We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Calm Lovely Oasis in a Crowded, Busy City”
Review of Serre Restaurant

Serre Restaurant
Ranked #167 of 3,964 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Calm Lovely Oasis in a Crowded, Busy City”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Drinks on the terrace of Serre, overlooking the canal, followed by a delicious dinner, were a wonderful last night in Amsterdam. We came to the restaurant exhausted by all the wonderful sights and museums of the city, and we left refreshed. We enjoyed delicious food and wine, served with care and consideration, and a bonus was a fascinating conversation with the Dutch couple at the next table. They travel often to Amsterdam from their home in the north, and they always stay at the Okura and delight in the wonderful restaurants in this fine hotel. That in itself is a great recommendation! We too look forward to our next visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    108
    26
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruinisse, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine "black brigade" and excellent food”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Boxing Day with two grandmothers. 4 courses. Fine food and enthusiastic, young but very professional waiters with a keen eye for all guests' wishes! We will be back!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Average food in a pleasing athmosphere inspired by CB”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Got here without reservation and we were positively impressed by the environment.
Service is slow and not well coordinated at peak time.
We went for the Bibendum menu with some additional dishes taken from the a la carte menu that were really good ( for example the signature crab ). The food is well presented but of average taste and small quantity ( i.e. Fish & Chips Serre style).
What really is a coup de cour is the ambiance and the location.
All the rest should be improved to mantain the top level of the OKURA chain which I experienced whilst in Japan.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Priv_Dis_Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not as good as usual”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

On Sunday, August 25, 2013 we visited the Serre restaurant at the Okura Hotel for the 3rd time for dinner. We wanted to sit outside but the tables were not ready yet for dinner. This was quickly done. We ordered the drinks, but the glass of wine was forgotten so we had to ask again. The girl who served us had no answers to our questions with regards to the menu. She did not know what several dishes were all about. The bouillabaise was very good, but we were very diappointed that the ordered crab was deepfried. No taste at all. The menu does not tell that the crab is deepfried. We had to wait very long, with the dirty plates of the starters on the table, till the main courses were served. The ceasar salad with turkey was very good but the fish of the day (plaice) was not very tastefull and the dish looked very poor. With the mixed quality of the food and the messy service (we had 3 different servers) we have to conclude that this was the worst experience at the Okura Hotel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Serre Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Alfred B,
Thank you for your constructive feedback as this enables us to improve our service and product even further. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visits to Serre Restaurant. We can assure you that we will use and communicate this feedback with the Restaurant Manager in order to improve our product and service levels. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were staying at the Okura and went to Serre for dinner. The food was amazing! I had the turbot with pata negra and it was delicious. Every course was made with attention to detail. The service was great, friendly and educated waitstaff. We ate at the terrace with a lovely view of the canal. Overall a great experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDiningTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Serre Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Serre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing