We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #6 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    315
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
245
700
90
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

decoration a bit kitsch and the room are a bit small this is for the downside but on the other hand the service is really good, the staff extremely helpful : people are smiling nice and always trying to do their best to help the customers. the location is perfect and very quiet for a very central place - i recommend it for a week end or more.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne sophie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Overall a pleasant stay. The best point of this hotel is it's great location alongside the 'Keizersgracht' canal. The whole of the inner city is within a 10-15' bike ride on one of Mac's Bikes that can be rented at the hotel reception. Didn't try the restaurant or bar so no comment there. Tasty coffee is available in the room as well as an iPhone/iPod dock, which didn't work in our room but no problem.
The downsides of the hotel are threefold in my opinion. First of all, the rooms have poor accoustic insulation. Whether the noise comes from a neighbour's conversation, their TV, guests passing in the hallway or the maid hoovering, there is no escaping the noise and it soon becomes a point of focus and frustration.
Secondly there is a smell of old dead air in the corridors and even a cigarette smell in our non-smoking room. Finally, the furnishings of the room as well as those of the hotel's public areas have a slightly worn and used look. Knife carvings in the bathroom door and flaking paint on various locations give a worn-out impression which - in combination with the tasteful dark interior - risks giving the hotel a bordello-like impression as elegantly quoted in one of the older posts.
In conclusion, recommendable but needs a breath of fresh air, in both meanings of the word.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _fr0mBelgium_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We're just back from five nights over New Year in Amsterdam and stayed at Sebastian's. The hotel wasn't cheap (about £800 for the five nights) but you'd expect a premium at New Year and the reviews on Tripadvisor were good, so we decided to go for it. What a good choice!

When we arrived, the staff at reception were very friendly and helpful, they gave us a local map and marked all the main tourist spots that we might want to see. They also recommended some restaurants and said that, if we had a particular restaurant in mind, they'd be happy to phone for a reservation. Our cases were taken upstairs and the staff member showed us into the room and went over how to operate the Nespresso coffee machine........ plenty of coffee available. We were urged to ring reception if there was anything at all they could do for us and he invited us down to the bar for a drink later (we can, of course, use the bar at any time, but it was nice nonetheless to get an invite). We had booked a smoking room and there was no ashtray - one promptly arrived.

The room was amazing. Dark, with black fringe curtains and black normal drapes that meant the room was dark in the morning so we could sleep as late as we wanted. It's boutique style so it's not the sumptuous luxury you get in five star hotels, but it doesn't market itself as five star. The coffee machine worked, the bed was very comfortable with good sheets, there was a good range of channels on the TV and the free wifi reception was excellent. The shower room was small (as stated on the website) but the shower very good. There was a nice little sitting area by the window looking over the canal view. I should perhaps say that we booked a large canal view room - the room was about the size you'd expect for a regular room in a good hotel. The hotel's website and some of the review on Tripadvisor says that some of the rooms are small and that may well be the case, but we didn't see inside any of the other rooms.

The hotel's location is very central. We'd looked at it on the map and decided to walk there from Centraal Station and it was an easy walk taking 10-15 minutes. Unless you have a lot of luggage or mobility problems, I don't think there's any need to take a taxi. It was a relatively short walk to any tourist parts where we wanted to go and didn't have to take a cab or bus anywhere. The nearest main street for food is Haarlemmerstrat - we ate there a couple of times but found the service lacking, but there are other places down side streets.

We will definitely go to this hotel next time we're in Amsterdam. We didn't need to speak to the staff very often but, when we did, they fell over themselves to help and we're sure they'd be great if there were to be any issues and/or emergencies - they were't in our faces, however, and we could come and go as we pleased without all the usual "where are you from?" and "have you been to Amsterdam before?" stuff you sometimes get. We kind of got the impression from all of the staff that they are proud of their hotel and the service they offer, and this is always a good sign.

Overall, a great hotel in a good location. It pretty much "does what it says on the tin" and then some more. We'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We had Room 119 with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Wow – what can I say, but this is the place to stay in Amsterdam. Service isn’t their middle name, it’s their first name! Nothing a problem. Friendly, helpful, informative and the place is oozing character and appeal. Stayed in a Double Canal View Room – why stay in anything else! It was ideal. Wonderful to go to sleep with lights of the canal and wake up watching the ducks on the canal. Great location, so central to cafes, shops, museums, Centraal Station - everything. This was my first trip to Amsterdam and wasn’t aware that Keizersgracht is one of the main canals. Couldn’t have picked better. They helped find me a local pool, organised a bike to hire, and catering for vegetarian gluten free not a problem at all! (they had so much food for me they would give me doggy bags to take for my lunch!). I would certainly stay at Sebastian’s again (only stay at Sebastian’s if I was in Amsterdam). My only concern is that I’m recommending it to all so getting bookings may be a challenge! It’s a small, boutique hotel. After a really bad experience at Victoria Park Plaza, I was so glad I changed hotels on my return to Amsterdam. Otherwise my experience of Amsterdam would have been coloured by the Victoria. Thank you Sebastian’s!

Room Tip: book a canal view room - worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Really good value for money. Well located in the heart of Jordaan. Good service, nice looking rooms. Recommended to take the canal view room. Helpful staff. Nice looking decorations in the hotel. Saturday Lindengracht market is a must if in the neighborhood in the weekend. Try the smoked fish or different fish-birgers or buy some excellent cheeses.

Room Tip: Canal view!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Otto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

To add on to what others have already said, the colour shades, the opulance in rooms, the beautiful chandeliers, always smiling staff - at reception and at bar.. It was indulgence galore. They have ensured that I dont check the trip advisor in my next visit to Amsterdam, as I have a permanent address. Well located, just 5 mints walk to central tram station, water taxi stations and you can use the amsterdam favourite mode of transport, the bicycle.. The break fast was fresh and sumptous. Lots of good eating joints around. Loved the italian and argentinian restaurants just 5 mints walk from the hotel. Luxury and Value for money, rarely you see these two comments together. Hotel Sebastian's deserves it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PravalUpadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing