We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people and location”
Review of Cocomama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cocomama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Im not going to say it was a perfect stay- a few things went wrong but I ultimately the staff do everything they can to remedy issues and make guests happy. The facilities are great, WIFI right to top floor, common room with cooking facilities and free consumables like Pasta and oil etc, lovely garden. Organised Events are cool- staff always join in and some live in the hostel to so hang out with guests in the common room. Location is easy with a tram stop just down from hostel. Overall great hostel.

Room Tip: I was in traffic room 4 Person mixed- good as only one set of Bunks and 2 Singles.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Cocomama
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

To start off, I have never written review before, but I had such an amazing experience at Cocomama that I decided I had to rave about it. I stayed here while on a grant trip through Holland. I have stayed at many hostels, and you never know quite what to expect. This hostel is clean, and has great facilities. It is in a very centrally located area. The rooms are beautiful, and the wi-fi flows freely (literally). While all the basic accommodations were great, far surpassing those of most hostels, the best part of my stay was the atmosphere. The hostel leaders were friendly, knowledgeable, and willing to offer any help or advice that they could. In addition, they plan activities like pub crawls and tours of the red light district, so that people travelling alone (like I was) can get together. This is a safe hostel offering a unique and wonderful experience! Totally worth the money! I would urge anyone considering a hostel (or even a hotel) in Amsterdam to look no further!

Room Tip: The private room is nice. A bit pricier, but it has its own private bathroom and is right next to th...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

On the positive side, it was clean, the beds were comfortable, and you can pretty much live off of the free pasta/leftovers people leave in the fridge. On the negative side, the rooms are not very sound-proof and the halls are resonant so you could hear drunk people coming home at all hours of the night, they have a cat they don't mention in the booking which was a problem from an allergy standpoint, and the beds were extremely creaky. Overall it wasn't bad and it's pretty perfect for the college-student population.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmbrownrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lotje H, Owner at Cocomama, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear guest,

We are sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay. Our cat's presence is very clearly announced on our website and booking websites. Beside that, he is not allowed in guest rooms, he mostly sleeps in a corner of our living room and we offer allergy pills free of charge to anyone with allergies.
As for the noise, this is not a complaint we receive frequently but we wil happily investigate and include your comments in our next refurbishment plans.
We are curious how you came to give us a 2 star "poor" review when the conclusion of your review is "not bad, and actually pretty perfect for a college student".
We hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam regardless of the noise and cat allergies.
Kind regards,

Lotje H. & team Cocomama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Made to feel very welcome on arrival and throughout the stay by the staff. Good communal area, free coffee & tea available. We stayed in the Tulip room which was very comfortable and well equipped including Bluetooth speakers. Only downside is that it was at the front, on the street so a bit noisy with people outside in the early hours and the roadworks starting at 7am. Overall though great stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Beaujingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Simply the best hostel I have ever stayed in, yes its more expensive than most hostels but it is totally worth it.

Staff are fantastic always happy to help, Nicky, Moo and all the others

Beds are comfy, rooms are clean with a great common room and garden.

Stay here you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Cocomama is a fabulous hostel! So cosy, feels very much like home as soon as you get there. Love the unmarked entrance- they give you a key also so you can come and go as you please. It's not right in the centre of the city, but that's a good thing because Amsterdam is so small it's very easy and quick to walk everywhere anyway. It also means its a bit more chilled out too which is nice. Dorms are nice, and they often organise events for guests which are fun. Anyway, great hostel! Perfect for solo travellers and those looking to meet people.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Herenion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Description: 4 person mixed room
This was a good place to stay:
-There were clean bathrooms in the rooms, which were also clean
-Beds were made, with a large warm comforter provided
-There is a kitchen to cook food with free coffee, tea and rice at all times
-It is clean and the staff is incredible nice
-The directions on the website are excellent and made getting there from the train station easy.

Over all this was a very good hostel. There is no breakfast but there is a grocery store across the street as well as ATMs. In the common area there is a well supplied kitchen, kitchen benches, sofas and a TV. I can recommend this place, although just incase, it is brothel themed with a lot of nude pictures in the rooms and at reception. It is not too long of a walk into the city but I recommend buy a 24hour tram pass for 7.60. It works for the Metro, buses and trams and since the city is deceptively large and very windy, it is nice to be able to get on a nice warm tram and see the city in comfort while you get to where you are going.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassierh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ecomama Hotel
Ecomama Hotel
#12 of 238 in Amsterdam
266 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#8 of 238 in Amsterdam
576 reviews
ClinkNOORD
#6 of 238 in Amsterdam
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#7 of 238 in Amsterdam
821 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
CityHub
#2 of 238 in Amsterdam
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomama

Address: Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 238 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £30 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocomama 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocomama offers the best of both worlds in a super central location in Amsterdam. The luxury and comfort of a hotel and the atmosphere (and budget) of a hostel. The rooms are all Holland themed and range from private doubles to 6-bed dorms (and everything in between). You might share a bathroom in some of the dorms, but those luxurious mattresses and feather duvets are everywhere. Even more importantly, at MAMA, you're not on your own. Travel stories are shared, as is the dinner table. It's a place where you'll make friends and hang out with other international trotters alike in the private garden, living room, cinema, or cook dinner in the fully-equipped kitchen (perfect to keep costs down). And if that doesn't keep you busy enough, the staff organises tons of activities, and Joop (the adorable house cat, a.k.a. man of the house), is there to get cuddled 24/7 too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cocomama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomama Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing