We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying in a fairy tale.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #5 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Like staying in a fairy tale.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Room was uniquely decorated. Hotel web site has accurate pictures, generally dark but beautiful. Staff was exceptional. Henry greeted us and treated us like there was nothing he would rather do than welcome and guide us. Breakfast was extra and we thought a little pricy. But we checked it out and it looked very substantial. Location on a canal so it was quiet, but was just a short walk to tram/train connections. Thanks to Travel Advisor reviewers for finding us this fabulous place.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room that faces the canal. We stayed in a courtyard facing room and it was just fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERKA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    315
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
247
701
91
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Fabulous boutique hotel. Outstanding staff. Could not do enough for us- so helpful. Intimate breakfasts - everything fresh and tasty.
Had room 220 - was a little small- but bigger was not available
Next visit would choose room 119.
Very central
Would stay there again on my next visit to Amsterdam

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank judon333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Hotel Sebastian's last summer! The hotel is quaint but beautiful and so very close to everything. My husband and I were able to walk to all of the attractions on our to do list: Anne Frank house, bols, Van Gogh museum, red light district, and a dinner cruise we had booked through Viator. It was a beautiful area and we felt very safe. I would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Despite great reviews of the hotel, I was a little hesitant after looking through photos and thought the interior was a bit too 'dark' for what I'd usually choose in a hotel. However my boyfriend pushed booking the room and I'm so glad he did.

It was a beautiful hotel, outside and in! Our room was more than I expected and was really clean, modern and comfortable. Breakfast was included, which we did not realise upon booking and had a wide choice of foods to start off your day.

The hotel is possibly in the best location you could ask for, with a 10 minute walk from Centraal Station to the hotel and another 10 minute walk the other way to a tram stop on Keizersgracht. Close to Anne Frank's house also if you were planning a trip there!

I'd definitely stop there again and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had one of the cheapest, small rooms but this did not lack on quality or size with a great amount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clrklly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I chose this hotel after much research and am so happy that I did.
Location: An easy walk from the Central Train Station. Situated on a picturesque canal. Easy walking distance to bars, restaurants and hop-on, hop-off canal boat tours.
Façade and Décor: Trendy façade and boutique décor with an Amsterdam twist.
Room: Immaculate, quiet, stylish and surprisingly spacious. Very comfortable bed with beautiful view of canal, especially at sunset. Small but spotless bathroom with good shower pressure. Ample space to store luggage / clothing.
Breakfast: Generous and delicious.
Hotel Staff: Professional, attentive, generous and so friendly. No request was too much!
Value for Money: Excellent.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for a room with a canal view ;-D
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, very helpful and accommodating staff, comfortable bed and good sized room for all 4 of us to fit in. Great value breakfasts too, will definitely be staying there again next time we are in Amsterdam

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Can't recommend this little gem of a hotel highly enough.

Great location and fabulous staff who couldn't help us enough

We had booked what I believe was the hotel's smallest room so we were expecting a shoebox. The room was absolutely fine with a nice view out to a courtyard

Lovely and quiet.

Breakfast was included, great coffee and plenty of Dutch cheeses and meats.

The hotel has bikes for hire - great way to spend the day

Only wish we had longer

Thanks for making our stay so great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnnMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing