We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty,expensive and tiny rooms. Only stay here if you need a place to sleep after a night out.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo
Ranked #197 of 241 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We found the location to be the only positive. It's close to a tram line and restaurants surrounding the area. As for the hostel.. We stayed here for 3 nights and I only showered once as the shared toilet and shower were dirty. Our twin room fitted a bunk bed, a sink and room for 1 bag. It was the most expensive place we have stayed at ( only place available at the time which was cheapest in Amsterdam.) & easily the worst we have stayed in. Also because it is in a busy area there is alot of street noise which became quiet about 4am.I only recommend this place if you need a place to sleep after a night out. That is all..

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missbex89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

The good: location (right next to great food and nightlife), staff was very friendly, free wifi with chill vibe. The bad: Showers were disgusting with poor water pressure, lack of plugs in room, small room (I stayed in the six bed room), no lockers. For Amsterdam, this place was good but would not spend more than a few nights here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vegabond82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Went with friends and had a room with private toilet. Had to sit sideways on toilet as there was no room. Only one light worked, as for more bulbs they never came. Breakfast is a joke. Bread and jam. Expensive for what it is. Great location though and staff were friendly enough.

Room Tip: wifi only works in lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I was with a friend and we arrived directly from UK. It was quit expensive for a hostel but in a good location. We had to share the toilets and the bathroom:
The toilets are tiny and stunk a lot... Our room was tiny as well. The breakfast was really really really basic... at least it was included. One of the employee was nice but the other guys were weird.
Next time I will check the reviews on tripadvisor !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy_G156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The stay was tolerable, that is all you can really ask for in a hostel, just somewhere to put your head for the night. We stayed in a twin private room with a shared toilet and shared bathroom. The toilet stunk but the shower was clean. The rooms are tiny but it didn't really bother us. We got to use the kitchen which saved us money because we didn't have to eat out. If you do want to eat out the area is surrounded by streets of restaurants with loads of different choices of cuisine, most seem quite cheap. For example, on the first night we were there we went to an Italian that were offering pizzas for 5 euro. The hostel was a bit overpriced but we did only book two weeks in advance. All in all it wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouTick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I didn't like this hostel at all. The building is tumbledown and dirty. The room where I stayed is very small and the tiny toilet is horrible. The breakfast buffet has little food and the quality is not good. The one good thing about this hostel is its position. However, I advise you not to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisender1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We're 3 students arriving from UK around 9am, however they refused for us to go into our rooms as the earliest check ins are at 1pm. that wasn't very helpful as all we wanted to do was have a shower and get fresh after a flight and waking up at 3 in the morning!

Finally we got into our rooms... or dorms, or prison cells mind you! We were also on the 4th floor so carrying our suitcases up the stairs was hell! NO ESCALATORS. there was a shower in our room but it wasn't covered or anything, i was with 2 other guys how are we meant to use that anyway!? ... it also wasn't working, only cold water. not surprised.

toilet stank of pee and larger
shower is small but at least the water is hot however they did not have a shower on our floor (4th) so that means 4th and 3rd floor had to share ONE shower. you can imagine how busy it gets in the mornings or evenings.

In addition, the staff refused for me to use the laundry drier in the open kitchen. I washed my laundry the previous night and had a flight the next morning however my clothes are not dried. I literally begged and even asked if i could speak to the manager. but he still refused so i'm left with super heavy wet clothes to take on my flight. ABSOLUTELY RUTHLESS!
the laundry services were in the open kitchen with washing powder etc, so it only seems logical it is for use.

Location wise, yes, trust the reviews it is pretty central however, still a pretty far walk from any landmarks, museums etc.

It was honestly the worst 3 nights i had.
most expensive hostel in amsterdam, probably the worst one too.
rooms were dirty, hardly any space to move.
one shower shared between roughly 20 people.
breakfast i'd rather not have.
rude staff.

NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: don't choose any rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
#204 of 241 in Amsterdam
178 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#181 of 241 in Amsterdam
399 reviews
Via Amsterdam
#76 of 241 in Amsterdam
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#12 of 241 in Amsterdam
618 reviews
A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
#46 of 241 in Amsterdam
646 reviews
Jordaan
International Budget Hostel
International Budget Hostel
#171 of 241 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Address: Leidsekruisstraat 12-14, 1017 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 241 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £21 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for suitable budget accommodation? Then Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo is the right place for you. Your stay in Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo will surely be something to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing