We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay the extra and stay here!”
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Notting Hill
Ranked #80 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

When choosing our hotel we were pulled between price, location and comfort. We decided on the Notting Hill - a little more than we had initially meant to spend but felt it was the best hotel we could get this close to the action A’dam has to offer - there were cheaper closer options but they didn't look anywhere as nice.
We are so glad we paid the extra - the hotel was gorgeous, beautifully decorated, well laid out, very helpful staff, good amenities - proper coffee machine in our room, the bathroom was lush - the best shower experience we ever had! The only hotel bed my husband has not complained about - he slept all night! We had booked a basement room as this was the best deal - so we were very pleasantly surprised we had 2 large windows! It was my birthday we were celebrating and the hotel had decorated our room with ballons and left chocolates on the bed with birthday wishes - its touches like this that say a lot about hotel to my mind.
The downside to this room - towels were small and you wouldn't want to stay here with anyone that you were not intimate with! The door to bathroom was glass (frosted) but had a gap around it and there were shutters between the toilet and bedroom! Our tactic - put the TV on and turn the volume up!
The location of the hotel was great. Tram 4 was outside front door of hotel and 7, 10 and 25 were round the corner. It was a 30 minute walk back to central station and 10 minute to museum quarter if you wanted to walk.
We didn't try the hotel restaurant but we did check out the bar and would highly recommend it for a drink before and or after dinner.
If you are like us – umming and ahhing about were to book, ake the plunge and book the Notting Hill – we would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Hannah,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a good stay at Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Team Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

We have just returned from a great weekend break to Amsterdam - made all the better from staying here. I researched and researched before booking and totally chose the right hotel. This is (only) just outside the main city centre but with the No. 4 tram stop right outside, you are bang in the centre within 5 minutes. We actually walked it once and savoured the beautiful scenery along the way (interspersed by a few 'Heineken stops' along the way) The welcome was second to none and the receptionist's were very helpful with maps, information etc.. We stayed in a Delux Double which was beautifully clean and had lovely boutique toiletries which were a nice touch. Towels changed every day and there's all you would expect from a room. The cooler fridge pay bar was great and gave you a choice of still, fizzy, beers, wine as well as chocolate, nuts and the 'smoovie' card for pay movies (saves having to ring down or visit reception for it - we didn't use it but again, a nice touch) Can't fault the room, we overlooked the street and couldn't hear a thing, no trams or traffic. I suffer with a bad back when I go away if I don't have my Tempur mattress but this bed was sooooo comfy. We asked for room service one evening, their Cream Tea's are to die for - and noticed on the menu that they stopped serving this at 5pm. At 6pm, we rang down and the Chef was so accommodating, telling us that he was preparing for dinner and wouldn't normally be able to provide tea but to leave it with him. At 6.20 we were rewarded with the best array of finger sandwiches, scones, clotted cream and all manner of other sweet things - you must sample this, and thank you to the Chef!! The breakfast was great - despite some reviews saying it was expensive for what it was. 20 euros each but you could eat as much as you liked - a buffet of cooked breakfasts, assortment of continental, juices, cereals, yoghurts and cheeses - we were suitably stuffed and set us up for the day. We didn't eat in the Londen Restaurant but heard from other visitors that the food was good. We did have a few hours in the Bar, as you do, and the staff there were delightful and recommended areas' to visit for good 'out of hotel' restaurants. Overall, this hotel hit the spot and we like our luxuries! 3 days wasn't long enough for us and as we were visiting to watch the Amsterdam 7's rugby, we didn't see as much of the beautiful city as we'd normally have liked so we have made a point to return and re-visit and will definitely stay at the Hotel Notting Hill again. A fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Whilst I would have preferred a 'canal' view room, this wasn't available but I wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Karen,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a good stay at Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Team Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We recently stayed here for one night only before moving to another Hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel itself is very swish, modern and vibrant. We had a room in the basement which at first I was a little concerned about but the room was lovely and perfectly equipped. There were some small windows high up (at ground level outside) which allowed light into the room so didnt feel as though we were completely sub ground level and although the room was small we loved it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Our room wasnt ready at 3pm so we had to wait half and hour or so but the staff were very apologetic, offered us coffee and the use of the mac in reception. Although the hotel is a little out of the centre it was literally round the corner from the Albert Cuyp market which is worth a visit. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and only wished we could have got 3 nights stay instead of having to move to a very disappointing '4*' hotel for the other two nights.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 221Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Sara,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a good stay at Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Team Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Amsterdam made all the better by staying at Hotel Notting Hill! From the warm welcome on arrival the very friendly and helpful staff were exceptional and really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. The hotel is lovely, we had a very clean, light and well decorated room with a huge bathroom. Just cannot fault it in any way. Regular trams stop right outside to take you all around Amsterdam. You don't need to search for anywhere else to eat as the Breakfast's and Evening meals in the Hotel dining room were very good and a friendly Bar for a cocktail.

Room Tip: we had a room on the first floor and it was very quiet as it overlooked the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerylEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Beryl,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a good stay at Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Team Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Hotel Notting Hill is really a fabulous place with great amenities and service. I love to explore places like this. I stayed here recently and was totally impressed by everything there. Rooms are very comfortable and amazingly designed. Food was delicious and every meal had a large selection. Coffee and tea both were good. I will definitely come here again with my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albertine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Albertine,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a good stay at Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Team Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed here while attending a show at the RAI for business. It is in a nice, quiet neighborhood right on a tram which goes to the RAI. The rooms are nice, but they are small. I think they are not unusually small for a boutique hotel in a neighborhood and they are very comfortable but if you are traveling as a couple, keep this in mind.

There are some nice restaurants and shops within walking distance to the hotel and (like many hotels) it is right on a canal.

As a small hotel, there are no amenities such as a gym, pool, etc... However if you want a base of operations to explore the city without being in a large hotel or right in the busy part of town, the Notting Hill is a great option. I have previously stayed at the Hilton and the Bilderburg Garden and while those are nice, I like this area and hotel better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonstradamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Lovely little boutique hotel in a nice area of Amsterdam on the canal ring, close to boutiques, restaurants and coffee shops and within easy walking distance of Rembrantsplein. I had a basement room which I believe is the cheapest, but it was lovely. Very comfortable king size bed with lovely linen, flat screen tv in the room, lovely bathroom with great shower and free wifi throughout the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and even the breakfast and drinks at the bar were not overly priced (when not included within your tariff) unlike other more 'established' hotels in Amsterdam which are not a patch on this little gem. I travelled alone with work but this would be great for a couple going away for the weekend as it's not in the noisy area but easy to get everywhere. A few families appeared to be staying too and because it was quiet, I would consider staying there with my own children in the future. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: The basement rooms are the cheapest and they offered me the chance to upgrade to a room on a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#113 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,365 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £92 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing