We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but pleasant”
Review of ITC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ITC Hotel
Ranked #270 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Basic but pleasant”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Arrived early on day i booked to arrive and was able to go straight to my room which was clean and pleasant though small. The shower was broken but usable and adequate, the sheets and towels were change every day of my 4 day stay. The staff were pleasant and helpful with getting to know the area, the hotel is situated very close to night life / entertainment area of Rembrandt Square but at the same time secluded and peaceful to relax. The hotel is also situated at the canal side with bars next door..........So small but adequate is my review...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relaxaway9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    162
    160
    73
    99
See reviews for
48
167
109
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This is the second time I've stayed at the ITC in Amsterdam. First time was over 23 years ago. I had the top floor attic room facing the canal. The room was basic and very small but pleasant enough if you didn't want to spend much time in your room. The shared bathroom / toilets were clean with plenty of hot water. My TV wasn't tuned in but I wasn't bothered about that. Watch the vending machine on the first floor as it doesn't give change, or my drink on one occasion (hotel staff kindly sorted that out). The location was amazing and near to the major sites. I walked everywhere not needing public transport once!
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful (especially Justyna and Michael on the front desks, who went out of their way to answer questions).
This was the cheapest hotel I could find for my budget. However I've been told Amsterdam is now really expensive . Which is a pity as I would love to return again one day but £70 per night in any hotel seems too much!!!!
I enjoyed my stay and yes I would return to ITC (depending on lottery winnings ) . It's basic 2** affair but if you only use the hotel as a base to sleep its fine.
Enjoy the steep staircase!

Room Tip: rooms facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radioorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Location: good
Staff:good
Rooms: tiny, like a cell; no shower and a toilet in the room
Price: too high for such hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regina_seliverstova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Bern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The guy at the reception was a bit confused, didnt know which room he wanted to give me and mostly starred in his monitor without saying anything. When he finally found out, we had to change the building, walk past the abandoned reception of a former hotel (?) and there we were. Lets say, the beds were ok, it was quiet, the warm water was really hot, for the rest check the pics!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uelij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Well located...you have the view of the canal from some rooms. Steep stairs are also okay. Heating is not very good, if you are travelling in winter. Little uncomfortable but okay.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sayantan_Ghati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

My wife and I stayed in the room with a private bathroom, so our expirence differs from some others. The room was tidy, but very small. The bathroom was rather dissapointing due to the fact that you had to walk through the shower to get to the toilet! The bathroom door was actually a bi-fold, slatted closet door, which made flooding the room with every shower a possibility. The stairs outside our room were creaky and every time some walked them we heard it. The location was fine, as it was close to Rembrandtplein and a couple of blocks from the tram. The staff were always polite, and eager to please. The price was low by AMS standards especially since we were in a private room.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treyjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This hotel is very basic, but an excellent value for Amsterdam for those who are looking for a clean affordable place to stay . Our room was very small, without much of a view, but it was squeeky clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is in a charming location in the southern canal ring and there are many cozy pubs and good restaurants nearby, and also it is near the tramline. The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. I would recommend it for those who have somewhat limited funds and would rather spend them enjoying the city than on a posh hotel room. It would not suit all,especially if you cannot climb stairs, but was just what we expected and needed.

Room Tip: Request a 2nd or 3rd floor room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liketogo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#304 of 367 in Amsterdam
641 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#295 of 367 in Amsterdam
471 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#299 of 367 in Amsterdam
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#323 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 367 in Amsterdam
206 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#269 of 367 in Amsterdam
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Hotel

Property: ITC Hotel
Address: Princegracht 1051, 1017 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ITC Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ITC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing