We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel”
Review of Museum Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Museum Suites
Ranked #5 of 343 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is quite simply fabulous.

The rooms are well prepared, very clean and well designed. The staff are the best I have ever encountered in the 9 yrs of working away.

From preparing a personalised breakfast for two in the morning to buying toothpaste for you without being asked, when you tell them of your frustration of forgetting it when you packed!

The location of the hotel is ideal, near Amstelveen for business and in one of the beautiful areas of Amsterdam in my opinion. Local restaurants in the area are also very, very impressive.

I will stay no where else from now on!

Room Tip: There is one room upstairs which has an amazing balcony over the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is our second stay at Museum Suites and we loved it even more. We stayed in the Vemeer Suite which was spacious and decorated very tastefully. The owners and staff are lovely people who go out of their way to help and provide first class service. Can't recommend it enough.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Leerja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent two nights here in early May. The hotel is a large, late 19th century townhouse and the rooms have been done over tastefully and sensitively ... and comfortably. The major museums are a short distance away, either a tram ride or an easy walk. Staff were very helpful and welcoming and suggested restaurants and sights. The immediate neighborhood has good shops and restaurants. I would happily stay here again next trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The Van Gogh Room has a large deck/porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CosmoTopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and I flew into Amsterdam from Atlanta, GA on April 14, one day before starting a river cruise in order to adjust to the time change. Our travel agent recommended Museum Suites, and we were glad she did. This charming 1880's home, and the mother and daughter owners (who had lived there previously) couldn't have been more welcoming. Our room was delightful, and we highly recommend the optional breakfast...it was delicious. The home is located a few blocks from Amsterdam's major museums. Anna Marie purchased tickets to the Van Gogh museum for us in advance. When we arrived at the museum around 3:00 pm, the lines were extremely long (even for advance ticket holders). Due to the estimated 1-hour wait time, being extremely tired from no sleep, and a starting rain, we returned to the hotel. Since the tickets were good through the end of 2014, Anna Marie offered to keep them, sell them to a future guest, and return the cost on our credit card. That's the type of guest service they provide!

Room Tip: The house does not have an elevator, and narrow circular stairs. It would have been an effort to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallmanAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent 2 nights at Museum Suites that is located in the Museum neighborhood (also known as Oud Zuid) - a very sophisticated area, yet a short tram ride to the center of town. We had the Van Gogh room. The room was sunny, had a balcony, and was well appointed. The bathroom was large and the shower wonderful. At the end of the day it was a true pleasure to return to our lovely room. Anne Marie, the concierge/manager was extremely helpful. She recommended and booked restaurants for us.

Room Tip: We loved the Van Gogh room that had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockcreekpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were extremely pleased with our recent stay at Museum Suites. The hotel is charming.
Our room, The Rembrandt Suite was very large and elegantly decorated with a lovely view of
The beautiful street. The bed was large and comfortable, and the bathroom very spacious.The area is well served with shops and restaurants nearby. The hotel is very close to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Concertgebouw, away from the busy city area in a delightful residential area, but very easily accessible by tram to other parts of the city. Freida, Anna-Marie and Sabine were very welcoming, friendly and helpful with suggestions for our visit, and the very generous delicious breakfast was served in the splendid dining room. We loved Amsterdam,
And our stay at the Museum Suites made it all the more memorable. We would most definitely recommend Museum Suites to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

It is absolutely perfect!

Carol and Peter. Bowral NSW Australia

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carol596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is one of the most perfect places we have ever stayed in. The location is amazing, very close to the centre, yet set back a little so you can truly experience the local living side of Amsterdam. There are lots of lovely shops and cafes very close by and many incredible homes to look at! The service, room and flexibility of breakfasts was super. The room was extremely clean, comfortable and luxurious! Definitely recommended to all - you must stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rembrandt suite which was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,723 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,248 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#21 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,888 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#26 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,154 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 343 in Amsterdam
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Suites

Address: Willemsparkweg 113, 1071 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £164 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Suites boutique hotel offers luxury rooms in a nineteenth-century mansion boasting historic links with the Rijksmuseum. Because of this ‘museum connection’, each of the hotel’s four spacious suites been inspired by a different Dutch painter, giving them a unique character and style. Museum Suites is situated in the cultural heart of the city, on the edge of the historic centre, a stone’s throw away from the popular Vondel Park and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s most fashionable shopping streets and main cultural venues, such as the Concertgebouw and the large national museums (Stedelijk, Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum). By offering you elegance, comfort, privacy and personal attention we aim to make your stay with us a highly enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Museum Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing