We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Restaurant Habsburg
Ranked #3,126 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Description: Telephone is 020-62 33 127
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is the second time I have visited, the last time being in March 2012. It's a good stop off where, if the weather is good, you can sit outside and watch the canal boats, the bikes and the traffic. The service and food is good and nicely presented and plentiful - we ordered some chips to share and couldn't finish them as there were so many. The omelette with spinach and feta is delicious and if you get a coffee, it comes with a 'lick' of coffee liqueur topped off with a huge blob of whipped cream. The final touch is a tiny pair of pottery clogs when you pay the bill!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Songara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Cuisine; One Women Show”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We were walking the streets of Amsterdam, cold bitter February night looking for restaurant to eat at (3 of us on business, did not want table-cloth fancy or too fast food-ish). After pre-viewing a few restaurants that were too formal for us; we walked by a very small interesting restaurant of only 6 tables, could see through glass windows, looking down into lower level from sidewalk. This seemed suspicious (only 6 tables in whole restaurant), but it turns out they have a whole upstairs (hidden from street view) and during Summer have across the street outdoor cafe (so really bigger then this 6 table offering during cold Feb winter night. We checked out the menu, and it looked interesting with many local dishes. And sure enough, when we sat down, we could tell that the other customers at the other tables were "regular locals".
I cannot now recall what exactly we ordered (food) but it was all great; good portions, and hit the spot perfectly, the three of us were very happy we discovered this restaurant. But as the dinner progressed, the solo women cook / owner interfaced with us more and more, as she serviced us along with one other waiter. It turns out she was the owner, and a one handed "hands on" manager. You could tell she had been cooking these specialties for many years. By the end of the dinner, we were having a 20 minute "one to one" conversation with her about Netherlands politics, "younger generation" work ethics, and many other cultural aspects. She even ended up bringing us dessert fro free (we did not ask for it, but she insisted) and some miniature wooden clog tricket / souveneir ..... all just little nice touches that complete the entire experience. I remember excellent local foods (meats / potatoes / sauces / steamed clams) all well portioned, and being very satisfied.... "a home run find" by accident, serendiptously discovered.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gtpatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We visited this delightful restaurant in a group of ten people and had a very warm welcome. As we were a large group we sat upstairs (had to go up a spiral staircase)
There were many dishes on the menu and there was a specials board so there was plenty of choice. Our waiter was very cheery and helpful and was quick to deliver drinks, we did'nt have to wait too long for the food to arrive and when it did the quality was fabulous. We enjoyed dessert and coffee to round off a lovely evening. When the bill came so did complimentary mints and mini clogs.
I can fully recommend a visit

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahpWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Passed this tiny restaurant almost every day during our stay in Amsterdam and finally decided to stop in on our last night. So sorry we didn't stop in earlier - we would have eaten there several times if we could have. It is tiny but we had a table with a view of the canal. The waiter was a charming college age guy who provided great service. The food was absolutely delicious!!! I can't wait until my next visit to Amsterdam so I can experience this restaurant again!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank va2pa2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Pleasant little place”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Came across this little restaurant one lunchtime in October. It is spread across two floors and has a quaint feel to the place with a spiral staircase taking you to the upstairs area where there are more tables and the (clean) toilets. Downstairs is quite narrow and there are further tables (about four) in a conservatory area at the front which overlooks the street along side of the canals.

We only had soup for our lunch but it was very nice and a good sized portion. I'd recommend trying the fish soup.

I would imagine that if this was anything to go by then the food would be good, homemade fare at reasonable prices for the area. Staff are very pleasant too.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GroverUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Habsburg also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Habsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing