We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifull B&B in the centre of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Museum Suites
Ranked #4 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bern - Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautifull B&B in the centre of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Situated at great location is this luxerious Bed & Breakfast in Amsterdam. Altough i did not book for breakfast the bed was very fine in my Mondriaan Suite.

Everything has been thought of. Extra Cushions and duvets and covers. Nice spacious room, with free wifi, iPhone/Pod dock and a good blow dryer. Small couch and a Nespresso Coffeemachine. And nice wel equipped bathroom with jungle douche.

The people where very willing helping you out with information en reservations.

I really liked the location and will return another time altough the owner should not worry that much about the paint on the stairs if you run a B&B with rooms on the 2nd floor where you guests must ascend/descend 3 steep chairs with a suitcase of around 23 kg for the price you pay a night. My opinion is that the price you pay a night should and could cover the cost if something damage happends. (I did not cause any damage, but is was unnecessary to say while i was trying to descend the stairs).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobijntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    31
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
211
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

We received a hospitable welcome by the two nice ladies who run the Museum Suites. ........ provided us a comfortable and homely atmosphere. The Rembrandt Suite we stayed in has its special character as it is richly ornamented and stylish furnished. In Museum Suites, we came to grasp the history of ancient Amsterdam. We will certainly visit again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187323Traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flanders
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

When looking for a room in Amsterdam I discovered the site hoteliers.com which offers hotels, B&B etc with this little extra touch. We stayed at the Museum Suites, a beautiful house in the museum area and a few steps away from the Vondelpark. The Mondriaan Suite was spacious, airy and bright, incl nespressomachine, handmade rug with the famous Mondriaan design and a Rietveld chair ! The luxurious bathroom completed our 5* feeling. Expierencing a warm homely welcome combined with the luxury of a 5* suite is everything one could wish if mass tourism business is not your kind of thing.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

We stayed at the Museum Suites' Rembrandt Suite for one night only (sadly), and we made sure to make the most of it!
Already upon entering you can see that this place is something special. There is no big flashy sign crying out "Hotel", the entrance is very discrete and we felt at home instantly - what with the flowers, the thick carpet muffling any sound, and the warm welcome!

The suite was stunning. The former glory of the rooms has been entirely restored. The floor, ceiling, beds, fabrics, (real!) flower bouquets, the (gas) chimney, the huge windows and the choice of furniture are simply sublime. The light white marble bathroom with bubble bath, soft towels, pro hairdryer and under-floor heating made us feel like royalty.
On top of this authentic style there are the most useful modern amenities: Nespresso coffee machine, kettle, iPod dock and of course the fireplace.

The owner who welcomed us at arrival (which was way past the hotel's usual check-in time) and the lady handling the check-out in the morning were exceedingly friendly and made sure that we were not lacking anything.

As we did not take breakfast in the suite I cannot judge the offer.

If you are looking to stay in style, privacy and luxury in Amsterdam, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mevido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in the Van Gogh suite. Bright, spacious, airy room with a large balcony overlooking gardens. Lovely generous breakfasts and a treat having them served in your room. A bit pricey but worth the extravagance. Room was immaculately clean and tidy, the staff were very pleasant and helpful but not intrusive. Slippers and bathrobes are a nice touch. Bed was super comfortable. Location is excellent for museums and the Vondelpark . Walking into town centre is not a problem but will take about 20 minutes. Number 2 tram will take you from central station to within meters of the front door. Lived up to all our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

I stayed Valentine's Day weekend with my girlfriend in the Rembrandt Suite which comes complete with a working fireplace. The room is very well decorated with warm colors, high ceilings and a beautiful wooden floor. Breakfast in bed, champagne and tulips - you asked for it the Hoteliers provided it happily. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, and 15 mins walk to the Leidsplein, and on a tram line to get anywhere you want, including Centraal Station. Couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate a romantic weekend with my girlfriend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttotheb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Lovely spacious room. Very friendly, personal staff. Breakfast served in your own room! We spent our wedding night here. Absolutely distinguishing from a hotel-experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,559 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Property: Museum Suites
Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing