We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Atmosphere & Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maximus

Maximus
Ranked #1,513 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Relaxing Atmosphere & Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Maximus is a great restaurant with the added quirk of Max, the resident cat, who is lovely. The food is delicious and cooked to perfection. Service was quick and friendly. I cannot fault this restaurant in any way

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    100
    63
    20
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Must go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Staff super friendly
Filled with mushroom sauce was great
Hot mint was so relaxing
Really enjoyed it in the two times I went there. Will go again
Thank you Maximus

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but food is just ok!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staffs! Here has free WiFi, which is made adding points!
The Tuna Steak is average, not bad! But the chips are too dry!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MUChampions2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

this was a great little place on a square near our hotel. The steaks were wonderful...the tomato salad was fresh and amazing and the lamb was the best I've had in years. I liked everything we ate there...and the dry white wine was very good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanO1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Speedy service, ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had to have a quick meal as we needed to catch a boat after the meal. I ordered veal ribs and my partner had a cheese burger. The burger was mediocre and nothing to shout about but the ribs were cooked well and quite delicious.

We managed to get the entire meal sorted in under 45 mins which is an achievement in Amsterdam where service is usually much more relaxed.

The only thing that annoyed me was that they refused to serve tap water.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nobodypq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maximus also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Maximus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing