We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like having your own place in Amsterdam!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AMS Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AMS Suites
Ranked #75 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like having your own place in Amsterdam!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I booked AMS Suites for my boyfriend and I for a long weekend in Amsterdam. We were over the moon with our Suite. We arrived early and arranged to meet house keeping staff to drop off our bags. Everyone that I dealt with on the phone and at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. Huge room and stylish bathroom with great toiletries. We were very happy with our choice despite worrying about the keyless entry system which worked very well. Fantastic pretty location, great coffee and a big comfy bed! Woke one morning to no hot water but this was quickly fixed after a phone call to AMS Staff.

We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sianie_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    26
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
76
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We travelled to Amsterdam for a weekend with my brother, who found us AMS Suites as somewhere good to stay. He was staying in the nearby Pulitzer hotel but we wanted somewhere less expensive. We'd heard that the suites were quite hard to find but we had no issues on that front and thought the location was excellent in a lovely area with everything in easy walking distance.
We stayed in a Junior Suite and were very suprised at how spacious the room was. The bathroom was the highlight though, super modern, immaculately clean and plenty of space. When we went to see my brother's room at the Pulitzer (which cost at least 100 euros more a night), it was smaller, dated and the bathroom was not a patch on ours. Of course, the upside was that his hotel had a concierge service who arranged our two meals out and taxis, but if you plan ahead and do your research on where you want to go, then I think you could easily make do without it.
The passcode entry system was a little quirky but very easy to use. The steps were very steep as we were on the 3rd floor so I'd ensure you're lower down if that would cause you any issues. There was also a bit of noise at night with people walking down the road (our room faced right out on to it) so if this bothers you then perhaps a room at the back of the building might also be more appropriate.
In general though it is an excellent hotel in a lovely area of Amsterdam, we would certainly stay there again and would happily recommend it to anyone thinking of travelling there.

Room Tip: Avoid the 3rd floor if you're not good with steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam1976Berkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Our 36 hour trip to Amsterdam was highlighted by the exceptionally modern, yet spacious and comfortable AMS Suites near the Jordaan neighborhood. I found the keyless entry system absolutely fantastic, I love the ease of use, and the lack of worrying you've lost a key throughout the day! Yes, the hotel is slightly hard to find, but I attribute that mostly to the similarity of street names, and street appearances. Once you know which landmark to look for (we chose a particular ice cream shop and a pancake eatery), it was super easy to remember where your 'home' is. I say home because this is no chain hotel, staying at the AMS feels like you live in Amsterdam, and are coming home after a long day sightseeing.

Some will not like the steep stairs (and low hanging ceiling in the stairwell), but once you make it to the rooms, space is no issue. The bed was über comfy, well lit for reading in the evening, and the AC worked brilliantly on a stifling summers day. Two small complaints I had were that the TV is quite far from the bed, and there is the SLIGHTEST step up into the bathroom, which after kicking twice, I remembered... The Suite we stayed in was minilmally decorated, yet had enormous windows overlooking a shared Dutch garden. Absolutely pleasant, thought the ability to open a window would be neat (i know europeans arent worried about safety, so maybe there is another reason)...

Bottled water, 2 coffee/tea bags each day, some lovely cookies, and free WIFI were welcomed. I've stayed in 5 star chains which provide no water, snacks, coffee, and wifi is sometimes €20/day, so the AMS is top notch in these categories. One thing travelers may want to know is that there is no ability to store luggage once you check out, since each entry code is timed... we ended up stashing our bags at the Central Train Station for about €4

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingJerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK- South East
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

First of all, if you do not like staying somewhere without a reception/ restaurant/ concierge or life this place is not for you, however if you can see past these fairly trivial services you are in for a relaxing and pleasurable stay.

Positives:
- Rooms are well appointed and appear just as they are in the photos on the website.
- The bed was very comfortable.
- Bathroom spacious, with lots of space to store cosmetics etc.
- Modern throughout, but still managing to keep the charm and character of the building.
- Not having a key, but instead a code was brilliant!

Negatives (not so much negative, just considerations):
- The stairs, if you struggle with a normal flight of stairs, this place is definately not for you. Upon opening the front door to the property there are at least 20+ stairs that are extremely steep, followed by a further 10 or so once through the second door.
- The rooms could do with better sound insulation, it was very easy to here the people above moving around (not unbearable) but still noticeable. Also when others come and go you could here them in the corridor.
- The door to the shower cubicle was not totally waterproof and water leaked well into the bathroom floor, nothing major, just a bit of a pain.

Overall, for the money, the suites lend themselves to a charming 4* abode, excelling themselves in little touches (complimentry confectionary, personalised letters updating you about housecleaning etc), spotelss suites, which are located on a beautiful Amsterdam street. The location is perfect, only a leisurely 5 minute walk to Dam square, as well as many other areas of the city. You will not be disappointed if you stay here, it is as good as it looks on the website!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite at the front of the property as they have a gorgeous view of the street with french...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ollie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We have been completely surprised from this B&B. Previous comments were really good but you know, it's always better not to totally trust what it's told on the net, you could be disappointed. Well, not in this case.. the suite was amazing, really like a 4 star hotel (huge flat tv screen, king size bed, fully equipped bath room with cascade shower, zen style, coffee and tea machine..) and it's settled in a wonderful part of Amsterdam (5 mn walking from the center, on the border of Jordan district, the most chic and artistic one). Really satisfied of our staying, we'll be back alone or with friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Briseide22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#59 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#30 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Jordaan
Bij Tijn op de Gracht
Bij Tijn op de Gracht
#127 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Jordaan
Prinsengracht Canal House
Prinsengracht Canal House
#166 of 225 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMS Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMS Suites

Property: AMS Suites
Address: Elandsstraat 3, 1016RW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AMS Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMS Suites is an exclusive Bed & Breakfast with designer suites located in the city center. Our spacious and luxury suites are about 35sqm (400sqf). The interior is a combination of modern design and timeless authentic features. All Suites have free wifi, 42" flatscreens, Senseo coffeemakers etc. and exclusive Cocomat© beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your AMS Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ams Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing