We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small hotel on a beautiful canal”
Review of Hotel Sebastian's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sebastian's
Ranked #5 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small hotel on a beautiful canal”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Nice little hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, in a great location on a beautiful canal. Generous, delicious breakfasts. Rooms tend to be a bit dark to go with the atmospheric decor but I would have liked a bit more light in the bathroom. For my taste, the beds were too soft.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy_g777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    317
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
252
715
91
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had a pleasant two night stay in the triple room. The interior design is very nice but a little dark for my taste, but that is only a personal opinion, but considering we were out most of the time that was no big deal. The only downside would be that there wasnt enough wardrobe space for a triple room. Breakfast was served in the bar area, which was nice and cozy. The location was perfect, in a nice district facing the canal, within a short walking distance to the station and main areas of interest. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were happy with everything. Would definitely return again and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsonsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

In summary we loved our three night stay at Sebastian's. Some highlights included the friendly and service oriented staff. I could name many as they were all so lovely but will just mention 'Sir Henry' who saved us over 2 hours wait at the Van Gogh Museum by booking the tickets in advance and all the other little things that he and other staff did to help us enjoy our stay in Amsterdam.

Location is excellent, situated in a 17th century canal house right in front of the Keizersgracht. We chose a canal view room and enjoyed seeing the world walk/cycle/boat by. Staff are very knowledgable and will help you re tours, restaurants, museums, etc.

I noticed they described the hotel thus - "The interior design can be described as funky and jazzy. Warm and slightly dark colours set the tone throughout the property to create a unique environment with lots of character." In my opinion that is true description and that said, don't expect pristine/characterless 5 star style accommodation. This hotel is much more suited to travellers that enjoy a more intimate characterful experience with modern attributes such as good wi-fi. The hotel has a great bar where you also come for breakfast if you chose with food for most cultures and lots of nooks to sit.

We requested a couple of minor changes soon after arrival and they were resolved with speed, and a smile. They genuinely want you to have a great stay so if you need anything, ASK and don't leave issues unresolved and moan about it later on TripAdvisor - that is the worst mistake of travelling as people generally are keen to help when asked NICELY.

We found this hotel with TripAdvisor and will in turn give the constructive reviewers a 'helpful vote'.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WyseOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the triple room facing courtyard. Although in the morning can hear children's noise but its just a short while. The bed is so comfortable.. its fluffy n yet not too soft. Still thinking of the bed when i'm back in Singapore. And the room is very spacious, although the room is a little dark, I still enjoyed my stay n will always remember the lovely luxurious bed..

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holidayqueen682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is truly special. The hotel is on a charming canal (but aren't they all?) extremely close to tne Anne Frank House, Dam Square and countless shops and restaurants. Yes the rooms are small but how much time does one spend in the room while traveling? After we booked the room, I recieved a personal email from the staff ensuring I knew the room would be small. We had more than enough space for our luggage, an incredibly comfortable bed and a great size bathroom!

What makes Hotel Sebastian's special is the people--the staff is so friendly and helpful! They truly go above and beyond to ensure you're having the best experience possible. If I am ever fortunate enough to return to Amsterdam I will be staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Charming little hotel conveniently located to EVERYTHING---the Red Light District and the Anne Frank House were in close walking distance. Even the Rembrandt Museum was not that far away. The staff were nice and very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianaandGregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I and two friends stayed at the Sebastians for three nights and enjoyed a wonderful time in Amsterdam. The hotel is in a good location, the ambiance is wonderful and the staff went out of their way to assist us in any way possible. We didn't let a rather unpleasant and moody chambermaid spoil our stay, because the rest of the staff were so wonderful. Harm in particular was excellent and made the breakfast so much more enjoyable. Nothing was too much for this man and he deserves being recognized.

The rooms were a little small by our Canadian standards, but this is Europe after all. We did manage to fit everything it, but I still have bruises on my knee from squeezing into the tiny bathroom! The bar area was very cool and the breakfast was excellent. The front desk staff made many good restaurant recommendations and reservations for us. Our stay was great and we will be back one day.

Room Tip: We had a canal view room and enjoyed just watching the boats go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebastian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebastian's

Property: Hotel Sebastian's
Address: Keizersgracht 15, 1015 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sebastian's 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Keizersgracht, one of the most picturesque canals in the heart of Amsterdam, you will find Sebastian's, a contemporary three-star hotel with a unique and sophisticated design and atmosphere. Whether you are in the capital city for business or to enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Amsterdam, Sebastian's is the place to be. The location alone is worth the stay: a stone's throw from the Jordaan district, with its numerous cafés and restaurants, and Haarlemmerstraat, home to a wide variety of shops and a number of colourful Amsterdam outdoor markets. The hotel bar also boasts a unique and charming atmosphere. It is a ‘real' bar with a contemporary, trendy design and a meeting place for both young and old, who come here to enjoy a delicious cappuccino, cold beer or glass of one of the wide range of wines served. All of this can be enjoyed in a relaxed, jazzy setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sebastian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing