We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good steaks, good service”
Review of Midtown Grill

Midtown Grill
Reserve with
Midtown Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: US$9 - US$175
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Amsterdam's best address for steaks, chops and seafood. Inspired by the tradition of the quintessential New York steakhouses, Midtown Grill is serving up finest USDA certified steaks, irresistible classics and an extensive selection of world class wines. At Midtown Grill the emphasis is on pureness, simplicity, fresh ingredients and quality, which is why the restaurant works with the most premium meat kinds among which the unmatched Creekstone Farms prime USDA certified beef fillet. The restaurant has a warm ambiance with a vibrant view of the bustling part of Amsterdam between the Vondelpark and the Leidseplein. All senses are stimulated here, by the vibrant environment as well as the open kitchen and personal service. #MeatMeAtMidtown
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good steaks, good service”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Typical hotel restaurant in terms of decor, but a personable and collaborative staff makes for attentive and friendly service. Excellent dry-aged steaks, less effective side dishes. Small but selective wine list.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Withyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    731
    231
    72
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great meat!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Good service and perfect meat! Their T-Bone is awesome. If you can, order a tray with different kind of meat. You need to be at least 3 but then you will get a meat experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan d, Manager at Midtown Grill, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Jonas I,

Thank you for your great response. In Midtown Grill we are famous for our meat and I'm truly glad you could experience that. Come and visit us again and try a half lobster with your steak because we have great seafood to.

Kind regards,

Stefan de Vries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious steak and fab service! ”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing meal with my husband ! Oysters and carpaccio for starters, t bone and dry aged sirloin for mains and cheesecake for dessert. Rodrigo, who served us was great and very knowledgeable recommending and telling us about the different cuts. He completed fabulous food with fabulous service. We sat at the bar looking Into the open kitchen and chef was thoroughly entertaining, one of the happiest I have seen. Is pricey but well worth it, I would highly recommend a visit to it! The toasted marshmallows at the end are a lovely touch. All in all a fantastic meal and night!

Helpful?
1 Thank alexfly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan d, Manager at Midtown Grill, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Alexfly21,

Thank you for your wonderfull response. I am very happy you had a great experience in our beloved restaurant. I will personally let Rordrigo know he did a wonderfull job. We hope to see you soon again, maybe you can try the Filet Mignon next time which really melts in your mouth, delicious!

Kind regards,

Stefan de Vries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nothing To Write Home About”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We went to this place after we googled for the best recommended steak house. The only positive feedback goes to the actual product and the friendly staff, as for the rest, its a typical hotel restaurant.
We never got the steak butter they say they serve their meat with, and the hand cut fries where normal frozen fries. We had oysters and the scallops to start, oysters were good, the scallops were good but tiny and they only serve 2. For main we had the aged ribeye and the rib on the bone, both were good.
There are plenty of steak houses here in Amsterdam, so I suggest you go try another not this one.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marsh1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan d, Manager at Midtown Grill, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hello March,

Thank you for your feedback however I would really like to point out that we use fresh hand cut fries nothing frozen.
It is good to hear that you like our staff and the food came out well, I would still like for you to consider us on your next visit.

Regards,

Stefan de Vries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire,UK
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Top steaks, top prices, but will be back !”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Situated on the ground floor of the Marriott Hotel this restaurant is possibly one of the best steak restuarants around, think Gauchos and you;re getting close.
The choice is amazing, the waiters take you through all the possibilities of meat, cooking, sides, wines etc...then the steak arrives !..much pleasure.
Prices are quite high but considering you are in a city centre, hotel-based, establishment then its worth it ! Don't have starters as you will never finish your steak !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoom6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Midtown Grill also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Midtown Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing