We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, First Class Service and Friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Notting Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Notting Hill
Ranked #79 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, First Class Service and Friendly staff”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in February and were most impressed by the friendly and helpful receptionist. She provided a map of Amsterdam and highlighted the various areas for restaurants, markets, shopping and museums. The room was spotlessly clean and had excellent tea and coffee making facilities. The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is in a pleasant area and only a short tram ride to the centre. Plenty of restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk from the hotel.
I would definitely recommend staying here and would certainly return on our next visit to Holland.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghJewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear EdinburghJewels,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very pleased that you had such a great stay in our hotel. We very much hope to welcome you again very soon. Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    339
    95
    30
    19
See reviews for
94
480
30
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Notting Hill for 2 nights as part of a get away break for my partners 30th birthday. We arrived early (4 hours before check in) and left our bags in the hotel luggage rooms, which were later transferred to our room prior to us officially checking in. Staff were all very polite and helpful, the room was very clean, well decorated and comfortable. Lots of nice touches (bathrobes, excellent coffee machine, sowing kit, hair driers etc.) and a comfortable bed. Only possible downside was the tram stop is immediately in front of the hotel and our window looked out over it, however we had no issues with noise levels keeping us awake at night. We had a lovely stay and wouldn't hesitate I recommending the Notting Hill as a place to stay in Amsterdam to family or friends.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amseaborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Amseaborn,

Thank you for your positive review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are proud that you were particularly satisfied about our service. We hope that we may welcome you (or your friends or family) again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Team Notting Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed weekend of 15th February in a group of 12 of us. Can honestly say one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. All the staff are so friendly, thoughtful and helpful especially Serena on reception and Rik who works in the bar area. Rooms spacious and decorated to a high standard all the mod cons, lovely spacious shower. Location is great right next to a tram stop that only takes 7 minutes to get into dam square. Price of bar and room service good and not to over the top like some hotels I have stayed in. Free wifi a bonus. Will definitely be returning hopefully in the summer months. Don't even bother booking another hotel in amsterdam just book this one you will not be disappointed at all.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Mr. Philip H,

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I was recommended to stay here and as I got into my room, I discovered that a deluxe room is so small. Poorly decorated and quite cold even thought I put 27 degrees on the heater. I never saw a smaller closet in any hotel I stayed before .

Room Tip: Don't recommend to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonbeast4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Dragonbeast4,

I am truly sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet up to your expectations. I can guarantee you that we do our best to make every stay in our hotel a memorable and pleasant one. I will definitely discuss your remarks internally, so that we continue to improve our features.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Visited Notting Hill with a group of 12 having read favourable reviews on here.

I'll get to the point quickly.

All the good reviews on here are 100‰correct, a small(ish) friendly professional hotel, beautifully decorated and with staff who actually care that their guests have a good time.


You've always got to put a negative I guess... Our shower leaked a bit.

Quit reading this and get booking!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank croakey243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear croakey243,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that your stay with us was a pleasant one. I will share your positive review with all teammembers, who are the ones that make the difference concerning service towards all our guests. The issue of the shower I will forward to the maintenance department in order to fix this as soon as possible. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 3 night stay this evening. I messaged the hotel before i left to ask them how to get there and if they had a luggage room to store our bags and within 15 minutes i had a response which was very good!

Hotel is very easy to get to just pick up a tram number 4 to station rai and get off at stadhouderskade and it is right outside the hotel. We had room 202 with 2 windows looking out the front of the hotel with part canal view.
We only heard the tram a couple of times during our stay so it wasn't too bad.

The shutters between the bathroom and main bedroom meant for no privacy which could be a problem for some people. Our shower door didnt shut properly either and theres a gap between the door and another bit of glass so I managed to flood our bathroom one night (oops!)

It's not a very long walk into the old town and you can walk to dam square or over to hard rock cafe as well so the loaction is very good even though you aren't in amongst everything.

The breakfast really isnt worth the money unless you get it included in a package like we did then I wouldnt recommend paying extra.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsb91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Dsb91,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and we are thankful that you shared the aspects that we can still improve. We will discuss these suggestions internally in order to further improve our service and features for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Don't accept a basement room, You have to take in the local views of this lovely city. The location of the hotel allows you to avoid the hubbub of the main town but still be close enough to enjoy all that the city has to offer.



  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NottingManagement, General Manager at Hotel Notting Hill, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Mr. Trevor C,

Thank you very much for your review. Based on your review I trust that you had a very pleasant stay with us. We all hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#34 of 368 in Amsterdam
449 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 368 in Amsterdam
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,285 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notting Hill

Property: Hotel Notting Hill
Address: Westeinde 26, 1017 ZP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Notting Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Notting Hill Amsterdam is a boutique design hotel, in which you will feel right at home. The hotel is situated in an attractive and historic building in the heart of the bustling city of Amsterdam. Discover Amsterdam from your doorstep with Leidseplein Square, Rembrandtplein Square and the Museum Quarter right around the corner. The blend of classic elements, modern facilities and historic features make this former governmental building a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. This stylish luxury hotel is the key address for cosmopolitan and international travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing