We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner a fresco”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of de zagerij

de zagerij
Ranked #563 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Jordaan
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Dinner a fresco”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

De Zagerij is on Westerstraat in the heart of Amsterdam's Jordaan district. It looks and feels very pub-like and the food turned out to be unassuming, tasty and pub-like. The server was pronto and friendly. She obviously knows several languages.
Eating outdoors on a warm April evening added to our pleasure. With so many restaurants on Westerstraat, it was not good enough to go back for a second time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    52
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

The night we stepped into this restaurant out of the freezing cold, there was a lot of excitement in the air and they were packed. They were starting a brand-new menu! The first thing we noticed was the great list of appetizers: a soup, prawns in white sauce, scallops, platter of tappas, eggplant with goat cheese, all under 10 euros. We opted for the tappas. The entrees represented a variety of gourmet choices. I ordered their fresh pasta which was an exquisite ravioli with sundried tomato cream sauce--absolutely divine. My husband ordered the veal chop on a bed of spinach fettucini with pesto sauce. He would not share! Other menu items were risotto, rack of lamb, spareribs and filet mignon. All entrees were between 16 to 21 euros--not bad at all for the quality we got. It was a pleasant surprise.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelina62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pub food in a pub ambience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

De Zagerij is on Westerstraat in the heart of Amsterdam's Jordaan district. It looks and feels very pub-like and the food turned out to be unassuming, tasty and pub-like.

Two of us plus a toddler tried De Zagerij for lunch. The restarant was roomy enough to accommodate a pram, and a high chair was provided on request. Service was a tad slow even though the restaurant was about half full.

Our meals, a chicken satay and a pumpkin, ginger and coriander soup, were tasty and reasonably well presented. The satay was accompanied by chips (french fries), hardly a normal component of SE Asian food!

De Zagerij is decorated in heavy wood, With brown walls, dim lighting and lots of photos on a jazz theme, it's a bit on the dark side. Ambience is OK but nothing special.

Prices were moderate although not especially good value for the average qualty of meals. Service was very pleasant but not quick.

De Zagerij seems like a reasonable lunchtime eatery but we suspect its forte may be its evening meals. We had walked past several times at night when the venue appeared to be packed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LongReefHacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great service-great night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

The restaurant was crowded when we arrived so we waited for about 20min before having a table but it was soooooo worth it. The food was good, the waitress so nice and the owner efficiant.
We spend a really good night among people from amsterdam. We didn't feel like tourist in this restaurant. The atmosphere was simply amazing.
I higly recommand it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unassuming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

This unassuming little restaurant and bar was in the Jordaan neighborhood where we stayed during our trip. The first meal we ordered was fantastic! I didn't expect such gourmet flavors from a place that just looked like a tavern. We ate here another time for lunch and just had sandwiches which were also very good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank littlebrownface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed de zagerij also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to de zagerij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing