We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Museum Suites
Ranked #5 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Our family of two adults and two teens were comfortably accommodated in the Vermeer suite. The website photos created great expectation which was exceeded in real life. Every detail is immaculate, the decor beautiful; towells fluffy; beds and feather pillows extremely comfortable; the espresso plentiful and the staff most gracious and helpful in every way. Whilst this particular suite has its own cooking facilities, on at least one morning you must have breakfast in the salon - as it was an outstanding experience in its own right. The Location is excellent, on a tree lined residential street next to the Vondelpark, a few minutes walk from the major museums, the canal district and around the corner from streets of marvelous shops, numerous restaurants and cafes.
The street also has a tram service along it, which makes it seem uncannily like you are in Melbourne, though the double glazing ensures peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Each of the four suites are different in size, amenity and decor - the decor is tastefully themed on...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Museum Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

A remarkably indulgent B&B, exactly where you want to be in Amsterdam: a 3 minute stroll to the Vondelpark, a tram ride away from the action, and dead quiet at night to relax and sleep. The breakfasts were the Dutch equivalent of Japanese Kaiseki hospitality and style. The staff were right there for any request and disappeared in between, as if the place was your coveted pied-a-terre. Now, if only the in-house wireless internet were faster than pre-2000 dial-up speeds, it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Remember this is a typical 100+ year Amsterdam residence. The building has incredibly steep, thin an...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chimig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We travelled in June, spending three nights here with our young daughter. The owners prepared the sofa to create a bed for her. Yes, they're steep stairs, but this is what you expect in Amsterdam annd the quality of the accommodation was great. The welcome was friendky - helping us plan our day. We were encouraged to use the Grand Cafe a couple of hundred metres away - well frequented by the local residents too (does any one here eat breakfast at home?!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The3holidaymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed 7 nights in the very comfortable Vermeer suite all the way at the top of this beautiful B and B. A real find!! We were travelling with 2 other couples who occupied 2 other suites: the Mondrian and the Van Gogh. We all felt like we were "at home" and loved the great location, the calm street, the copious breakfast. Frieda and Sabine could not have been more friendly and welcoming and they were both extremely helpful in recommending activities and restaurants. The rooms are beautifully appointed, freshly renovated and impeccably clean.
Breakfast - optional- is served in the dining room and is quite gorgeous and plentiful. One can also run over to the corner brasserie for breakfast since it is not included in the price of the room.
We will definitely stay there again if and when we come back to Amsterdam! My husband and I highly recommend Museum Suites!
Catherine M
Also highly recommend a day trip to Haarlem.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, choose the Van Gogh or the Rembrandt suites.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CANDMStockbridge_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Museum Suites is a wondeful find, walkable to Museum square and Koncert Gebau etc, yet also a tram stopping yards away to get to just about anywhere. In fact location wise you can get to the airport the backway with a tram and then regular train for less money and a lot quicker than through central station. Located on a residential street this is an old restored Amsterdam house, along a street of similar places. Nice stores around the corner, and wonderful small cafes etc, are all elegant in style.

The hotel its self only has a few suites, each uniqely designed and named after famous people from Amsterdam. On our last day we were shown around them all as we wanted to see which we might stay in next time.

We had the Van Gogh suite, which was at the back with a wonderful very large balcony over the back gardens, Such a great place to sit outside in the sun.

The suite, just like the rest of the place, was immaculate. Nothing could be faulted, super clean, very well restored, yet modern conveniences like a wonderful bathroom,high end coffee machine, and just a really nice feel to the whole place.

Having seen all of the suites I dont think you could be unhappy in any of them. Just decide how much space you need, front of back of the hotel, how many floors up and if a balcony is important to you.

Freide and Annmarie were excellent. It was like being welcomed into their house. They made sure we had reservations and travel tips for things around amsterdam, they got us decaf coffee for the fancy machine in the room. They helped us get the free wifi (they will lend you a laptop if needed) and really nothing was too much bother.

When you are a corporate traveller like I am, and get tired of staying in the same chain hotels, this is the change you need. We feel like this is now our place to stay whenever visiting Amsterdam, and like others said, its a compelling reason to come back.

I think whether for business or leisure if you want a bit of quality, unique style, great quality location you can do no wrong staying here.

ALso the first hotel where you can have an email interchange before going to ensure your stay will be successfull.

I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Our four night stay at the Museum Suites was so exceptional that I feel we will return to Amsterdam specifically so that we can experience this excellent boutique hotel again!

Our experience was positive in every way from the time of check-in until our departure.

We stayed in the delightful large and bright VanGogh Suite. The room was well equipped with a comfortable bed, excellent linens and towels, a modern and well functioning bathroom, a Nepresso coffee maker along with a kettle for tea, an elegant chandelier along with interesting art and books. A door from the Van Gogh Suite lead outside to a terrace that overlooked the garden below as well as adjacent private back gardes. It iwas the perfect place to sit in the evening - stargazing and recalling the day's events. Fresh flowers were everywhere throughout this hitorical home and all was spotless!

We were impressed with its convenient location, between Willemsparkweg and Van Breestraat; it was a pretty and comfortable neighbourhood. There was easy access to Museums, a Concert Hall, shops, restaurants, and pubs, along with public transit to other parts of Old Amsterdam and beyond. The hotel's closeness to Vondelspark was also noteworthy.
.
Although breakfast was not included in the cost, we so enjoyed adding breakfast to our experience for one morning. The food was truly wonderful ... fresh, delicious and expertly served in the beautiful dining room. The other mornings we followed instructions to the nearby "Brasserie de Joffers".

Freida Manshande and her daughter Annemarie were friendly, helpful and they were rmost capable hosts and businesswomen. They were willing to review travel ideas and suggest best routes. They were willing to get up early and be present to facilitate our morning departure, making certain that the taxi driver took our suitcases down some very steep stairs and into the cab.

In summary, I would agree with another reviewer, who astutely concluded, "the Museum Suites are peace and quiet with a touch of luxury."

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The VanGogh Suite located at the back of the home has a lovely view and a large belcony/terrace for...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LndB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My partner and I stayed here for the bank holiday weekend in August and it was absolutely gorgeous. Museum Suites deserves every high review that it gets! Amsterdam itself is a beautiful city, although the weather wasn't great for us but I was more than happy to stay in the room when it rained very heavily on the Sunday. We stayed in the Van Gogh suite and it is so light and airy while still having a cosy feel, absolutely perfect.
I love the little touches that they have in the room, the candles were a particular favourite of mine. Sabine and Freda were so friendly and I would really recommend buying your tickets for the Van Gogh museum from them as you can walk straight in rather than standing in the huge queue!
Listen to Sabine's advise for dinner, she told us about the most fantastic Indonesian restaurant where the food was great and the staff were really friendly and helpful. When we arrived they didn't have any tables but we put our name down, came back half an hour later and the table was waiting for us.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel but there is a cafe called George a little way up the street beside the tram stop and it is fantastic. The only place to go if you want eggs/french toast and it's not that expensive either.
One tiny thing about the Van Gogh suite is the chandelier rattles when someone is walking around upstairs, ok if you're an early riser but not if you want that extra snooze.
This stay itself was on the high side price wise but that room was totally worth it and for a little treat I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,310 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,095 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £169 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing