We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, with great service and value”
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #5 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Very good service, with small room (but comfort). Not close to the tram station, however with a beautifull canal view and very calm neiborhood. We didn't have problems with noise. The breakfast was good (10 euros). Better to take a cab to the hotel from the central station if you have a heavy luggage. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,490 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 11 April 2012

On the busy easter weekend I got the last room available in this hotel. My first impression was on the phone calling to confirm my reservation, the staff was incredibly curteous. I have become accustomed to poor customer service in the USA so it was a great surprise. The hotel is extremely close to Centraal down a quite side street right on the canal. A beautiful spot especially if you don't want to be right in with all the Coffee Shops. When I arrived the excellent customer service continued. The hotel interior was trendy and warm on the cold day we were there, with a great lounge to relax in the middle of a day of touristing. The breakfast was not great, I would probably spend my twelve euro in one of the many cafe's in Amsterdam. The room was tiny but had everything you needed, even a Nespresso machine. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was quiet. Overall, an amazing experience and my next time in Amsterdam I will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed at Hotel Sebastian for 3 nights recently - had a good stay.

Pros: Hotel Sebastian was in a perfect location; 5-10 minutes walk from Central Station, in the beautiful Nine Canal area & on the canal. The staff were super friendly & helpful. I loved being on the canal and sitting on the balcony bit in a chair watching the activity go past.

Cons: I found the beds a bit soft for my liking. The bathroom is probably more 3 star/motelish but we were hardly there and not for a luxuriate in a hotel type holiday. The decor is luxe & quite dark - maybe not everyone's taste.

Tips: Catch a train from Schipol and walk to the hotel, much cheaper than the hotel transfer bus from the airport. Lots of great food in the neighborhood. Try some Indonesian rijstafel while in town! Definitely try for a canel side room.

Room Tip: Canal side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noodlesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had visited Amsterdam several times prior to staying at Sebastian's and Sebastian's will definitely be our first choice from now on. The hotel is idealy situated on a quiet, pretty stretch of canal within easy walking distance fro the central railway station and many of the tourist attractions eg Anne Frank's House, Dam Square. It is also just a short walk to get a tram to the museum district. There is a good selection of cafes and restaurants nearby too. Our room looked out over gardens at the back of the hotel and was bigger than many central Amsterdam rooms. It was spotlessly clean and had a coffee maker which is unusual in Amsterdam and very welcome. We were particularly impressed by the young staff who were very helpful and considerate throughout our stay. Sebastian's offers a perfect location, excellent value and very friendly staff ... therefore highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSOLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We just got back from our vacation in which we spent three days in Amsterdam. We decided on Hotel Sebastian's based on reviews and location. We were not disappointed! The only negatives we were worried about was room size and noise from the canal side. I am happy to say that both concerns were unfounded. Our room, while small, was cozy and comfortable. Since it was my first time in Amsterdam I wanted a canal view. We got the medium small, and it was on the first floor. The linens, furnishings, and decor was modern, clean, fresh. The amenities in the room were great,the Nespresso machine was such a nice treat.

My husband and I were especially happy about the location, this area was quiet and a beautiful part of the city, and so close to the Anne Frank House, the Central Station, The Redlight District, and many great shopping and dining areas.

The staff at the hotel was nothing but friendly and helpful. We plan on returning to Amsterdam and definitely staying at Sebastian's!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The first thing you will notice when you enter The Sebastians will be someone on the front desk already smiling at you and of course the exotic color and decoration.
The staff are really helpful throughout the entire stay. Giving you tips of what to do and where to go.
Breakfast is really good, with a nice selection of breads,muffins, jams, cheese ,cold cuts, etc.
The location is great because you are in a short walk from the station, in front of a canal, close to nice cafes and still it is not a noisy area.
Now let's talk about the rooms, they can be a bit too small, the bathroom as well, but the shower is good, all the room furniture looks nice, new and clean.
There is a Nespresso machine in the room, with a wide selection of nespresso cofeees, including decaf and also a good selection of teas. All free of charge.
The mini bar has what we usually expect from a minibar, so, also good.
There is a good hairdryer ( hard to find good ones in a hotel) in the wardrobe and a safe.
The housekeeping ladies do not disturb you knocking on the door in the morning. They are very friendly, going to your room only when they know that you are not there and they definetely do an excellent job.
The only, but only thing I would complain about the Sebastians is the fact that there is a very thin double mattress on top of two single mattresses so when you move around the bed you can actually feel the gap in between and that is not very comfortable then you should not sleep in the middle, or you might be completely uncomfortable.
I believe they are already aware of that and might change the mattresses, at least to a thicker double one so you do not feel the gap bettween the single mattresses. Once again, this would be the only negative thing, but it can surely be fixed.
Yes you might hear noises from other rooms, but that is a risk you might take when booking any other hotel in Amsterdam. This should not stop you from booking your room there.
It is a hotel that we can really recommend!!

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more to get a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMFHMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,669 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,024 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,959 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £106 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing