We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!”
Review of Cocomama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cocomama
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at this hostel back in June 2011 for my first ever trip to Amsterdam. I was not disappointed. The staff are extremely friendly, and the feeling is very homey. The dining area downstairs provided some basics for people to use while making their breakfasts or dinners. There are areas for dining and also for hanging out. The backyard was quaint and had lots of greenery.

The one thing that really stands out about this place is the room decor! My room was apparently "lust" themed with interesting pictures hanging up everywhere if you get my drift. ;) The en suite bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. The vibe was overall very chill. I would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Stairs are very steep, be prepared to carry your luggage up and down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chapmaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    84
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
9
67
194
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A great staff and homey downstairs lounge and kitchen make for a great place to meet people and spearhead exploration of Amsterdam. Awesome location next to the best street market in Amsterdam. Overall an outstanding place to stay while visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It was awesome. Everything was awesome. Friendly staff especially Nicole, you're superb. Very nice, comfortable and clean room. Location was good! I will definitely stay here if I have a chance to visit Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fanditamyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Cocomama was hands down one of my best hostel experiences ever. The staff are friendly, helpful, and easygoing. There's something going on every night and you'll definitely meet new people either at the lovely common area downstairs or by going for hostel events (like pub crawl). I travelled solo so this point was great. If you can handle dutch bikes then renting a bike from cocomama is your best bet for transport at 5euros a day. Other rental companies in amsterdam do something like 10euros for 3hours. Nothing much going on in the neighbourhood - the Albert Cuypstraat market is very nearby and also the supermarket so very convenient for getting snacks and other supplies. The place is easily accessible by tram, although I mainly walked everywhere (20min walk to most attractions). Also the resident cat is ADORABLE!!!!

I had to move rooms once but that wasn't too much of a problem. Beds are comfortable and warm with duvets, toilets are clean, and each room is nicely done up with a theme. If you are a light sleeper try to avoid the rooms on the first floor as you can hear the front door slamming every time someone comes back and people talking at the reception in the morning etc. I slept very well except one unfortunate night when there was a guy snoring really loudly in the same room....

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank silentsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hostel is a little outside the city center, but the city center is easily accessible by tram or subway. The guests at the hostel seemed to be younger (mostly people in their 20's). The staff were really nice and helpful. I would highly recommend renting a bike from the hostel because it's cheaper to rent one at the hostel then to go to a bike shop. The 6 bedroom dorm I stayed in was a bit outdated but clean. There was a nice kitchen and common room where there was always people chilling. The hostel was right near a good grocery store. It wasn't noisy at night and I slept well.

Room Tip: Rent bikes at the hostel and save lots of money. The hostel is the cheapest place to rent a bike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I don't know what was going on in Amsterdam when we stayed but the hotel prices were through the roof! We weren't staying on a weekend either... This was recommended by a friend and somehow they got a really good deal compared to ours. So besides the price, the private room we had was on the bottom floor and smelled a little mildewy or damp or something. This room, the 'tulip room' was just alright. The bathroom fixtures seemed to be newer but the room itself seemed to be quite unkept. I didn't fit in the bed very well at 6'2" and the outside talking/smoking/chatter and door opening and closing was quite annoying. On the other hand, my girlfriend said the bed was amazing and she slept well every night. Besides the price and mediocre room, the service and attitude were superb. Every employee seemed to enjoy their work and made it a point to be friendly and informative. The community area was friendly and cozy and I loved the trust system for food and sodas and shared fridge. It reminded me of my favorite hiking hostels along the Appalachian Trail. The location was great for me as I didn't want to be right next to downtown. I highly recommend renting a bicycle and riding through downtown and to the Rijksmuseum and looking for parakeets along the canals. We were a few minute walk from a big grocery store which saved us a lot of cash in Amsterdam. Staff is great, I hear the prices are great for the hostel, we just must have come at a super busy time. Thanks again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinJash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was my first hostel experience and (like others have said) they have set the bar pretty high! From Amsterdam central, the hostel was very easy to find. Once there, I was welcomed with a smile and given plenty of info about where to go, what to do and what not to do as well. Within walking distance to the Heineken Experience and Leidseplein (pubs, restaurants, coffe shops etc). Best part about the hostel are the staff! They are always willing to help with any plans and there to chat. If there was a negative, it would be the cramped bathroom but being that it's Europe, what do you expect. I would definitely recommend staying here and I myself would stay here again. Thanks for everything Cocomama!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ecomama Hotel
Ecomama Hotel
#9 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#11 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
CityHub
#3 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
ClinkNOORD
#13 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomama

Property: Cocomama
Address: Westeinde 18, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocomama 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocomama offers the best of both worlds in a super central location in Amsterdam. The luxury and comfort of a hotel and the atmosphere (and budget) of a hostel. The rooms are all Holland themed and range from private doubles to 6-bed dorms (and everything in between). You might share a bathroom in some of the dorms, but those luxurious mattresses and feather duvets are everywhere. Even more importantly, at MAMA, you're not on your own. Travel stories are shared, as is the dinner table. It's a place where you'll make friends and hang out with other international trotters alike in the private garden, living room, cinema, or cook dinner in the fully-equipped kitchen (perfect to keep costs down). And if that doesn't keep you busy enough, the staff organises tons of activities, and Joop (the adorable house cat, a.k.a. man of the house), is there to get cuddled 24/7 too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cocomama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocomama Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing