We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ITS A TRAP!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo
Ranked #202 of 254 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Out of pure desperation as all other hostels were seemingly booked at the time, myself and two other friends chose to stay at Hostel Orfeo during our 4 night duration stay in Amsterdam. It is not worth the amount of money you pay by any means! If you want better accommodations, there is an outdoor park nearby in walking distance called Vondelpark, seriously, go there, I had a more comfortable sleep under a tree hungover than I did in the bunk beds in this hostel. Granted, Hostel Orfeo is in prime location, but that is literally the one and only positive aspect I have to offer on this hostel. However, the hostel itself is very easy to miss at it appears conspicuous with its lack of sign from the outside. They claim to have Free WiFi and that is just bogus as the only WiFi signal I was able to pick up was out on our small outside deck out of our room (that you had access to by climbing out of the window, convenience at its finest) and it wasn't even the hostel's WiFi network, it was from a nearby restaurant. If you enjoy sleeping on rusted out bunkbeds and having pull strings to flush toilets Hostel Orfeo is the destination for you! I seriously pity anyone who is overweight or is confined to a wheel chair as there are winding stair cases, no elevator, the rooms are very compact and the bathroom is smaller than that of an airplane bathroom. I really have to hand it to the designers of the hostel though, the graffiti and wall scratching's everywhere is really a nice decorative touch (sarcasm). Anyone from the street had access to our hostel so if that allows you to sleep at night then I encourage you to fill your boots. The staff at the front desk were completely clueless, I had requested directions to the nearest café where I could purchase a crepe and it took one staff member 30 minutes to locate it on Google Maps, while he rolled a joint. If you enjoy smelling feces 24/7, watching other travelers trip out in the common area on the main floor then please, I highly recommend Hostel Orfeo for all of your backpacking needs (or lack thereof). Also, since when does peanut butter and jelly sandwiches constitute as breakfast? This place is a rip off, homeless people live better than anyone staying in this hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank V. S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This place is dirty, ugly, loud and uncomfortable from a to z.
On top of all of that, they charged much more expensive due to a mistake on their website.
It's a SCAM!!!
Bad karma to these people!
seriously...
We found puke in the showers and hair everywhere
seriously...stay away from here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I really enjoyed the hostel and common areas but the bedroom and bathroom are horrible. The staff is kind and will always help you. The location is excelent, near the bulldog, anne frank museum and iamsterdam letters.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tayane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Nice place, a lot of character right in the middle of all the action! A beautiful canal and Bourbon Street blues bar just to the left, and Leidsepleine all around. The best collection of nightlife in Amsterdam is right outside the door.

The reception room is a blast too, as a matter of fact the whole street is like an old Western set.

Access to most of the best and most famous clubs in Amsterdam: Sugar Factory, Up/Kring, Melkweig, Chicago Social, Be-At, Hard Rock, Paradiso on and on.

In the day time, Vondel Park, the Rijks Museum, and Museum Pleine (Museum Square, where most of Amsterdam's museums are situated) are all minutes away by foot.

This place cuts out most of your walking and searching, all you have to do is reach the hostel. Everybody knows where it is, as Leidsepleine is probably the most well-known and exclusive area in Amsterdam.

The rooms are cleaned well every day and stay as nice as you keep them. Staff will help you with maps and tips, and they keep fresh hot coffee ready for free, not to mention a light breakfast every morning also free.

This hostel frees you up to just do what you wanted to do when you came to Amsterdam: get around easily and have fun. As far as location, Leidsepleine is definitely da best!

Room Tip: If you sleep at night, ask for a quieter room. If you sleep in the morning, don't. Then you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltrain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hostel is strategically located and cheap EUR10 per night, the best selling point. It has very narrow staircase so, those with huge backpacks, beware. Very tiny toilet and bathroom for sharing (EUR10 per night, nothing to expect). The bed was rather dirty and you are expected to climb up the bunk bed without any staircase. So, when the person sleeping the lower deck ain't friendly, you may face some issue every time climbing up and down.

Breakfast that was included were bread, jam and some coffee and tea. WiFi is limited to the reception and dining area only.

If you are on tight budget, this may be a choice but other than that, research on other hostels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hostel was very cheap, and eventually that is all we needed as a group of students. Although I think some lockers for your stuff can help alot. In the end we were there just to crash after long days of walking around in amsterdam. The location is very good, probably the best point of this hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmeyeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
#209 of 254 in Amsterdam
178 reviews
Jordaan
International Budget Hostel
International Budget Hostel
#180 of 254 in Amsterdam
220 reviews
ClinkNOORD
#7 of 254 in Amsterdam
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Via Amsterdam
#43 of 254 in Amsterdam
51 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#189 of 254 in Amsterdam
411 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel
#194 of 254 in Amsterdam
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo

Address: Leidsekruisstraat 12-14, 1017 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 254 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £24 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for suitable budget accommodation? Then Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo is the right place for you. Your stay in Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo will surely be something to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hostel Orfeo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing