We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Manor Amsterdam
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$395
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$458
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$330
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$423
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,978)
Filter reviews
1,978 results
Traveller rating
824
889
211
34
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
824
889
211
34
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuiderpoort stationtram stopcity centrenumber tramgreat hoteltram takesdam squarewet roomdouble bedjunior suitestayed for nightswould highly recommend this hotelschiphol airportbooked this hotelshort breakmodern hotelpublic transport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
912 - 917 of 1,978 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Principally beautiful. Great location, but if you need rest make sure you get a room on the back side. Trains and buses, along with cars and scooters will cause some stir ...
Very polite personel. Excellent beds!
On the down side: a poorly cleaned room (which they re-did) after we mentioned it) and not enough personel during breakfast. The breakfast itself is excellent, but it is hard to drink coffee when there are no cups. The 3 people at breakfast were very good and worked their tails off, but it would surely help to have 1 or 2 more people in there.

Room Tip: Not on the street side (if you are a light sleeper)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wuadnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations. We constantly work on improving our service and standards. We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future, then we can show you we can meet the expectations you may have for a 4 star hotel as the Manor Hotel Amsterdam.

kind regards, Claire van Campen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a few problems with this hotel. It is large and somewhat impersonal, though the staff were friendly. But finding a dirty spoon with the tea set when we arrived was not a good start.

My wife's credit card was declined at reception which was very worrying. We had to ring the card issuer the following morning to ascertain the problem and the call through the hotel cost £25. It turned out that the receptionist had swiped the card multiple times with the wrong name on the screen and it had been blocked.

The first night (a Sunday) we had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it took an hour and half from start to finish as service was incredibly slow, and while the food was nice it was a bit sparse. We ate out after that - Amsterdam is not exactly short on restaurants. One morning I found a silverfish in the shower.

The weirdest thing about the room was that the shower/loo were in a corner cubicle, and there was clear glass in the wall so you could look through and see someone on the loo. There was a hideous picture above the bed, a giant photo of a woman's foot in a high-heeled shoe. Who thought that was a good idea? The blackout curtain was brilliant and the room was completely dark. Our room was at the front but we were not bothered by traffic noise.

The hotel is a little way from the centre but the tram service is brilliant and we never waited for more than a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations. We constantly work on improving our service and standards. We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future, then we can show you we can meet the expectations you may have for a 4 star hotel as the Manor Hotel Amsterdam.
For any quiestions or In case you need help from us regarding your credit card please e-mail c.vancampen-vermeer@hampshire-hotels.com. kind regards, Claire van Campen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After having traveled on a direct flight from Portland, OR to Amsterdam we were looking forward to checking in and freshening up before heading out and about town. Unfortunately we arrived at 11 and our rooms weren't quite ready. We were pretty bummed but not wholly surprised, but they were happy to store our bags until we returned. The service from the front desk was cordial throughout the trip.

The exterior of the hotel is stunning, reminiscent of a Wes Anderson film. The interior is super modern, both in the lobby and in the rooms. The rooms were very clean and well-appointed, but the bed and pillows were a bit soft for our taste. It was a bit weird that their was a window in the bathroom, but it was off to the side so if someone peeked in they'd really have to be trying. Each room has a giant floor to ceiling photo poster behind the bed, and ours happened to be the bare posterior of a model walking down a runway. Luckily we are open-minded and thought it was pretty awesome, I'd love to see the shocked faces of some conservative Americans as they roll through.

The hotel is located 10-15 minutes from the center of Amsterdam, and there are two rail lines either steps away or a couple minute walk from the hotel. Either line will take you to the city center, and the public transit is clean, efficient, affordable, and very easy to use. There are several restaurants and bars in the area, perfect for grabbing a drink after a long day of tourist-ing. I would not recommend the hotel restaurant for dinner, explore the many nice local eateries instead. The continental breakfast that was included with our stay was really nice, and I even got to make my own espresso or latte every morning with the most amazing coffee machine ever.

Room Tip: Request street side on the second floor for a nice balcony
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms_tiffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future. With Regards, Claire van Campen-Vermeer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in spring 2014. The location in East Amsterdam is fantastic- variety of street cafes and shops, very close to a big park, and access a block away to intersection of several tram lines to take you wherever you need to go. Despite all the activity around the hotel, I found the area more pleasant and relaxing than the city center. Our room on the 3rd floor was quiet, and the layout was compact but comfortable. Internet in the hotel was free and access was good the entire time. The room rate was a bit expensive, as was the hotel restaurant- but excellent coffee is a short walk away at the superb Coffee Bru.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you very much in sharing your experience with us & your kind words.
kind regards Claire van Campen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Great location.... Tram 9 stops right outside and takes you straight into/from central station.

Rooms were spotless, comfy and spacious.... And the staff were more than helpful.

Not the cheapest in town, but great value and worth ever penny!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dtshaw7d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, General Manager at The Manor Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you very much for such a beautiful review. Please let us welcome you back again in the near future!!
Kind regards Claire van Campen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews