We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Museum Suites
Ranked #5 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The room & management are absolutely great. I have traveled a lot, and no other hotel have left such a good feeling. This will be my place always in A'dam.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiikkaVahtera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

This small hotel is in a quieter section of the city, close to Vondel park and the museums. There is a tram stop just up the street so transportation is convenient and the neighborhood is very quiet and safe. The Mondrian suite was our room and although it is 3 flights up the space was very refreshing. Frida was most hospitable and made our stay a pleasure. We will definately stay here on our future visits to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We stayed 6 days in the Vermeer Suite that was spacious, very clean and with a good taste. Our bed was so confortable. The staff were kind and helpful ... a special thank to Anne.
It is in a quiet street, with a fast access to the museums area.
We didn't book breakfast, but they suggested us a nice cafè very close to.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barby09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

What a find! We had the Mondriaan Suite and the room was fantastic. Really big, even by North American standards, with lots of tasteful and thoughtful details I wouldn't think I could get at this price. It faces the gardens at the back of the building, so it was very quiet (until the birds woke up!). The staff was also so nice and very helpful. We didn't get breakfast, but they gave us voucher for 10% off at the cafe down the street every morning, which was great. The location really can't be beat. Walking distance to the museums, right on the 2 tram line so you can get anywhere you need to go in a snap, but in a quiet residential area.

My one big drawback for the room relates to my 2 stars for sleep quality. The bed in the room is really two twin bed shoved together. That's pretty standard in Europe, but in this one there's actually a few inches of a gap between the mattresses and they were made up with separate bedding. It was rather awkward. Also, being on the top floor and with the warm weather, it got really stuffy in the room. Throw in some jetlag on top of that and it made for rough sleeping. It wasn't so bad that I regret staying here, though, and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerryTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumSuites, Owner at Museum Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2011

Thank you for your review. Our aim is to make your stay as perfect as posible, we are willing to give the best service and offer high quality suites. Due the feedback we know which poins we posibily can improve.
About the temperature in the suite we would like to tell you that It is unusual to have such high temperatures in Holland around this time of the year so we didn't expect that it would be to warm in the Suite by now. To improve the resting time we will place a fan in the room to cool down.
The beds are usualy made up with separate bedding but on request we can make them up as one double bed (still with separate mattresses). It is a shame that we didn't know you preferred this. But for the next time we will do for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed at Museum Suites for an extended weekend. We received a friendly reception and everything was excellent quaility. The rooms were large and comfortable with all the facilities one would expect in a quality hotel room. The shower is an excellent wet room and the beds very comfortable with electric adjustment if needed.

The stairs are steep, but then this is an original character house and thus this is to be expected. The staff were keen to assist carrying bags up / down the stairs.

The location is really good - fast access to local Trams and the museums. Whilst there in addition to central Amsterdam we also went to Keukenhof, Rotterdam and Utrecht and it was easy to get transport with trams and then trains.

One day we had breakfast in a local restaurant but otherwise we purchased breakfast from local supermarkets. There are several restaurants in the area and so it was easy to find evening meals. Museum Suites also had a "book" of local restaurants for breakfast / evening meal which was useful.

At the end of our holiday, everyone was helpful and friendly - keeping our bags until we were ready to travel back to the airport and organising a taxi / carrying the bags down.

Excellent - we will be using them again next time we go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewSimmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Situated at great location is this luxerious Bed & Breakfast in Amsterdam. Altough i did not book for breakfast the bed was very fine in my Mondriaan Suite.

Everything has been thought of. Extra Cushions and duvets and covers. Nice spacious room, with free wifi, iPhone/Pod dock and a good blow dryer. Small couch and a Nespresso Coffeemachine. And nice wel equipped bathroom with jungle douche.

The people where very willing helping you out with information en reservations.

I really liked the location and will return another time altough the owner should not worry that much about the paint on the stairs if you run a B&B with rooms on the 2nd floor where you guests must ascend/descend 3 steep chairs with a suitcase of around 23 kg for the price you pay a night. My opinion is that the price you pay a night should and could cover the cost if something damage happends. (I did not cause any damage, but is was unnecessary to say while i was trying to descend the stairs).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobijntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We received a hospitable welcome by the two nice ladies who run the Museum Suites. ........ provided us a comfortable and homely atmosphere. The Rembrandt Suite we stayed in has its special character as it is richly ornamented and stylish furnished. In Museum Suites, we came to grasp the history of ancient Amsterdam. We will certainly visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187323Traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,669 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,174 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,840 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,024 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £161 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing