We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with the best staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Larende
Ranked #38 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The location is not central, but good enough. The room was small, but with a good, modern and very clean bathroom. Breakfast (included) was very good as well. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and we really enjoyed it, but the greatest thing about this hotel, is their staff, starting with the manager and his son. I recommend it!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5331Monica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Nice hotel and fantastic staff !!!
The 3. time at Larende. Hotel is clean and good, but the most important : The staff is fantastic ! Really deserve 5 stars !!!
Breakfast is good and they really do everything to fulfill your wishes

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Livbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The location is not really central. Tram stop right outside, route only a few minutes away from the center. Nice hotel in great location - just a 20minute walk to the centre, very modern, very clean, bed is comfortable. The breakfast was nice.The staff was very friendly. Super, we were very satisfied.
Also very tasty food in local restaurant.
The hotel was great in all respects.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Restaurant Larende for 3 nights when we visited Amsterdam for a long weekend. The hotel is a bit of a distance from the center of town but as others have mentioned there is a tram stop nearby (see hints below) and it is also not too far to walk to many of the attractions. (see hints below).
We arrived looking a bit ragged having got on the wrong train at the station and having a slight detour into South Amsterdam, but Murat immediately offered us a free beer which went down very well.
The room was quite small and had one or two small maintenance issues (which is why I haven't given it a 5 star rating) but it was lovely and clean. The room had obviously been updated fairly recently with laminated floor and new decor, and a huge and comfy, if somewhat firm, bed. The bathroom was lovely, with a fantastic 'wetroom' type shower.(And the towels werent all 'crunchy' like many English hotels)
We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but the breakfast was good with all the usual 'continental' assortments (how do you eat cheese and tomato rolls for breakfast!!!!)
Without doubt the best thing about this hotel are the staff. Murat and all of the others we spoke to were friendly and couldn't do enough to help us, from detailed descriptions of where to buy the best cheese to offering us tickets for every attraction under the sun, but not being pushy about it.
If / when we go back to Amsterdam i would definitely consider returning to The Hotel Restaurant Larende.
Hints for getting the best out of Amsterdam:
Where possible buy your tickets on line before you go, or buy them in advance at the hotel or one of the ticket shops. ( Even at 9:30 on a Friday the queue for Ann Frank's House was well over 200m long and I estimate about 2 hours. Like wise the Van Gogh Museum. We walked straight to the front of the queue at both attractions with pre-bought tickets.
Buy a tram ticket at the airport from the 'I amsterdam' office. its easy to spot as its between the arrivals area and the station.
Buy a canal cruise ticket. Its a great way to get around and see all the sights
Hire a bike to be like a local

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bekim_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Service is superb, kitchen (breakfast and dinner) is excellent. Murat and his son take a personal interest to make your stay is comfortable and at home. Housekeeping is excellent too. We stayed here for a week whilst visiting our daughter here. We previewed a few hotels and found Larende to be extremely helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front where we stayed overlooked the street and allowed us to people watch from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The location is not really central, but there is a tram stop almost in front of the hotel that can drop you in town center in 5 minutes. The room was modern, big and very clean. Even in front of a street that can have some traffic, the room was quiet. The breakfast was fairly good with croissants, orange juice, bread , several type of cheeses and ham.

Detail: the large bed was made of two small beds joined together and due to the difference between mattresses, the whole large bed was "unbalanced".

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alberto_eme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#46 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 374 in Amsterdam
895 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#25 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#12 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,253 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,881 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 374 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Larende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Larende

Address: De Clercqstraat 115, 1053 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £82 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Larende 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larende is a designer hotel with free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour front desk, only a 20 minute walk from Dam Square. It has a restaurant and soundproof rooms with boutique-style décor. Guests at Hotel Restaurant Larende have rooms with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. Some of the rooms also include a balcony. Restaurant Larende serves international cuisine in the intimate dining room which features modern décor. The restaurant specializes in pizza. A continental breakfast is served daily. The E. Wolffstraat tram stop is only 65 ft away, serviced by lines 12, 13, and 14. The Anne Frank House is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Dam Square, featuring the Royal Palace and Madame Tussauds, is one mile from Larende Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Larende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing