We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Friendly Restaurant”
Review of Los Pilones

Los Pilones
Ranked #1,175 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Description: Los Pilones was established in 2001 by three Mexican brothers who aimed to bring the REAL taste of Mexico to Holland. Here you will find only traditional Mexican favourites, not burritos or hard shell tacos, just simple Mex-Mex cuisine and a bright and lively atmosphere unmatched anywhere else in Amsterdam.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Friendly Restaurant”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great menu, with some lovely dishes, really enjoyed the hospitality and the owner is a friendly guy, we sat at the bar with some cocktails (which are amazing) waiting for a table and in the end decided on dining there instead, however we moved to the table for our mains, we ordered a tequilla after the meal and was given 2 on the house for our wait. Great selection of beers and drinks too and a really cool looking place. Definitely recommend

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    82
    19
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If you like corn chips this is the place for you”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We (a group of) visited this restaurant on a Friday night in February (admittedly it was Valentine's night) and after securing a table and ordering a few starters and drinks we then had to wait a considerable amount of time (in excess of an hour and half) to get our main courses. Food was passable (we were so hungry at this stage that we could have eaten anything). There is nothing to write home about here - contrary to the reviews you might read elsewhere (for example the lonely plant guide to Amsterdam) other than that the margaritas are not too bad.

We had a table at the front of the house so it was extremely drafty and cold.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quadrature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Peaks, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

There are nowadays 3 or more Los Pilones in Amsterdam - the one in Jordaan is still my favourite.

Los Pilones has a small but excellent menue with everything you expect from a Mexican restaurant, yet it is beyond the normal Tex Mex kitchen.
If you order tacos with beef, you do not get minced meat filled shells but chunks of great beef with a great sauce and little tortillas to roll and stuff them by yourself.

Strawberry margaritas are very delicious and of course they offer a great variety of Mexican beers and Tequilas.

Every time I am in AMS I drop in.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank picknicker1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican food and tequila to finish off the night!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were recommended this place and was not disappointed. I had spicy prawns in tortilla. They were so tasty and I felt that I could have eaten another plate even though I was not that hungry to start with. We also had strawberry margarita's which were massive and surprisingly strong. Well I certainly felt tipsy after a couple. They also give you the extra that is left over from making them so we basically had two for one! My friend had a tequila to finish off the night. We got the recommendation from our waiter who was very knowledgeable and told us how tequila is made. Apparently the tequila was amazing.

Lovely little restaurant with delicious food. If you like cocktails and tequila then you can't go wrong!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizandpaulbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy mexican food”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

As a mexican you expect the real deal and traditional tortillas i mean the soft corn kind not the "crispy" ones,,,so here u can fing tacos,enchiladas and delicious drinks meanwhile u enjoy ur food...about to come back there...we enjoyed alot..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Pilones also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Los Pilones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing