We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel”
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #5 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank SuefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three or four nights in late June/early July 2012 prior to an academic conference in Utrecht, Netherlands, and loved it. I liked the boho chic ambiance, the bed was comfortable, the room was very clean, the breakfast buffet was extensive and good, and every single staff member was incredible. Knowledgeable, quick to understand whatever one might want, genuinely friendly as opposed to adopting a veneer of 'professional' friendliness: people you want to get to know. The hotel has a list of suggested restaurants, two or three of which I tried, and they were all good. The hotel is very close to Anne Frank's House, the Centraal railway station, restaurants and shopping, and it is right on a canal for canal rides. There is a wonderful Saturday farmers' market within two blocks. I liked the staff, the room and the extremely ethical owners of Hotel Sebastian's so much I feel as if I want to return to Amsterdam at my earliest opportunity. One of the very, very best places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Academic246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Situated towards the north Keizersgracht canal, the hotel (a converted canal house) has a great location: cobbled streets, canal boats, trees, in a peaceful neighbourhood yet within easy walking distance of main attractions - eg you can spend a day wandering along the canals to & from a museum or two. Friendly welcome on reception, good there's a lift, chic little bar and dining area. We had one of the small canal view rooms - retro colour scheme, & all you need: walk in wet room style shower, nespresso type coffee machine, minibar etc. Very clean, always restocked the coffee etc. Bed okay. Screens on the window for a purpose - leave them open and you are likely to get bitten by midges/mosquitos at this time of year (as I did!). Fab breakfast in the morning - loads of choice - fresh fruit & continental style croissants etc as well as cheese, salami, eggs etc. Great that breakfast available until 11 am. Staff all very charming, efficient, and ready to assist etc. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms give great atmosphere of Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittaycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Room is nice and quaint and of a reasonable size. So though caffine addict, there is a Nespresso machine within and a generous amount of capsules. Some renovations were going on though and the hacking started at about 10am on our 1st morning. We figured we'll be up by then on most days so did not make a fuss over it. Works were mainly in the basement and we were on the 3rd floor so the noise was bearable. But it was LOUD in the lobby area. Should call and check for the reno schedule if you intend to stay there over the next 1-2 months. Bút if you're up and out by 10am, don't think this will be a problem. We stayed for 4 nights and didn't find it to be an issue.

Parking along the street outside is by meter and will cost about EUR40+ per day. There is a car pickup service which charges EUR21/day which we used. There is an additional charge of EUR10 for pickup of the car at the hotel. And if you want the car during your stay, you will need to call 2 hrs in advance to arrange for the car to be 'delivered' which will cost EUR10 each time.

Location is excellent and the main shopping street is within 10mins away. Central Station is also about 10-15 mins walk away.

The decor of the hotel is really nice and funky. Breakfast is adequate and was included though we did not include it in our booking, which was a nice touch.

The person at the recep was very pleasant. Explaining to us all the attractions on a map (which he provided) when we arrived. That really helped us get around over the next 5 days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clubhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We'd checked in to our room (123) on the first floor around 6pm. The room was clean, but smelled strongly of both tobacco and marijuana. Anyway, we decided that this was perhaps a normal 'side effect' in Amsterdam, left the windows open, and went out for an evening meal. The smell was still quite bad when we returned, but we decided to try to sleep anyway – not very easy though, as the smell seemed overwhelming once we'd gone to bed, and I had difficulties breathing. Bleary-eyed after just a few hours sleep, I asked the morning receptionist whether smoking was allowed in the rooms ('it is not', she said, 'but unfortunately sometimes guests smoke anyway'). And as I told her our tale, she was horrified, and instantly promised to do everything in her power to sort the problem out for us. Which she did. We came back to the hotel in the late afternoon, and the beds had been stripped and new linen put on; and the room had been aired out properly, and seemed like a different place altogether. And our second night was a whole different, and entirely lovely experience. So we will be back! The staff is friendly and professional, the hotel is lovely, and the location is superb. We were just unfortunate that previous guests had been misbehaving... (Did I mention the breakfast? Fabulous. And a friendly barman served us Chablis at night. No complaints there either.)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulumacvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Cannot fault this hotel. When we arrived we received a free room upgrade from a small to a large room and free breakfast also.The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The location is great, about 10 mins from the Ann Frank Museum and in a not so touristy area but still very close to everything. The service was fantastic, from the girls at reception to the lady serving breakfast. Received a city map on arrival with a list of good restuarants to try in the area. Free Wifi in the rooms. Would definately recommend this hotel and stay there myself again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with my daughter. She is 24 and needed a break before returning to university. I needed a break from my life in the country. We loved the Gothic chic decor! The room was clean and comfortable and we slept well there. The area is quiet and yet close to all the things you may want to see in Amsterdam. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,727 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
575 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,399 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,890 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#20 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £114 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing