We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff. Room was just ok. Quite...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anco Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anco Hotel
Ranked #172 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great staff. Room was just ok. Quite...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

Great staff. Room was just ok. Quite noisy part of town. Location is convenient to all including central station. A nice breakfast is included.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmhinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    65
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
5
47
72
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver,BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Third visit to Amsterdam and it was our first stay at The Anco. From beginning to end it was a wonderful experience. Everyone who works at The Anco is very friendly and helpful and it made our 4 day stay in Amsterdam very enjoyable.
We stayed in the studio, room 14. Our room had a lovely view of the canal. It was spacious, modern and very clean and had a small kitchen. There was coffee and tea provided.
Also included is a breakfast in the lobby which was very good.
Next time we are visiting Amsterdam we would want stay at The Anco for sure.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vann-mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

I have stayed at the Anco 7 or 8 times. I go back because of the ambience, friendliness, and relaxed atmosphere. The staff has always treated me very well. I have met some really nice men here. I hope the small inner courtyard is still painted yellow because on a grey day, those walls made it feel sunny. The gentleman from Los Angeles who complained about the ladder/stairs of Amsterdam reminded me of some of the Los Angeles tourists who come to San Francisco and complain about the hills. The Anco is a 5 minute walk from Central Station, and convenient to bars, cafes, beautiful walks.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pete2285
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

This hotel is right in the red light area so can be a bit noisy but has the advantage that everything is at your doorstep. The rooms are very basic but adequate - the all-day movies were a bonus! The stairs to the top floor were a killer but that is expected in Amsterdam. Breakfast was casual and filling, very pleasant. Staff were helpful but allowed you to have your privacy. If you are a light sleeper, take ear plugs or ask for a room at the back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pete2285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

This hotel is perfect for singles or couples that need a simple crashpad from which to explore all that Amsterdam has to offer.

3 of 5 points

Bed: 0 points - The very soft foam mattress, along with hard wood boards underneath was very hard on my back. Single rooms provided only a small twin bed.

Bathroom: 1/2 point - Bathrooms and showers are shared on each floor with 3-4 other rooms. Still, the bathrooms are spacious, immaculately clean, and there's plenty of hot water. Also, each room comes with a sink en suite.

Service: 1 point - Simple but efficient. Free and consistent high speed wifi. The owner of this small hotel personally checks each person in and out. The daily breakfast (which is open until 11.30am) is delicious, and the owner will fry you an egg if you ask. I paid 65 Euro/night for a single. The owner upgraded me to a double for free because I was a return customer.

Location: 1 point - 5 minute walk from Central Station. Couldn't ask for better.

Environment: 1/2 point - The rooms are basic but comfortable. Hallways are narrow as are the staircases. It can be very noisy at night. Some rooms are a 3rd floor walk up. However, this 18th century Dutch is charming, and front rooms look out over a beautiful canal.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowdyCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

When I arrived at this hotel, I knocked on the door and said, "hello there , I have a reservation" . My reply in an very off handed and VERY unfriendly manner was "oh really " ! I thought it was a wind up ! The room was damp and the bed linen looked unclean and smelt very damp, ESPECIALLY the pillow case which smelt disgusting, damp and i'm POSITIVE it hadnt been changed since the last guest as I could smell an unclean odour on it ! So much that I didnt want to rest my head on it and had to spray it all over with deodrant ! The next day, I thought perhaps I was just unlucky with the male staff who was on duty (re: the most "unwelcome" welcome at a hoteI I have ever had after travelling the world, but to my surprise the person on breakfast duty was SO rude, ignorant and off hand, I thought it must be a set up and that jeremy beadle was going to jump out from behind me ! It was like I was being given the "silent" treatment and made to feel like I shouldnt be there ! (B.t.w. I am the most fiendly and polite person you could wish to meet I can assure you! ) APART from this, the location was perfect for the gay scene (2 mins walk) and amsterdam and the rest off the duch people were wonderful ! WHY OH WHY can a hotel like this not know that the fundamental basics are to show even just a LITTLE bit of good manners and be a little bit sociable to its paying guests ? After all they are PAYING to stay there !! Still full of disbelief !!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

The Anco is a basic value gay tourist hotel. the location is excellent for the cruisy gay nighlife.

The room we stayed in was small, clean and basic with shared toilet and shower, which were kept clean and we never had to wait for. The room was to the front of hte building which overlooks the canal and a charming church with regular chimes which seem to stop after about 11pm. There was some street noise from hte bars across the canal.

The clientele seemed to be regular guests and were friendly enough at breakfast which was a perfectly adequate buffet affair which ran until 11.30.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wapping1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#233 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#250 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
#255 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#244 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
misc eatdrinksleep
misc eatdrinksleep
#11 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Hotel

Property: Anco Hotel
Address: O.Z.Voorburgwal 55, 1012 EJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing