We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly clean, incredible area, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #5 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Arrived slightly early and the lady behind reception was more than happy to allow me to leave my bags behind the desk, so helpfull and friendly.. The room which overlooked the canal was beautiful, good A/C system, the bathroom was slightly on the small side but of no significance when compared to the presentation of the rest of the room. Very comfy bed.!!

The area in which the hotel is situated has to be one of the best for a tourist, far away from the middle of the grotty Dam area and close enough to have some of the bets coffee shops just round the corner (Barney's which has to be one of the best in Amsterdam)... Would highly recommend this place and won't be going anywhere else for future trips back to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor overlooking the canal are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilley3145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Room was very small altough the bed was. Walls were very thin.

We got a canal view room, it was so wondoerful.

Hotel employee is very friendly for all requests. And they kept out luggages until 9pm, they kept our bag of cheese in their fridge with no doubt. Room and hotel was very clean.

You can reach train station for 10-12 min, nearest tram stop is about 7-8 min.

Room Tip: Canal view room is a good choice, nice view in the morning when you get up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmirDuzay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I spent one night at Hotel Sebastian' s in late November and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. My room was a single and was small but well equipped and clean. There was a nice courtyard view out the back of the hotel and the large windows opened to let in fresh air. The staff was very friendly and nice and the breakfast was very good for 10 Euros. As others have stated, the location is terrific with a canal view out front and a quiet neighborhood with a very short walk to Amsterdam Central. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Amsterdam. My only hope is that this review doesn't result in me being unable to get a reservation for my next visit to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bamart1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We've just spent 3 nights here and had a wonderful time. The hotel has a great location -only 12 minutes walk from Centraal Station and close to lots of good bars and restaurants but in a peaceful street. Our room was at the front of the hotel but we weren't kept awake by passing traffic etc. We were warmly welcomed by very friendly and helpful reception staff to this quirkily decorated hotel. Our room (canal view) was very clean and, whilst not big, had been thoughtfully furnished so that the space was well utilised - the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds we've ever slept in. We made some use of the bar for drinks - again hosted by very friendly and helpful staff and had breakfast there as well. This is €10 per person extra which may seem a bit expensive, but there was a wide choice of quality food and seemed to us both to be a fair price. I will be recommending this hotel to friends and family and we'll definitely stay again

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank scout6624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We've just returned from a brief stay in Amsterdam and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. The location & facilities are excellent. We had booked a small double room but on arrival we were upgraded to a larger room, with a lovely canal view. The staff were very efficient and friendly. The bar food and breakfast represented good value for money. Hopefully we will be able to return for a longer stay and we would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Very well located on one of the three primary canals and walking distance to most major attractions. There are many hotels to choose from in a large city such as Amsterdam and the way in which one can distinguish itself from the rest is in the level of service provided by the staff, Hotel Sebastian's gets this and everyone there is extremely friendly and helpful. I had a cell phone issue while there and the front desk personnel went to great lengths to assist. The room decor is somewhat eclectic, mine continued the 'homage to Marilyn' from the restaurant.The in-room amenities are excellent, coffee-maker, robe, slippers and umbrella! Probably my 11th or 12 visit to this lovely city and if Sebastian's keep it up, I will certainly be back again!

Room Tip: You can't beat a canal view - isn't that why you're here?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaythfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

After reading all the reviews I settled on booked this hotel and very much hoped that it would live up to what I had read. We booked a small double and after booking we had another email from the hotel reiterating just how small the room was (At this point I was wondering how small is small) We walked to the hotel from the central station which took 10 mins and upon arrival at the hotel I was pleased. We arrived early but our room was ready, staff were courteous and the hotel was warm and welcoming. We were in room 118 and climbed the one set our stairs somewhat apprehensive to see the room. I opened the door and it was OK! yes it is smaller than your average room but as far as I'm concerned you are there to sleep. The bed was comfy, plenty of spare blankets and pillows. There was a proper coffee machine with Pods which made the morning more pleasant and the bathroom was of good size.
We had a wonderful time and whilst we didn't spend much time in the hotel, it provided us with an excellent base in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joddaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,721 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,247 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,392 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#21 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,103 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £109 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing