We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location”
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #6 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The location of Sebastian's could not be better. Right on the Keizersgracht in a quiet part of the city. Just stroll out of the door into nine streets and Jordaan, find a favorite bar and immediately feel part of the neighborhood.
The hotel design is ultra cool but our room was small and dark and bathroom very basic. I think a re-design is being planned so that the comfort of the hotel will equal the location and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, all of whom were wonderful.

Room Tip: ask to see your room before you accept it - you may have to trade off canal view for spaciousness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler34236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Really liked this hotel, we had an excellent stay - there's no doubt this will be our first choice when we return to Amsterdam. Excellent location: very central, close to Central station and all the main tracks, yet on a lovely quiet canal. Felt a very safe and secure area when walking out in the evening.
Great welcome by excellent staff, very good facilities, spotlessly clean, very good bedding/towels. Room decor not to everyone's taste, dark colours and very "boutique-ey", but this is no criticism, we actually liked it in its context.
Good value for money, nothing to criticise.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room at the rear; for those seeking more of a view, a front/canal view may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We arrived at Hotel Sebastians for our anniversary at the end of our trip to Africa. It was cold and snowy but the hotel was just wonderful. Our room was very stylish and we were greeted with a special gift. The hotel was beautifully decorated and better than the pictures. Location was great as it was closer to an area in Amsterdam with lots of amazing modern restaurants, cafes and a close walk to things to do. It was good being away from the red light district but still being able to walk anywhere within 15 minutes. Food was good for breakfast at the restaurant. Everyone was so helpful, the check in staff was incredible, gave us amazing advice, helped us book reservations and knew the answer to all of our questions without a second guess. We unfortunately had our camera stolen from the airline at the airport and didnt realize it until the day we left, we were unsure where it had happened and the owners Eric and Petra Toren covered all bases, emailed us daily until we realized that it was not taken from the hotel. They were so sincere and helpful and made sure they did every investigation until we figured out what had actually happened to it. They personally emailed me and dealt with it and it was so sincere and professional, I was blown away by the level of customer service. I cannot wait to come back to Amsterdam and visit Hotel Sebastians. Simply amazing! Thank you all!

Room Tip: Go for the bigger room with canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Went for a two night stay with the husband. The hotel was easy to find and within a short walk of Central Station. Don't take a taxi to this place as you would waste your money. The hotel is in a quieter part of the city but this was great as we didn't want to be anywhere noisy.
I emailed ahead to say that we would be arriving after 9pm due to our flight and they emailed promptly to say that was okay.
When we arrived the girl at reception (didn't catch her name) was really friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room was great, fantastic bed and the en suite facilities were great too.
My husband and I couldn't fault any aspect of this hotel and if we return to Amsterdam we will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 105 - absolutely great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in a single room (110). This was the smallest room I have stayed in, however they did warn by email after I booked. They also gave me a 10% discount as they could not move me and gave me strawberries and chocolates as a welcome so cannot complain too much.
It is in a great location close to the centre but on a lovely canal.
Lots of restaurants in the area - favourite was de Belhamel.
The staff were friendly. Room was clean although they removed the shampoo and soap I was using and did not restock.
Handy safe and free wifi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Hotel Sebastian is located in the best area (for tourists) in Amsterdam. It was very close to the center and the main train station, very easy to get to the airport. The hotel it self is a bit quirky with very interesting color selection, definitely gives it some personality. Overall the rooms were clean and worth the price. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful making it really easy to make reservations for restaurants, museums, bike rentals and so on. The breakfast at the hotel was decent but of course there are so many places around it that had really really good food that it was only good because of the convenience and price. We would definitely stay here again if we went back to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a bit tight if the long side of the bed is against the wall but otherwise big eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Went to Amsterdam on business with one day to tour the city and the other two days working. Hotel in a quiet residential area but very near to shops restaurants and transport. The room was small but comfortable with a good sized shower and a nespresso machine at no extra charge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly go back there again and recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: See if you can get a larger room than I had - Room 112
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,634 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,130 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,187 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £130 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing