We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fabulous !!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
squinthor...
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous !!”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

1st class in every respect. The Janna is an amazing place to stay, and Coleta & Stanley are wonderful hosts. So much attention to detail, and lots & lots of very personal touches. Highly recommended !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eccentric...
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed 29 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Staying on the Janna Houseboat on the Amstel was delightful. Coleta, our hostess, couldn't have been more helpful. We were sorry not to meet Stanley and Sage! All e-mail communications were responded to promptly and helpfully, and directions to Janna were perfect. Coleta also used the superb whiteboard map to point out where we were and how to get to various places. The Janna is in a great position, within walking distance of the centre and only a few minutes from tram services to go that bit further. It is also close to restaurants away from the more touristy central area of the city. The Stadskantine was good fun, good value and laid back. It was surprisingly quiet staying on the boat and we slept like logs in the comfy bed. It was a real treat to have the fridge stocked ready for our arrival - bread, milk, cereal, tea, coffee,sugar, a variety of spreads, fruit juice, eggs, yoghurt, ham and cheese! No shopping to do and this lasted us for our 3 nights / 4 days stay! The shower was better than in some hotels! Can't recommend enough staying here for a refreshing change from standard hotels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakpakgur...
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Must Stay in Amsterdam!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The Janna is a well appointed adorable houseboat close to everything in Amsterdam. Coleta and Stanley are two of the most gracious people we have ever encountered in our many travels throughout Europe and the world. When we arrived, the refrigerator was stocked with delicious treats and Coleta and Stanley were there to greet us. It is spacious enough for 4 adults and the kitchen is well equipped. This was my first time ever on a houseboat and we are for sure going to back and stay sometime in the Spring. The deck looked awesome, but it was so bitterly cold (coldest day in 40+ years.... - 27 the night before) Right across the street is the Taco House and only minutes by foot is a wonderful area filled with GREAT restaurants. Definitely check ou Bar Moustache if you have the chance. You will have an experience like none other staying on the Janna, we highly recommend spending time on this cool little gem in Amsterdam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coleta and Stanley are lovely
Liked least: nothing, it is a real gem.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California USA
Reviewed 2 February 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barcelona
Reviewed 20 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SimonRust...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best place and the best hosts”
Reviewed 18 August 2011 for a stay in March 2011
2
people found this review helpful

If I could give more than 5 out of 5 I would, really cant say enough about how great the boat and the owners were. I really look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, boat and owners
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing