We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Red Herring”
Review of Maximus

Maximus
Ranked #1,504 of 3,953 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The Red Herring”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This restaurant was exceptionally bad. I ordered a Special of The Day, which was a Maxi Cheeseburger. I enquired as to the contents of this and they neglected to inform me it contained mayonnaise.

My partner ordered another Special of The Day, which was Spare Ribs. These where almost entirely fat and it was embarrassing for us it was extremely hard to eat.

The toilet was filthy and shabby, no attention to detail. The décor was tardy but not offensive.

Situated next to the Hard Rock Café, I expected more, hence the name red herring. Many of the other restaurant in the area are offering premium fare at similar prices.

Do not recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    114
    70
    22
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mellieha, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable venue and menu”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I went twice and on both occasions the evening was very good. The menu has a good selection of meat combinations which are served in a very fine way. The quality of the meat is second to none. The prices are good value and the wine choice is good. the location is very close to the Rijksmuseaum and no more than a ten minute walk from the central canal area of the city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I agree, ignore the other reviews!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Always interesting reading reviews after you've been to a restaurant rather than before. We stopped off here late on Wednesday afternoon and could not fault the staff or service. The waiters we had were great and could not have been more helpful. Cheeseburger was excellent and great value. Steaks cooked a little longer than the guys had asked for but were still pink. Great value all round. Good location just next to Hard Rock Cafe.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CFC_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Cheesburger”
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Very good cheesburger with frites.
Nice place and nice staff.
No reason not to eat here.
Nice price.
Next to Hard Rock Cafe

Helpful?
Thank Burtch66
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ignore the other reviews!”
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Shocked after reading the other reviews as we did not find the same.

Service was faultless, staff could not do more for us.

The good was delicious and steaks were cooked just as asked.
Very clean and good atmosphere.

Cannot fault this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KandR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maximus also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Maximus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing