We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“advisable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo
Ranked #192 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    39
    66
    46
    63
See reviews for
5
23
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This place is dirty, ugly, loud and uncomfortable from a to z.
On top of all of that, they charged much more expensive due to a mistake on their website.
It's a SCAM!!!
Bad karma to these people!
seriously...
We found puke in the showers and hair everywhere
seriously...stay away from here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I really enjoyed the hostel and common areas but the bedroom and bathroom are horrible. The staff is kind and will always help you. The location is excelent, near the bulldog, anne frank museum and iamsterdam letters.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tayane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Nice place, a lot of character right in the middle of all the action! A beautiful canal and Bourbon Street blues bar just to the left, and Leidsepleine all around. The best collection of nightlife in Amsterdam is right outside the door.

The reception room is a blast too, as a matter of fact the whole street is like an old Western set.

Access to most of the best and most famous clubs in Amsterdam: Sugar Factory, Up/Kring, Melkweig, Chicago Social, Be-At, Hard Rock, Paradiso on and on.

In the day time, Vondel Park, the Rijks Museum, and Museum Pleine (Museum Square, where most of Amsterdam's museums are situated) are all minutes away by foot.

This place cuts out most of your walking and searching, all you have to do is reach the hostel. Everybody knows where it is, as Leidsepleine is probably the most well-known and exclusive area in Amsterdam.

The rooms are cleaned well every day and stay as nice as you keep them. Staff will help you with maps and tips, and they keep fresh hot coffee ready for free, not to mention a light breakfast every morning also free.

This hostel frees you up to just do what you wanted to do when you came to Amsterdam: get around easily and have fun. As far as location, Leidsepleine is definitely da best!

Room Tip: If you sleep at night, ask for a quieter room. If you sleep in the morning, don't. Then you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltrain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hostel is strategically located and cheap EUR10 per night, the best selling point. It has very narrow staircase so, those with huge backpacks, beware. Very tiny toilet and bathroom for sharing (EUR10 per night, nothing to expect). The bed was rather dirty and you are expected to climb up the bunk bed without any staircase. So, when the person sleeping the lower deck ain't friendly, you may face some issue every time climbing up and down.

Breakfast that was included were bread, jam and some coffee and tea. WiFi is limited to the reception and dining area only.

If you are on tight budget, this may be a choice but other than that, research on other hostels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hostel was very cheap, and eventually that is all we needed as a group of students. Although I think some lockers for your stuff can help alot. In the end we were there just to crash after long days of walking around in amsterdam. The location is very good, probably the best point of this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeyeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I didn't look up reviews before going, and once I stepped in the stairways of the hostel, I had the illusion I was in a third world country. And I have been in much nicer and cleaner hostels in the global south than this one.
This hostel smelled really bad, very dirty, and there is only one toilet and one shower for 16 beds (for the non-ensuite rooms). It was significantly overpriced, 40 euros for one night. They only accept cash, and do not give any refund once you checked in. I honestly don't know where that money is spent to maintain the hostel, except the staff using the cash in the pubs across the street.
It is located very near pubs, so every time someone steps in or out the pubs across the street, you can hear the very loud music. I didn't get any sleep at all.
The free breakfast is only toast, jam and coffee. The staff do not care about travelers, as long as they have the money in their pockets.
I honestly have never been to a hostel so bad. Complete waste of money. Why would you pay 40 euros per night for no sleep, a dirty toilet and shower sharing with 16 beds?
I was attending a conference for this trip, and because I got no sleep, I wasn't able to attend the whole conference either. This hostel completely ruined my trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueowl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
#197 of 229 in Amsterdam
173 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel
#180 of 229 in Amsterdam
414 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#9 of 229 in Amsterdam
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#174 of 229 in Amsterdam
386 reviews
Jordaan
International Budget Hostel
International Budget Hostel
#151 of 229 in Amsterdam
201 reviews
Dutchies Hostel
#36 of 229 in Amsterdam
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Property: Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo
Address: Leidsekruisstraat 12-14, 1017 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for suitable budget accommodation? Then Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo is the right place for you. Your stay in Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo will surely be something to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing