We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, small but very elegant. Great location”
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #6 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice, small but very elegant. Great location”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

It is in the middle of everything you must see. Very clean hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PanaEn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    329
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
259
739
97
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed at Hotel Sebastian's for four nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I had a number of enquiries for the hotel prior to leaving, and their response was always very punctual and full of helpful suggestions.
On arrival we were greeted warmly by the reception staff, and shown to a really stunning room. The decor throughout the hotel is interesting, with unusual colour matches that work well to create an atmosphere of luxury.
Reception staff were outstanding, taking care of all our needs, always with a smile and a helpful, personable attitude.
The location is very convenient, close to the station (800 metres) but still in a quiet area. It is also walking distance to most of the attractions of Amsterdam, and in an area that has a number of high class restaurants close by.
An unbeatable hotel for a short break in Amsterdam, and we will return soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griff53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

All their effort went into style, which really isn't all that great. The reception area is nicely decorated and the rooms aren't terrible, but it just feels like a dressed up motel rather than a hotel.

Getting to the room (located on the first floor) was confusing. The halls are closed off with doors and the ventilation is so poor, our floor (not sure if the others did as well) smelled terrible. We held our breath until getting in the room, which thankfully did not smell as strong with the window open.

The room itself was small, but this was expected. The decor felt cheap, but was different & overall fine. Our room overlooked a tiny patio/courtyard which I believe was for the bar. Having the window open was not very private, as a few feet away were other windows starring in. This was unfortunate, because having the window open was a necessity for ventilation and making the room not so incredibly hot. Even with the window open, the room was still warm and we had to sleep with covers off and the little fan plugged in. We consistently were awaken by the smell of cigarette smoke coming through the window and couldn't do anything about it. We were congested the whole time in Amsterdam.

The location of the hotel is okay. It's not too far from the train station and close to The Pancake Bakery ;). We would have preferred a more lively location, but wasn't bad.

Overall, the hotel isn't bad, but definitely overpriced for what it is...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reneenicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

The Hotel was in an excellent location, it was clean and the staff were helpful. However I would not call this accommodation a hotel. more a bar with rooms above. It was extremely expensive for what was offered and while the room was a good size (large twin with a canal view) I do not think it was value for money. There is no air conditioning in the room so it was very warm and imagine it will be very hot in the summer months. The decor was boutique style, but not of good quality. The mattress was very soft and uncomfortable. To sum up, a very expensive bed and breakfast without the breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank penny1scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

If you love & understand boutique Hotels, then you will love Hotel Sebastian's. It is in a perfect locational overlooking a canal that leads to excellent galleries, unique shopping & small restaurants & bars. It is not for those who come to Amsterdam just to get wasted!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrKaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We thought this hotel was very cute. The decor was very interesting and different. Rooms were small, but more than fine for a few days. We really liked the location as it was within walking distance to several places we wanted to see. It was literally up the street from the Anne Frank house. We also liked that it was easy walking distance to the Red Light District, but amid the craziness. There were several places to eat nearby. Our only complaint is that we wish the hotel had a restaurant. We were told that they are in the process of establishing a restaurant which will definitely improve the stay for future visitors.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koukla0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I stayed here as a solo traveller and really liked the decor. My first night was in room 104 for €60, a single room, very small and I found it cold. The bed was comfortable but noise from the other rooms disturbed my sleep. The second night I stayed in room 121 for €90, which was lovely (in comparison) and overlooked the canal. It was ideal for one person but would have been crowded with two. However it was impossible to sleep and I probably added to others' sleep deprivation as I had to be up at 6.30am for an early flight. The shuttle bus to Schipol (€15) is great but I had to walk 10 mins to the sister hotel - Hotel Toren on my own in the dark to get it! However, I did receive a free coffee while waiting for the shuttle bus at the Hotel Toren. The location is great but I expect you can get a better sleep in Amsterdam. If only the walls and ceilings were insulated instead of being paper thin! The tea and coffee in the rooms and rituals toiletries is a nice touch. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Wifi in the room was great.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,580 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,049 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing