and ours happened to be the bare posterior of a model walking down a runway. Luckily we are open-minded and thought it was pretty awesome, I'd love to see the shocked faces of some conservative Americans as they roll through.

The hotel is located 10-15 minutes from the center of Amsterdam, and there are two rail lines either steps away or a couple minute walk from the hotel. Either line will take you to the city center, and the public transit is clean, efficient, affordable, and very easy to use. There are several restaurants and bars in the area, perfect for grabbing a drink after a long day of tourist-ing. I would not recommend the hotel restaurant for dinner, explore the many nice local eateries instead. The continental breakfast that was included with our stay was really nice, and I even got to make my own espresso or latte every morning with the most amazing coffee machine ever.

Room Tip: Request street side on the second floor for a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms_tiffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future. With Regards, Claire van Campen-Vermeer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in spring 2014. The location in East Amsterdam is fantastic- variety of street cafes and shops, very close to a big park, and access a block away to intersection of several tram lines to take you wherever you need to go. Despite all the activity around the hotel, I found the area more pleasant and relaxing than the city center. Our room on the 3rd floor was quiet, and the layout was compact but comfortable. Internet in the hotel was free and access was good the entire time. The room rate was a bit expensive, as was the hotel restaurant- but excellent coffee is a short walk away at the superb Coffee Bru.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you very much in sharing your experience with us & your kind words.
kind regards Claire van Campen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Great location.... Tram 9 stops right outside and takes you straight into/from central station.

Rooms were spotless, comfy and spacious.... And the staff were more than helpful.

Not the cheapest in town, but great value and worth ever penny!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dtshaw7d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you very much for such a beautiful review. Please let us welcome you back again in the near future!!
Kind regards Claire van Campen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in the Manor Hotel for 3 nights on a city break in Amsterdam recently. The hotel was excellent, and absolutely perfect for our needs. It's in a trendy and vibrant area in east Amsterdam, and it is easily walkable to the city centre and all the main sites. We had a great room with an excellent shower, comfortable bed, and nice big window overlooking the front of the hotel. The staff were helpful and overall, we had a really excellent stay here. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are some rooms with balconies on the first floor - see if you can request one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandraHammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Alexandra,
thank you very much for your kind words. We look forward to welcomng you back. kind regards Claire van Campen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I would choose this hotel again when visiting Amsterdam. Well located on tram lines to major attractions and near train to/from airport. Near supermarket for take away food but also has very good and convenient in-hotel dining. Service and comfort excellent. Breakfast buffet the best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Librarian4025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you very much in sharing your experience with us & your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Claire van Campen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Good location! Bus station is just in front ! The Amsterdam zoo is 3 or 4 bus station away . The main train station is 15 minutes by bus . It is good for family with children . The only inconvinience is the breakfast is not included in room rate.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommypham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Tommy, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please let us know when you will be returning so we can offer a rate including breakfast. kind regards Claire van Campen
c.vancampen@hampshire-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#80 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,000 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#111 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam

Address: Linneausstraat 89, 1093 EK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £70 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam is situated in a unique building in Amsterdam-Oost: the former Burgerziekenhuis (hospital). This historic building on the Linnaeusstraat was renovated in 2011 into a trendy hotel with luxury rooms and its own Italian restaurant, Enoteca. The hotel is easy to reach by car or public transport. And by tram, bus or bike, you’ll be right in the centre of the city in 7 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing