We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky and fun”
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #5 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

With its over-the-top black and mauve color scheme and tight, quirky rooms crammed into two adjacent canal houses, Sebastian's ain't no Marriott. It's comfy and clean, and the staff is very friendly. But the best thing about Sebastian's is its location in the beautiful canal district, convenient to all of Amsterdam's main attractions. I wouldn't pick it for a long stay -- the rooms are too small and, oh, those colors! -- but it's a good choice for a visit of a day or two.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allesistschon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel based on the great reviews. Modern boutique hotel with good service and a great location! Located right on the canal, we were lucky to get a canal view room. Staff we're very helpful, and allowed us to check in earlier. Rooms are quite small, but standard in Europe. The bed is really comfortable!! Some cons- could hear talking from next door, and the bathroom is very small! For such a modern hotel, bathroom is not modern at all. Also did not like that our shower did not have a door, only a curtain, so bathroom floor would get wet. But otherwise enjoyed our stay- would definitely stay in this part of town if I returned to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneytweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stopped for two nights with partner. Had told them it was for special birthday, room was overlooking canal and prepared with cava and glasses to celebrate.
Coffee machine provided with a selection of pods, gave fantastic coffee. Although tried to use it for making tea and the water still tastes of coffee!
Room only had shower, in wet room style, but brilliant power.
Bed very comfortable, extra pillows and blankets supplied if needed.
Didn't try breakfast, 10 euros set price.
Central location, just 5mins walk to Pancake bakery, 8 to Anne franks.
No hesitation in stopping again. Beautiful place, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A wonderful hotel!
Perfect location - a canal, a quiet beautiful street of old Amsterdam, and at the same time - walking distance to Rail station, to Dam and to Red light district .
A cute friendly staff of very beautiful girls !!!
A small, but very clean and very well furnished room with a beautiful canal view .
A great hearty breakfast at a low price. Espresso machine in room - is so good !!!
I loved the warm sexy hotel design, and pictures on the ceiling and walls of the room is the best fit for an "amsterdam trip". ((((-:

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TalPasternak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I feel that this hotel provides maximum amenities and comfort for your money, espresso machine in your room, minibar, etc etc. The color scheme is either love it or hate it, our room was quite dark (black and mauve) but you know what? You instantly fall asleep in such dark color ambient and you need a good rest after walking the city!
The canal facing room is awesome because the street is really quiet, and the view could snot be better with the canal, boats, houseboats, cobblestone street, and old buildings across the canal…
Would definitely recommend and cannot wait for the chance to go back. Dining options are good in the area and at the hotel as this hotel has an option for breakfast and you can also eat during the day until 11 PM i think. You eat a lot better in this neighborhood anyway than in Dam Square or the truly tourist areas.

Room Tip: Choose canal facing rooms, a small one is enough for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was small but be were e-mailed in advance to warn us we had booked a small room, still had everything we needed. The only downside was the lift was out of service when we arrived, as we were on the 3rd floor we were offered a discount or free breakfast for our inconvenience- this was a nice touch. The bar was nice and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 834,146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,668 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,024 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,960 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £106 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing