We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free wi-fi, good location in Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #6 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Free wi-fi, good location in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here in July 2013. The Check in staff were friendly and helpful. They asked us whether this was our first trip to Amsterdam (yes, it was), and immediately gave us a city map before we even asked, and pointed out the locations of all the attractions in Amsterdam.

The free wifi in the room had good signal. Bathroom had good quality shampoo/ shower gel & body lotion, the toilet paper was 4-ply! And they also provided shoe shine sponges (very useful). There was an espresso machine in the room (too bad we're not coffee fans).

The hotel is about 10-15 minutes walk from everywhere - the Central train station, the Dam square shopping streets, the famous red light district, the Anne Frank museum, the flower market....

You have to walk up a few short steps to get from the street level to the lobby. There is a lift from the lobby level to the rooms.

Service is great. Almost immediately after I booked a triple room via Booking.com, the hotel sent me an email asking for my preferences (3 single beds or a queen + 1 single). None of the other hotels that I booked with did this.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BernieTMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    326
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
258
734
93
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hotel Sebastian's is extremely comfortable and delightfully decorated. Our room was large and very comfortable. It overlooked lovely quiet gardens at the back. The hotel is very well situated, convenient but beautiful and peaceful. The breakfast has great choice and quality, very good value. The most impressive thing for us, however, was the uniformly wonderful staff. The receptionists, bar staff and breakfast staff are all exceptionally pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful. We stayed from 16th to 19th September 2013. Thank you for a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FELICITY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Any reviewer will note a number of compliments about this hotel on Tripadvisor and I am happy to confirm those positive comments. The hotel is well located in the city - right on a canal that is not too busy and yet close to amenities. Our room was clean and well appointed. We stayed in a canal facing room on the first floor (second floor for Americans, room 19 I think) and we were pleased we paid the extra to have a charming canal view. The black and purple decor of our room was funky.
The staff were very firendly and helpful. Not just one or two but all of the staff we met. And as we stayed 4 nights (late August 2013) we met a few. Difficulties with paying the bill with our visa travel card was met with patience and helpfulness.
The breakfast they offer is good value at 10 euro and has a good range.
My wife and I would stay there again.
Well done Hotel Sebastians!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal have charming views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjmoorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

What a lovely hotel - it may need a lick of paint in a few spots but the location is terrific, the room very comfortable, fun designs and lovely touches. Our room faced the gardens and was lovely and quiet. The surrounding area is so charming and really close to everything my wife and I walked everywhere. Their breakfast is very substantial and filling definitely a perk. Like lots of Amsterdam houses you do have to be aware that the rooms may be small never the less you are in Amsterdam and that is part of its charm after all.

Finally a big thank you to the staff really efficient friendly and helpful not only with where to go but also taught me a lot about their history was really interesting.

The location is so beautiful and definitely gives you a good taste of Amsterdam life - there is a great little restaurant around the corner too if you like us got nice weather and where we were able to sit outside and watch all the locals at night cruise around the canals in their boats - De Belhamel

Everything is walk-able and if you dare you can rent a bike.... nothing was far away aeverything we wanted to see was a the most a 20 -30 minute walk

I would definitely go back was a wonderful trip

Thank you to all the staff and the hotel for being so welcoming and making our Amsterdam experience truly memorable

Room Tip: I liked the back rooms over looking the gardens very quiet and very pretty views - I didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyxtian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed from the 18-20th September. We had a room on the ground floor which was beautiful with an extremely comfy bed, I was really surprised. The staff were really welcoming and friendly which was really nice. The location was very convenient. So i couldn't of asked for a better stay everything was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Pleasant, quiet room, near the train station and lots of top restaurants, terrific breakfast with cooked food along with the usual Dutch cheeses and meats, with attentive service. Eager front desk staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent 5 nights at Sebastian's 16-21 Sept 2013. Two things set this Hotel apart - location and staff. Sebastian's location is absolutely perfect - quiet, on one of Amsterdam's prettiest canals, very convenient for everything - top rated and local restaurants, cafes, bakeries, trams, easy walk to the Central station and the Dam, but miles from the squalor of both. Easy tram to Rijksmuseum. Perfect hideaway.

Re staff - it's customary in a review to mention one staff person as giving "exceptional" service. We were at Sebastian's for 5 days so we had contact with a large number of staff, and the chance to see through a veneer of service. But it's clear that Sebastian's views customer service and staff as one of their distinguishing characteristics. The totally charming staff dealt competently and cheerfully with all our novice requests, followed up to make sure that everything went well, went over and above printing out maps for us, nuancing our dinner requests, absolutely everything. Nothing was ever too much trouble or too stupid. They also never assumed that all 60+ American tourists wanted the same thing. Whomever we talked to always listened to what we were hoping to accomplish before formulating an answer appropriate for us.

Sebastian's had also been exceptional before our arrival with descriptions of rooms, directions, explanations about the "fully booked" nature of Amsterdam in September with a large number of conferences. The way they dealt with us during pre-booking was influential in our choice to stay there. This personalized service and candor fully carried over to our stay.

We stayed in canal rooms which were a little small, but in keeping with the fabulous location and windows that open onto the canal. I understand that the garden rooms are a little larger, but I didn't see them. It would have been necessary to drag me from my canal room. Re another reviewer's comment about noise - we never heard a sound from either adjacent room or from the street and I always sleep with the windows open even when it's chilly.

In summary, our experience indicated that Sebastian's (Hamilton Group, I believe) has an enviable staff development and training program that they care about. Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,552 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
992 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,101 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,264 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing