We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - small rooms”
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Notting Hill
Ranked #76 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed over New Years Eve and wanted a hotel within walking distance of the centre of town. For the rest of the time having a tram stop accross the road was a big help. The rooms vary in size and worthwhile asking for a larger one. (they cost the same).

Service was efficient and the rooms were spotless.

Room Tip: Ask for larger rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Notting Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Located at one of the cannels in Amsterdam this charming Hotel makes you feel like at home. Rooms are beautiful designed but they have as well some rooms what are on a -1 one floor with a small window. Very friend staff , good quality of restaurant

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naitsabenomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Notting Hill in late December 2013 for five days. The hotel is in a great location, as it is within walking distance to major sites and there are many restaurants and bars located nearby. Although there is a street car stop in front of the hotel, we did not need to use this public transit, as we were able to walk everywhere from the hotel and we walked the entire span of the city.

The hotel is newly and nicely decorated. Our room was spacious enough for the duration of our trip. The room included a safe, iron and ironing board, mini fridge, coffee machine, clothes cabinet, desk with chair, a small chair next to a side table, and two night stands. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom is very spacious for European standards. Our room was located on the first floor (not the basement level), and it faced the street car tracks with a partial canal view. We did not find the street car to be loud or frequent.

We choose to have the breakfast buffet charged to our room rate each day, and we are glad we did so! The breakfast buffet consisted of juice, breads, pastries, fruit, and yogurt; hot food included scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, pancakes, and other selections that varied from day to day. The wait staff will bring you coffee, tea, cappuccino, etc.

The hotel staff were very professional and friendly. Our room was ready upon our mid-morning arrival (we arrived around 11am).

We enjoyed our long stay at the hotel. We would stay at this hotel again, and we would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROKChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I was for 3 days business trip to Amsterdam and I like this hotel a lot! The hotel has definitelly original idea of enterier! The staff is friendly and smiling all the time. They are very halpful. The hotel is modern featured with touch control screens for the lights in the rooms... I really like this feature, becuase I love modern electronic devices. Also, for the sign "do not disturb" or "please clean my room" instead of paper, you use touch control screens... The most thing that I LOVED was the Nespresso coffee machine in the room with 6 coffee capsules (3 types) that are refilled every day... I was using the machine all the time... and what is great about it, is completely free of charge! The rooms are modern, with great spacious king size bed and big bathroom! The windows are soundproof! The only thing that bothered me was that the staff at the reception didn't give me a chance to call a taxi that I wanted to pick me up from the hotel to the airport (which was cheaper alternative, for ex. 20 euros - it was taxi bus shuttle with which I came from the airport to the hotel in the first place), but they said that they can call the taxi company that they cooperate with on a regular basis (and this company charges 50 euros one way)! The excuse was that they don't trust to the other taxi bus shuttle companies. Maybe they won't come...?! So, I had to use a public transport to go to the airport because I wanted to travel with cheaper transportation! So, I had the experience with the public transportation which is great also, why? Because in front of the hotel there is a tram station that will bring you to the central train station from where you can take train, that goes every 20 minutes to the airport! All in all I would definitelly stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel is very modern, rooms clean, fresh, spacey and en-suite clean, and modern, location around a 20 min walk to centre of Amsterdam, i didnt rate the hotels food, menu didnt have much choice but other than that perfect hotel for a short stay :) i would definitely go back again. Tram stops directly opposite hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Very Nice design hotel not far from the center and at a walking distance from the main museums and other curiosities of Amsterdam. I said it's alone on the hill for all the other hotels around are on the one hand quite small and bleak ( some of them) and others were rather expensive

The room is small but nicely design, on the other hand the bathroom was quite large . The staff very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is not included and quite dear we chose to go out and have breakfast on cafés nearby.

Nevertheless I shall recommend this nice hotel.

Room Tip: book a room on the top floors with a view either to the street or the canal
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picklecock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have stayed here now a number of times and I totally love this hotel. It starts with the reception and the staff, super friendly and accommodating - always. The place has a great look & feel. modern, warm and inviting. But there is also eye to little details like water with fresh lemons in the lobby and sweets near the elevators.
The rooms are great, nicely decorated, with lots of space and fully equipped with everything imaginable, even with a wonderful Nespresso coffee maker. The bathrooms are fantastic with loads of towels and amenities. The beds are great and have many pillows, with a very easy touch screen light switch to manage all lights in the room.
The bar is great and the food in the restaurant was very good, had a lovely deer stew last this December. Also here the staff and service are great.
The location is perfect - a tram stop in front of the hotel but just a few minutes walking distance away are the lovely De Pijp area, Albert Cuyp Markt, or Utrechtsestraat.
So if you´re looking for a little gem, and a boutique hotel in a great location, I can totally recommend this.

Room Tip: I would suggest to choose a room with a double bed and not in the basement. Last time I had a room i...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#116 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#53 of 371 in Amsterdam
470 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,745 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#54 of 371 in Amsterdam
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £105 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing