We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Anco”
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anco Hotel
Ranked #180 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My name is mo I stayed at Anco's for 2 nights The new Management are very nice and friendly they know how to make you feel welcome the guest are also friendy
meet a few friends. Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moesvipmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

Had the pleasure of staying twice during my recent holiday to Amsterdam & Belgium. Within a few hours of arriving I was on a private canal tour with a great bunch of guests & Dave is a wonderful guide. The morning breakfasts are a great start to the day & a nice way to meet others. Location is central for venturing out & easy to find your way around from. Great people, place & price. Happy to recommend & return again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sxthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I had three great days staying at the Anco. Having read earlier reviews, I know what the reported problems with staff ' attitude' is. Actually, there is no problem, it is just a Dutch form of humor. Part sarcasm, part dry humor. Just play along and you will find the team here are great fun. Especially in the morning when the breakfast guy slams down you eggs! Look carefully and you will see a sly smile.

I went on the boat cruise that the Anco run on their small boat. Excellent value and a great experience.

The room was clean and the bathrooms serviced regularly. If you are looking for 'extra fun' you can find it with other guests although it is not too obvious (no orgies in the corridors). If you want to be left alone then that is easy too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

if you want to get an idea of their lousy service, just phone them and try to book a room. It'll give you a flavour of what to expect when you get there. I guess there are obvious reasons why gay men would want to go here, but that means the rude staff don't have to try. Be great if they got proper competition, hope some aspiring entrepreneur gives them some, it's needed. Should have followed my instinct. Avoid.

Room Tip: choice of noise or no view. no view is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Blimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The Anco Hotel is conveniently located, clean, comfortable, and owned and managed by two very pleasant, friendly, and helpful gentlemen. The entire staff was friendly and helpful and always provided personalized service. The breakfast was delicious with a variety of choices. Our next trip to Amsterdam will definitely find us staying at the Anco!

Room Tip: We had the studio with an ensuite bath and kitchenette. It was a very large room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crafty69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Male only, super clean, can't get any more central, professional staff and service. Fabulous quality and service for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheocheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a male only hotel, but very clean and delightful full breakfast made to order included, short walk to all gay life, bars and clubs, right on a canal, rooms very nice, and did i say clean and felt very safe there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#65 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,064 reviews
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 374 in Amsterdam
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#170 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,557 reviews
Amadi Panorama Hotel
#136 of 374 in Amsterdam
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Address: O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £38 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing