We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Cat Art”
Review of The Cat Cabinet

The Cat Cabinet
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64.89*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #111 of 503 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum for cat lovers that features a collection of objects d'art wholly centered around the theme of our feline friends.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Amazing Cat Art”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were just walking by and went into this amazing private collection of cat related art from all periods of history. Wonderful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    131
    81
    41
    31
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Katz”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Don't expect anything exceptional here. The collection is very nice and consists of nice posters and small statues. But even if it was only for this lovely building interior, it is definately worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Evren11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not for me...”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

...but maybe better for cat-crazy people (I was with two). The suggestion in the guides is that this is about art but it's mainly a collection of knick-knacks about our furry feline friends. Quite small too. Look out for the space in one room where people leave their cat-related messages in most languages for, well, I'm not sure why. But some are amusing not to say bizarre. Mieow!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rogerlwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quirky With Cats”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was a fun, unexpected stop. It doesn't have that clean museum feel to it. There were many large pieces on the floor, covering each other. The walls were very full in some places and it was very dimly lit. But it was none the less exciting when the live cats were walking around the cat art. Very interesting to see Picaso and Rembrant's work in this little place. I wouldn't make it a priority unless you want to say you've been to a cat museum!

Helpful?
Thank Mandi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It's 6 euro for less than 3 dusty rooms upstairs, filled with weird posters and odd art works, not very related to the subject. Expected much more. Not worth your money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Yael_HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cat Cabinet also viewed

 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Cat Cabinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing