We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel contributed to a great few days.”
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anco Hotel
Ranked #181 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel contributed to a great few days.”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Ended up at the Anco hotel after originally booking a hostel and not liking the look of it. The Anco was great for us as a gay couple. The staff were so friendly and helpful. They were knowledgable about the local area and able to recommend some great bars and places to eat. Would recommend. There were also a couple of straight couples there too who seemed to enjoy the friendliness and unpretentiousness of the place. Great location. A little noisy, but to be expected for the location. The after hours basement door is great fun after a few drinks :-).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    66
    15
    9
    6
See reviews for
6
48
75
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is located directly in Red Light Disctrict. So around are all the coffeshops, bars, etc. So the busy and "living" area. Anco Hotel is a gay hotel, but hetero guests are welcome as well. We had studio room with own bathroom. The other rooms are sharing bathroom on the corridor. Our room was very nice and clean.
The studio room has the windows into the busy street. So dont expect quit nights :-) But still, its not that bad. And if you come after the party back to the room, it just doesnt matter :)
In the room price is the breakfast included. The Staff of the hotel, the owners, been very nice and friendly. I can only recomend this hotel to everyone. Gays will feel very good and the heteros as well.

Room Tip: I would recomend to choose studio, as you will have your own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrikCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed five nights in this hotel that is centrally located in Amsterdam, within walking distance to Central Station and many of the key sights. The room was clean as were the shared bathroom and shower. The continental breakfast was quite good. Yes, it is noisy, but that obviously is a function of the hotel's location and not an issue with the hotel itself. Their price offers a very good value in that part of the city. Karl and the rest of the staff were very friendly and accommodating and made our stay one to remember.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling_Boomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisy9700
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

i stayed in the shared accomdation...4 beds in a large room.all very clean as were the shared wc and showers.its not perfect but for the price(including a good breakfast) you cant complain.very friendly staff

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy9700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The location is perfect. you are set right in the middle of the city so getting around is easy. The room i stayed in had a view of the canal but necessarily did not come as a joyous experience because of all the noises but still at least they had a view. Price is affordable and the rooms are nice. service is good as well. so pretty much everything i required out of stay was included in here so i was pretty happy with the stay at the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Pros: Excellent Location, staff is very friendly and speak good english, room was clean and decent size for 2 people, decent wifi.

Cons: Shared bathroom, can get noisy (but hey its Amsterdam), room was a little dusty but for the most part pretty clean.

This place was the first stop on our 8 week Euro-Trip. We stayed here for 3 nights. It is in the center of the red light district so it can get noisy at night, but there are tons of bars and shops a few steps away. The staff was great and very helpful. They also had some good suggestions for places to eat/bars to go, etc. Our room wasn't the biggest I've stayed in but it wasn't tiny and cramped either. All-in-all, not the fanciest hotel but it worked for a place to keep your stuff and sleep. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very cute and charming hotel, in the middle of Amsterdam (you can easily walk to the central station). The staff was really nice and helpful. We (3 girls) stayed there 4 nights, affordable prices and although the shower was shared, it was very clean. Breakfast was nice too :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,294 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#317 of 368 in Amsterdam
656 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#67 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
#195 of 368 in Amsterdam
426 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#231 of 368 in Amsterdam
128 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
#241 of 368 in Amsterdam
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Property: Anco Hotel
Address: O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing