We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty but average”
Review of Serre Restaurant

Serre Restaurant
Ranked #221 of 3,858 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty but average”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We dined at Serre having had drinks at the sky bar (fab sunset views, well worth it!). I was dining with my partner and a family member who reviews hotels for a living so no pressure! The restaurant was full (conference revellers) so I was interested to see what the service would be like. As the little brother of Ceil Bleu I expected a good representation of the 2 star cuisine on the 23rd floor. Hummmmmm............

Service was good given the number of people in the restaurant. The space is not designed for that many people though and I had to shout to have a conversation with my fellow diners. Water arrived immediately with the menus. We opted for the Bibendum menu (3 course) as we could only get a table at 9.00pm due the afore mentioned conference folks. 2 salmon fillet and 1 cannelloni gratin later we were a little underwhelmed. Fish and chips “Serre Style” was quite nice whilst the other half went for the asparagus mains. Desert consisted of warm (yes warm) crème bruelee, brueleed at the table. Crème brulee should never be kept under glass on the desert trolly!!!! The wine “arrangement” to accompany the meal was lacking; the pairings didn’t quite work. The waitress was not very wine savvy so I would recommend more effort in training the staff. All in all, average pickings but the location is excellent and of course, the sky bar makes up for the somewhat lacklustre dins.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamAlex08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    105
    25
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Interlaken, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average food, average service”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Arriving for an early dinner to an empty place, we were told all tables were reserved but we could use one of the low tables were your knees touch your chin. We accepted only to realize that only two out of the dozen tables were used when we left. How about asking how long you intend to stay and to place us at a table which had been reserved for a later diner? Sometimes imagination is not at the forefront of some service people. A ptiy

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xian1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht
Level Contributor
89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

During our most recent stay at the Okura hotel we did not have time to enjoy dinner at Yamazato. Instead they offered us a late lunch at the Serre Restaurant. By the sound of it I wasn't all that excited but boy was I wrong :) Great food, really nice atmosphere, lovely terrace and the desserts were funny and tasted really well!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SylviaSchaffrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
525 reviews
408 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“best burger since years”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We had lunch here while staying at the Okura hotel. The restaurant is perfect for lunch and their burgers are amazing (as was the club sandwich). You can also enjoy more sophisticated meals, but we still had to dine at the Ciel Bleu in the evening... Nice terrace.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank michel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unformal access to a ** Michelin kitchen...”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Went to Serre to informally celebrate a birthday with a few friends. Didn't feel like forking out €200 for the main restaurant, so we went for Serre instead. Nice venue, great service and very high quality food at a very good price. We paid €170 for the 3 course menu with the wine set for 3 people, which imo is very good value on the border of being under priced, not that I'm complaining. :)

The staff was knowledgeable and well trained, and we had a great time. Would recommend this place to anyone who appreciates good food and fine dining evenings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MortenZUMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Serre Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Serre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing