We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet oasis in a busy city”
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Notting Hill
Ranked #82 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The hotel is just outside the centre but next to a tram stop and the canal hop on off boat, so very convenient for getting around.
We were there for a long weekend and after having great difficulty finding rooms in Amsterdam stumbled on the Notting Hill Hotel. Quiet, efficient service and a ground floor room that was also quiet made for a pleasant stay. The room was spacious with all mod cons, coffee, ironing board etc.
The only down side was that the steps into the hotel were a little steep for us older persons. Other than that highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OsloNorwayJohnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed over a weekend and one of the last hotels with rooms available. A friendly welcome and a modern clean hotel in general. My room was located in the basement which I generally don't appreciate very much but it was actually ok. The room was very modern, with a strange layout that doesn't provide much (any) privacy between the bed and bathroom... rather strange louvers which allow you to see from the bed into the shower... and toilet. Breakfast was reasonable with a selection for all tastes. The location is not so close, you'll need to walk at least 15 mins to be in the hub of it... but that is part of being in Amsterdam, you walk or ride here. I'd stay there again if there was nothing available closer to the centre. For the price, it's very good!

Room Tip: ask for upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mancini_BXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Mr Mancini,

thank you for your review. We opened officialy in Octobre so every review is very valueble to us to improve our hotel. In Amsterdam most hotels have rooms in the souterrain level. We sell them as a different roomtype to be sure that our guests knows choosing this roomtype. Most of the Souterrain rooms are bigger than our standard rooms and have a bath, our standard rooms have only a shower. To compensate being in the Souterrain level the price is also lower than our standard rooms.

The designer designed the shutters in the bathroom to make the room more spacious. The shutters in the bathroom can be closed to have privacy in the bathroom.

We are located in the centre but more in the more local area, not in the busy tourist area. We are next to the famous Albert Cuyp Market, the biggest market of Amsterdam and the Utrechtsestraat, which is a very nice street with nice (local) restaurants and bars. The Rembrandt Square is 10 minutes walk and we have also good public transport before our door.

Thank you again for your valueble review!

All the best!
Team Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for two nights in early April and throughly enjoyed our stay. We were welcomed by friendly staff who were more than happy to help planning out the activities for our stay. Rooms were spacious and well appointed. Location is perfect.

Would recommend to all A+++

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pistol99Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

If you take the more expensive rooms, there are lovely.

Just be aware that from the third floor up, the windows are small, high (hard to see outside with standing on your tiptoe) and, worse, they don't open at all. The combination is that you feel like being in a shoebox.
It's a pity because everything is clean, good-taste deco and extremely professional staff (efficient, kind)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Could not have been happier selecting NH. The tram (#4 or #25) drops you off at the front door and they run about every 5-6 minutes to and from the Central Station and surrounding areas. Since the hotel is new everything is in great condition. The bed was the most comfortable bed my husband and I ever slept in as we are now trying to get one in the US. My only caution is the bedroom/bathroom window - the wall between is separated by a window shade and is otherwise open between so it is not the most private - make sure you are comfortable with your roommate.

Internet is free in the room and lobby and the hotel provide a MAC computer in the lobby for guest use for free.

Room Tip: I would not book a room on the lower level (-1 level) as you are underground with a small upper wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nc5462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Especily and exclusive, I recomend for everybody, the service guess go anything do you want

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guilhermepiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We only stayed in this hotel one night after returning from a cruise out of Oslo. Loved the hotel, the automation features appealed to the Geek girl that I am, the location made me feel like I was part of the city and the staff and cleanliness of the room made me feel safe. Would definately stay here again. Convient to the trams which allowed you to move easily within the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJWCruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,405 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel
Sir Albert Hotel
#40 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,443 reviews
American Hotel Amsterdam
#77 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
The Manor Amsterdam
#59 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,933 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#63 of 376 in Amsterdam
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £100 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing